Leica Biosystems Employee Reviews

3.4
Overall rating
Based on 36 reviews
Ratings breakdown
58
49
310
27
12
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 23 reviews matching the search See all 36 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unusual Culture
Controller (Former Employee) –  Richmond, ILJune 25, 2018
The company has an unusual culture. I was initially owned by a family then purchased by a large corporation. I think there have been challenges incorporating the changes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unrealistic Timelines - Good Place otherwise
Senior Embedded Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 6, 2018
I found it to be a fun place to work. The people are very nice.

The parent company, Danaher, likes to run lean - and it shows - there is too much work for the number of people that are employed. there are too many meetings were nothing gets done.

Biggest issues is that lower management is scared and does not want to push back on upper management regarding project timelines. All the timelines are unrealistic and your ratings are based on meeting these timelines (in other words - don't expect large bonuses or big pay raises). Some managers understand - others do not.
Pros
Great people! Cool technology - good mix of everything from machine learning, hardware, software, electronics, motor control, etc.
Cons
Traffic is horrible in the morning/evening - commuting to work is painful, Working from home not possible for most people since equipment is required.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
leica Biosystems
Silk Screener (Former Employee) –  Richmond, IL 60071February 15, 2018
I ran a silkscreen machine. I painted microscope slides, i made sure to mix paint for the jobs i had for the the day, made sure my area was clean and neat
Pros
a lot of breaks and lunches
Cons
slow paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced envorinmet
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Buffalo Grove, ILJanuary 25, 2018
Daily activities varied based on customer requests. Receive phone calls, emails, and faxes to process new orders, expedite or check back orders on existing orders. Every day was different and challenging. Never a dull moment. Loved stepping up to take care of a customer issue.
Pros
Potential yearly bonus
Cons
Expensive Health Insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Moving
CONTRACT- Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Buffalo Grove, ILJanuary 16, 2018
Picking orders first thing in the morning. Then packing them in the afternoon, and then shipping them off in the evening before end of day. Team Lead was lazy and offered no help what so ever. Hardest part of the job was making sure the orders went out on time at the end of each month.
Pros
Lunches, and BBq's on occasion
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company summary
Global (Senior) Product Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 3, 2018
Leica was more employee friendly and had flexibility, Growth opportunities were limited but were there. Collaborative team culture with some transparency in communication.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced but very friendly and collaborative
Field Service Engineer II (NC/SC) (Current Employee) –  NC / SCDecember 27, 2017
The FSE position at Leica Bio requires focus and a high level of recall from the training classes. After attending the classes, they provide Field mentoring but, you must be confident in your own abilities and experiences to succeed.
Pros
always helpful technicians within a phone call
Cons
very diverse product line requiring travel trunkstock and online manuals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management at my former OpCo
Service Technician III (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHNovember 25, 2017
Management, HR, and Finance are not on the same page at all.
Little advancement due to poor management.
Opinions are listened to but unheard.
Achievements are overlooked.
Pros
Good salary and benefits
Cons
Work environment is stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good base of people, poor management
LEAD IT SUPPORT SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Vista, CASeptember 27, 2017
I worked at Aperio when Leica Biosystems acquired it and the constant changing of management and lack of management representation in my position negatively impacted my view of this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and innovative place to work. Very important products they put out.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Buffalo Grove, ILMay 31, 2017
I really enjoyed the work. I enjoyed immensely building and maintaining the relationships that I had with all of my sales reps. I enjoyed the fast paced environment and no down time. We were always extremely busy which made for a day to go by quickly, sometimes too quick.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if you like regimen and lots of tools
Manager (Former Employee) –  OhioApril 16, 2017
Great place to learn tools that work. Hard on Work/Life balance as everything is a stretch goal, and for those "A" players, never able to win is frustrating. Result - high turn over due to incessant reporting and demands.
Pros
Good Business process tools to solve problems
Cons
Goals are hard to achieve, poor work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Expectations
Any (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 6, 2017
Good company to work for but work/life balance is not very good. A lot of hours are needed to get the job done and the company has unrealistic expectations from their employees. Decent benefits and pay. Bonus package is also good but then again the expectations make it hard to meet your goals.
Pros
Good compensation
Cons
No Work Life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Opportunity
Office (Current Employee) –  Buffalo Grove, ILMarch 3, 2017
You get to be part of a company that is impactful on peoples health and life.

Processes in place to make job run smoothly, you know exactly what is expected of you.

The teams are filled with great people and there is true team work.

Benefits are outstanding.
Pros
Great Product, Industry Leader, Opportunity
Cons
Not any, work hard and you are rewarded
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Richmond, ILDecember 28, 2016
Company is small. Management is good and co-workers are great. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people-contact. Training is minimal, on-the-job training is expected.
Pros
Small
Cons
Structure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!
FSE/Various (Current Employee) –  EverywhereJune 23, 2016
Overall working for any company is what you make it. There is a lot of travel, but I knew up front there would be. Management is great and understanding of our needs. They know when to push you to be great and when to let you work on your own. Leica gives you the tools to be successful and advance your career.
Pros
Pay and great work environment
Cons
The job can flow over into personal life with the long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always check reviews before applying for this company.
LBS (Former Employee) –  CSRDecember 19, 2015
Some products come from outside the US. Lots of back orders, you do not get response but the next day. Departments have poor teamwork. Supervisors take more responsibilities more than what the team can handle. Customer Service takes more work instead of other Dept to improve their process. Company is big on matrix and measurements, if you cannot keep up with daily quota, you will find yourself out of job. Medical and Dental do not cover opposite gender.
Pros
great pay, annual bonus, great SAP System
Cons
be productive, accurate or you will find yourself out of job
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LBS Support
Tech Support (Current Employee) –  LBSNovember 12, 2015
Decent company with "meh" health benefits. Management is more about the money than the customers. Every end of month is like an end of year to scramble to bring in as much revenue as possible.
Pros
The people are good to work with
Cons
Little to no loyalty from upper management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and employee oriented
Staff Accountant (Current Employee) –  Vista, CASeptember 20, 2015
Typical day is usually reconciling outstanding items and preparing for month end. Interact with other co-workers to resolve issues. Company treats employees well and have employee appreciation once a month.
Pros
The people who work at Leica
Cons
Healthcare coverage is not great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Slides/ wax (Former Employee) –  Richmond, ILJune 16, 2015
I like it but not there to far to drive. we did a lot go stuff to doc offices. The hardest part of the job was keeping up with the work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant turnover of Reps
Sr. Antibody Sales Consultant-CO (Current Employee) –  Denver, COOctober 4, 2014
It is an interesting place to work with many challenges. We had 3 managers in 1 yr and many products on back order that led to a loss of business
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report