Legg Mason Employee Reviews

Found 27 reviews matching the search See all 28 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great intellectual firm
Human Resources Associate (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 16, 2018
collegial culture, intellectual curious, able to recognize talent in unusual places. was a place where o ne could learn a lot about a myriad of subjects
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Administrative Assistant in Technology (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTJuly 2, 2018
My typical day at the office was providing administrative support to the Planning Team. It was great working with everyone on supporting the bank as they were the client and it was our job to provide the utmost highest technology support.

Management is understanding and fair. The workplace culture within the office is healthy. The expectations to work with the highest integrity, have good values and respect.

Flexible hours are offered and are very useful for when you have to take care of your children or parent.
Pros
Flexible hours and work remote, good benefits and employee discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Marketing (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 12, 2017
I just wish there were more opportunities to move up. Otherwise it is a good place to work. The management is good and really value the employees. Strong emphasis on diversity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive yet challenging
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDSeptember 25, 2017
My management team was fair and supportive, very competitive and stressful environment was tempered by a fun atmosphere and good benefits, employee engagement, etc. Lots of room to move around and upwards -- I had to leave because I was at the top so to speak and had nowhere to go. HR did try and help me move elsewhere within the company.
Pros
Great cafeteria, lots of employee engagement
Cons
Competitive atmosphere could feel stiff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have no comment
Business Development/ Hybrid (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 5, 2017
I have no comment. I don't know why I am forced to do this when looking fro. new job. the company is fine. I just need a change. I hope this suffices.
Pros
good pay, good people
Cons
no brand, poor culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have no comment
Regional Director /External Wholesaler (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WASeptember 5, 2017
I have no comment. I don't know why a review of mu current company is necessary to find a new job. its a good company but I want to leave for a new opportunity. nothing more
Pros
great pay
Cons
no brand, not great culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company bad managment
Internal Sales Director (Current Employee) –  Stamford, CTAugust 30, 2017
Transitioning company in a competitive industry. Management not good. They have way too many products to the point you are a master of none. Forces you to sell their fund of the month/quarter. Salary and compensation quotes were not met once fully ingrained in the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
Fund Administration, Senior Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 24, 2017
Great work live balance, good employee training, Work culture is good. Senior management is slow in communicating events to its employees. There was no job security,
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacks Diversity of Everything
Compliance Officer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 25, 2017
No Innovation. No Diversity. Terrible Pay. Legg Mason is not the best in class company to work for. Find a better alternative. Lacks Diversity of Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
CRM (Former Employee) –  EuropeApril 25, 2017
Working at a smaller branch does not offer all the perks that you might get working at one of the larger offices around the world. However, working in a small team did offer the opportunity to do the work of all possible departments (e.g. Sales, Client Service, Accounting, Legal, HR, Facilities, Marketing, IT) and thus, learning about all the different parts of the business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Stepping Stone
Analyst, Global Business Intelligence team (Current Employee) –  Stamford, CTApril 1, 2017
Legg Mason is a solid company to work for. They have a great culture and benefits for their employees. Management is good but is spread thin due to such a lean structure. If you work hard and are active within the company you can learn a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Overall Job Culture
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDDecember 26, 2014
Excellent workplace. Supported key high-level executives, business-wise and some personal. Workload was reasonable and interesting. Friendly, cooperative co-workers. The hardest part of the job was there was no hard part of the job. The most enjoyable part of the job was supporting interesting, dynamic, intelligent people.
Pros
Salary, benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard First Job
Manager of Shipping/Receiving -IT Department (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 8, 2014
At Legg Mason, I was responsible for storing and distributing technology equipment purchased by the company for the IT Department. I was also responsible for shipping equipment to various local Legg Mason offices.
Pros
good learning experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good value of employees
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 18, 2014
This company was acquired by Legg Mason.
I held many challenging positions at Citigroup. It helped me learn all aspects of the administrative field and helped move up in my career.
The hardest part in one of my roles here was when a co-worker left for long-term disability and I fulfilled two roles at one time. Also, facing the disaster recovery after Sept. 11, where we were located at 7 World Trade Center.
Pros
company employee events
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Pay, Poor Job Security, Long Commute
Executive / Personal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTMay 5, 2014
I loved working there, until my boss left the company and my job was basically eliminated. Good pay, but a very long commute for me.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Job Security, Long Commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work experience with good upper management
Developer Analyst II (Former Employee) –  Owings Mills, MDJanuary 21, 2014
Excellent work environment with good ethics. Cutting edge technology , ideal place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor communication / great people
Assistant Vice President - Accounting Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 5, 2014
A typical day at work would be adjusting and /or reviewing fund budgets. I learned more than I could have ever imagined at Legg. I was exposed to many aspects of the Funds as well as different departments. Management tried hard to keep up with the changes but ultimately all the cuts really put a lot of pressure on the employees. My co workers were really nice, hardworking people. The hardest part of the job was wondering what was coming down the pike next. What was being eliminated, changed and/or introduced. Not knowing what was happening next was really hard. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with a great boss and group. We really stuck together and made the best out of every situation.
Pros
great boss
Cons
cuts and change
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive Internal Sales
Internal Sales (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTSeptember 27, 2013
50-60 Calls and 5-7 set appointments per day
Learned objection handling and presentation selling
Experienced significant management changes
Competitive work environment
Rapidly changing economic conditions presented many challenges
Very rewarding when sales efforts led to investment success for clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun enviornment
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 12, 2013
Legg Mason provides a great enviornment to work in. It has great management and wonderful co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to work in Baltimore
Annuities Associate (Former Employee) –  Owings Mills, MDJuly 26, 2013
Company experienced hardship in last few years but is a great company to work for
Management was ethical and responsible
People were honest and direct
Always supportive of you
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Legg Mason. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 28 reviews
56
414
37
20
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

3.8InHerSight Score

3.6Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

4.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight