Layton Construction Employee Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Based on 23 reviews
Ratings breakdown
510
48
34
21
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 23 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a great company
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Sandy, UTApril 20, 2018
Layton construction is one of the fastest growing commercial construction companies in the United States. The company does not forget about the employees who got it to where it is today. I strongly recommend working at Layton construction.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family owned and operated construction Business
Regional Safety Manager (RSM) (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HIMarch 19, 2018
The folks are great
Company has grown 150% in the last three years
Safety Director hs ckicked off the switch and is not engaging but other than that its great
Pros
Really care about employees
Cons
Due to growth spurt therer is a lack of knowledge for some builds
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun fast busy
Lead Carpenter/Foreman (Former Employee) –  Sandy, UTJanuary 21, 2018
everybody experiences things differently so I'm not going to speculate the company as a whole for me fun , fast , money is good , it was just time for me to part ways.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
CONCERTE CARPENTER (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJanuary 17, 2018
Good workers they knew way did go things done n quick n easy to work with u on training too always stretch n felx ever morning too n always task watt need to do n bout being safe n pro con n awere of surrounding of safety n pinch n points other ways to be safe n n how to prevent to happen u others other worker like 50 foot bubble if see something not safe tell themm right away n we always want other workers to go home to family's n loved ever dayy so it's to be safe all time in construction...
Pros
Free lunch ever month if nobody got hurt
Cons
Good breaks too
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work.
Contract Administrator (Former Employee) –  Sandy, UTNovember 27, 2017
If you are a female forget trying to advance in your "career" with Layton, as I was personally told I should be home taking care of my kids and not working. Also, I was required to train others for the position that was "promised" to me, but I became to "Valuable" in my position that I was passed over and ignored for the promotions and advancements.
Pros
most of the people were wonderful on a personal level
Cons
business practices
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of Utah's finest companies to work for
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Sandy, UTNovember 13, 2017
Layton Construction is a great place to work! Company management is great. The company is a fun environment, with many benefits including a cereal bar.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 29, 2017
Work/life balance was good. Was put on interesting projects with some good teams. Upper management was mediocre. Company treated us pretty well. Traveled with the company.
Pros
Work/Life balance
Cons
Got laid off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very productive work field
Construction Laborer (Current Employee) –  Statesboro, GASeptember 6, 2017
It was a very good environment to work in. I learned so many new things working around all of the different trades here. I would have loved it a lot more if it wasn't temporary though.
Pros
Fun workplace with balanced schedules
Cons
Lack of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only the click gets advanced and layoff the older more experienced old fast carpenter for young and cheaper workers
Lead Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Sandy utahSeptember 1, 2017
People don't quit companies , people quit management and poor compensations , this company used to be better , it has become a dog eat dog place where the bottom line is the top and only priority where you beg for a raise and systems stay the same , advancement opportunities are slim unless you hang out with field management for hunting trips ,
Pros
Good people to work along with
Cons
Low wages, cheaper by the year benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and helpful management
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HIAugust 6, 2017
Be prepared to work in a fast pacee environment but don't be discouraged there will be plenty of help as you work on projects. Your managers are more than willing to help but you have to be sure to ask for it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall conditions good, job security less so
Assisstant Superintendent/Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Sandy, UTJuly 28, 2017
Youth seemed to be very important to the company, with not so much emphasis on what could be contributed, as much as what age the individual was. I enjoyed my time there, but was looking over my shoulder at times, worried about what was actually required of me.
Pros
Easy to get along with everyone, generally speaking.
Cons
Inconsistencies in management style at times, poor follow-up with clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good to work for.
Form Setter (Current Employee) –  Murray, UTApril 28, 2017
It's almost three years now that I've started with Layton and I would like it to continue! They've been fair the way I've been treated as an employee too
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pace workplace
Labor LEAD (Current Employee) –  Miami Beach, FLApril 21, 2017
Nonstop activity while working with a management team who was eagered to teach you the businss . The most enjoyable part for me was learning different elements about the job and meeting new people.
Pros
Everyone was a team player
Cons
Reaiiy I cant think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Layton is a quality company
Foreman, Concrete Carpenter/ Finisher (Former Employee) –  Boise, ID 83709March 28, 2017
Layton has some of the best benefits in the industry. Company has challenges in estimating in different regions of country where heavy work loads are prospering.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
ATFL operator (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDNovember 6, 2015
layton construction has some very demanding jobs but the benefits an pay makes up for that as well as employee satisfaction
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrific work atmosphere
Project Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brentwood, TNMay 31, 2015
Local management is incredible. Very flexible with my schedule while I was attending classes. Advancement is available with pursuit of further degree
Pros
generous with employee appreciation
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting career oppertunity
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Sandy UtahMay 8, 2015
Layton was a great company to work for, they have a great work ethic and I would enjoy working for them again in the future. The company treats their employees right.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting building a ski resort in Park City
General Contractor (Current Employee) –  Sandy, UTDecember 1, 2013
Very Interesting learning about snow and water removal in a ski area. Excavation, underground, retaining wall technology all very cutting edge.
Pros
Park City iss home of Sundance Film Festival
Cons
Upper Management weak
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your work is appreciated, When complete you'll be looking again
carpenter (Former Employee) –  Salt lake city UtahNovember 13, 2013
Your work was appreciated, but if you happened to be the low man on the totem pole, when cuts come, you are x'd.
The hardest part of the job was making sure every one was happy, that sometimes was difficult, because the implemented costs were not included in the bids, therefor getting all people satisfied, sometimes took ingenuity.
The most enjoyable part was that at the end of the day you knew you did all that was possible to complete the tasks given you
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Construction Project Superintendent
PROJECT SUPERINTENDENT (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 31, 2013
They are a good company to work with. Great people and a good culture. really believe in safety
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Layton Construction. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.8InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

4.2Career Opportunities

4.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight