Legal Sea Foods Employee Reviews in Short Hills, NJ

Found 13 reviews matching the search See all 255 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Short Hills, NJMarch 13, 2018
Legal Seafood was another great opportunity, I was fresh out of Culinary school and had to complete my Internship for school I learned how to open oysters and calms which i did not have experience in before
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Night Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Short Hills, NJJune 26, 2017
Legal Seafood is a good place to work but the managers are very much of being compassionate towards everyone. The staff can be sometime very nice but also very petty
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such a disappointment
Server (Former Employee) –  Short Hills, NJNovember 26, 2016
I was so excited that they called me in for an interview. Got hired, went through training for over a week and passed the test. It didn't take long before i noticed how unfair, unprofessional and irresponsible the majority of the people working there were. Let's start with the unfairness, as a newly hired server, you won't expect to get the best section or best tables of course. But the bottom line is, every one (senior servers) else's section will be filled before they start seating your section and by the time you're on your third table, they're on their sixth or seventh table turned. Hostesses are really unfair with the seating process and carelessly make it obvious. Amdthe funny thing is that you only get three tables during your shift. How are you supposed to make money with that if you son't get sat enough. I came from a place with high standards where every one, regardless of seniority, is given an equal chance to make money and everyone works as a team. I cannot say as much for Legal Seafoods. During training, they will tell you they set such high standards, but once you start working, it's an absolutely different world. The majority of the servers are very unprofessional and somewhat rude, they will be on their phones in the middle of a rush, chatting in the kitchen and don't even get called out on it by a manager or a chef. Their carry loud conversations where guests can hear them, whether at the bar or in the kitchen and i could go on and on. Only a handful of servers will help you when you need them, sometimes without even you asking. This place needs a "people"  more... makeover, that actually care, more bussers on the floor (because two bussers cannot handle a dining room of 45 tables or more). Same applies for a single food runner that cannot run everyone's food in a timely manner. Resuts: as a server, when in a busy rush, you fall behind because you spend time doing your busser or runner's job, clearing plates, running food, it affects your quality of service. Managers are hard to find sometimes when neeeded. They lack floor presence at times.
Working here was such a disappointment, because it is very far from what it seems. The money wasn't great at all, hours were long for nothing, and the majority of the people were horrible.
  less
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Seating rotation, lack of professionalism
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking for better quality of work life balance
Executive Chef (Current Employee) –  Short Hills, NJOctober 7, 2016
Great Company to work for, demanding hours, excellent benefits and culture. Compensation and Benefits is fair and comparable to other companies. Work Life balance is hard to obtain.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok if you like seafood
Asst. Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  short hills mall, short hills new jerseyDecember 22, 2014
i wasnt the biggest fan of working here and for my managers, but i made do . its a restaurant in a mall so theres alot of customers and business, which is good but the employers over work and under pay the staff ...i just couldnt do it anymore
Pros
some free food
Cons
under paying
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quiet job
Overnight maintenance/Dish washer (Current Employee) –  Short Hills, NJSeptember 5, 2014
work overnight cleaning up the store from front to back. My co-workers are great but the management overall is poor. hardest part of job is cleaning the nasty areas, and the most enjoyable is the good food
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exelent food and staff.
First Cook (Former Employee) –  Short Hills, NJJanuary 7, 2014
Delicious food, great ingredients and fun staff always looking out to help you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Good for long term
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Short Hills, NJOctober 28, 2013
The management at this company are very disrespectful to there employees and if your looking to advance its not going to happen
Pros
Its good if your looking for a job now and it urgent
Cons
not good for long term
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management and work environment
Overnight Cleaning Crew (Former Employee) –  Short Hills, NJOctober 6, 2013
You come in at night and leave when ever they allow you, never at your scheduled time. The management staff is very irresponsible and immature honestly. The co-workers are the only highlight of this job. Its a very stressful job.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor treatment of employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 10Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Experience
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Short Hills, NJMay 3, 2013
Very high standards of quailty and sanitation. This company provides excellent expereince that furture employers should be thrilled to see. They set the standard for what most restaurants strive for as far as service, quailty and sanitation. I worked my way from bartender to AGM and learned so much as an internal promote.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United Nations of a work place
Cook ll (Current Employee) –  Short Hills, NJMarch 11, 2013
Get to work with all different cultures and learn all sorts of seafood prep.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers
Waiter (Current Employee) –  Short Hills New JerseyJuly 3, 2012
A typical day at work is a fun day. They put me in a great mood at all times no matter what, and that rub off on the guest that I come in contact with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Legal Sea Foods reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Legal Sea Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 255 reviews
586
489
354
220
16

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

2.0Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

2.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight