Lawrence Companies Employee Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Based on 10 reviews
Ratings breakdown
52
46
32
20
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 10 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turn over
Mechanic truck driver (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJanuary 1, 2018
High turnover rate but honestly not too bad of a place to work if you can put up with a lot of BS That's pretty much why people leave constantly Supervisors are moved around a lot
Pros
Stock options insurances decent In vacations not bad
Cons
Have to put up with a lot of BS
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be ready to wrk
Truck Driver Class A OTR (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VADecember 9, 2017
If you like the work the job are there. If you love to travel they will keep you rolling friendly work place everybody knows you by your name not by you truck number
Pros
Work much as you want
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely stressful
Gold Certified Relocations Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Roanoke, VAAugust 25, 2017
Too much work and not enough hours in a day to complete it. Management tries to help, but it doesn't always work out. However, everyone is nice, professional and pleasant to work with
Pros
Good people work here, learning curve
Cons
Nepotism
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
keep looking
CDL Class A Driver (Current Employee) –  Cloverdale, VAJuly 3, 2017
I have never seen a company like this and I wonder why employees stay. On the outside it appears that Lawrence Transportation has so many sources of revenue (local freight, OTR freight, local household goods, OTR household goods, on site truck/trailer shop) it would be an excellent place to work. Not to mention well placed locations in the Virginia area at least. However it seems like all areas of the business could be better managed. I believe the poor management has to do partly with low hiring requirements and low pay. A CDL driver coming off the road or anyone expecting to make a mid to high level of income will be sadly disappointed. The business I believe is geared to help make OTR drivers and upper level office personnel very successful. In other words if you are not an OTR driver or support OTR your income will be low and you will wonder why you come to work every day.
Pros
company supplied uniforms
Cons
low pay, poor management, need new trucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed answering switchboard and greeting our customers
Receptionsist/Secretary (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAFebruary 15, 2017
Great place to work for. Wonderful family run business. Respected in the moving business. Enjoyed answering switchboard phone and meeting people.
Pros
Enjoyed working with people; one hour for lunch
Cons
Needed to make more money
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAApril 18, 2016
Good Company to work for. Took good care of employees.
Had ESOP and ESOP mentality through out company.
Help us excel in our jobs with family culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Honest company
Helper (Former Employee) –  Waynesboro, VAJuly 30, 2014
Everyone who works here is good and honest. I enjoyed my time here. A lot of hard work, but fair work
Was this review helpful?Yes 47No 20Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family orentied place to work since 1932
Corporate Vice President Sales & Marketing (Former Employee) –  Roanoke VAMarch 4, 2014
I only had the opportunity to spend seven months with Lawrence. I enjoyed every minute. Great place to work and the people make you feel like family.
Pros
The people and offerings
Cons
Low rated vacation plan
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere that made learning and working enjoyable
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  High Point, NCAugust 12, 2013
A typical at day work is to take people's calls and their moving information, make sure that they are set up with a sales person and dates are set.
I learned about different applications and about how to better serve our customers.
My coworkers are hard working and devoted people who have spent many years with the company and speak of going no where else.
The hardest part of the job sometimes can be the customers themselves. Moving always comes with stress and often the customers are overwhelmed and occasionally can be a bit demanding and impatient. Sometimes they don't always understand the process of moving with a company so they have to be made aware. This job takes patience.
Coincedentally, the most enjoyable part of the job is also the customers. It is nice to know that when they are overwhelmed and stressed that we can be the ones who help them. It's a great opporitunity to be able to speak with them about their move over the phone and share war stories and to be able to bring a relief that they aren't alone in their endeavors. It's a small thing, but it counts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 45No 13Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lawrence Companies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Lawrence Companies Reviews by Location