Lexington Public Library Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Under New Management
Children's Services Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Lexington, ILMay 22, 2019
I should preface this with the fact that I worked here several years ago, and the management is new. When I go in now, the staff seems friendly and happy.

A typical day for me would begin with story time, after which I would work the desk, checking in and out books, and shelving items. During the afternoon lull, I would look through trade materials to research trends in children's literature, sort through our recent holds to note what our patrons were looking for that we didn't offer and working on our book order. After school, we might host a game day for school aged kids, or study sessions with tutors available. Most of the year I was working on fundraising to support our summer reading program.

I left after being promised a raise and a retirement fund by the library board then discovering I would not receive either.
Pros
Friendly people
Cons
Pay, Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call/Basic Clerk
Call/Basic Clerk (Current Employee) –  Lexington, NCSeptember 14, 2018
Very busy would help with assisting with finding a book for a patron, would use the computer, telephone, would also order books from other libraries. Alot of patrons very busy but, enjoyed working with them.
Pros
Good people to work with
Cons
only got a 15 minute break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Part Time Page (Former Employee) –  Lexington-Fayette, KYMay 16, 2018
fun place to work. coworkers were very helpful and often times helped to direct correct actions. physicality of the job often difficult as it required lost of bending and stooping to accomplish task.
Pros
the people that i worked with
Cons
physiciality of job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not entirely positive enviroment
Part Time Page (Former Employee) –  Lexington-Fayette, KYMay 14, 2018
5:00 pm - 9:00pm
time management
some management was very positive
very positive culture
bending to shelve books
working with the people
would return if had the opportunity
Pros
the people i worked ith
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant place to work
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYMay 7, 2018
My co-workers and managers were always great.

It was enjoyable to meet patrons from all walks of life.

Making this a career of this position is a downside because full time positions don’t come up often and when they do the position is typically seniority based (nothing against this).

Expected lack of benefits for PT.
Pros
Co-workers, culture, library patrons
Cons
Hard to full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a fun place to work
Accounting Specialist (Current Employee) –  Lexington-Fayette, KYApril 14, 2018
Can be a fun place to work if involved with the many programs that are offered at the branches for all ages. The library does have a lot of good resources for all age groups as well as programs for the community. Is involved in community engagement.
Pros
Great benefits, good children and teen programs.
Cons
No room for advancement, pay needs to be upgraded, Upper management operates in their own world without including all staff in various celebrations, Don't seem to appreciate good employees and don't do anything to retain them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going co-workers, satisfying work
Part time Library Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYJuly 2, 2017
I love the culture at the library among employees, it's relaxed open and fun. I enjoy being surrounded by books and people who enjoy discussion of subjects other than what they did over the weekend
Pros
great work environment, they care for you, flexible
Cons
customers are sometimes difficult
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to meet and greet patrons. Positive attitude toward employees
Librarian Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYMarch 24, 2017
A great place to learn new skills and meet life long friends. Many opportunities to be a people person. Your work schedule is set but can be flexible with other employees taking on extra hours, just be ready to take on extra hours in return.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lexington, NEFebruary 4, 2016
I absolutely LOVED working for the Lexington Public Library! My boss was great, very flexible, fair, and really cared for our needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay Place to Work
Youth Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Lexington, ILSeptember 21, 2015
Management needs work. Little compensation, no benefits, expectations of working on your 'free' time and not getting paid, little leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work while figuring out if you want to go toM LIS
Young People's Associate (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYJanuary 27, 2015
The Lexington public Library is a great place to work. Many of the benefits for Part-timers are that you will get a majority of major holidays off. Many of your co-workers are either in MLIS or deciding to get there MLIS so this is a great place to feel out if you are interested in becoming a librarian.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a great place to work and learn
Page (Former Employee) –  Tates CreekSeptember 9, 2013
I so enjoyed my time at Lexington Public Library! I applied to be a part time Page. What a great place to work and learn! The managers were excellent. The workload is different than other local libraries because they have a team of Pages as opposed to the standard one or two at your common local rural libraries in Kentucky. They had several locations and sometimes I was able to get extra hours at other locations. If I lived closer I would work there again in a heartbeat!
Pros
atmosphere, management, fun, easy work
Cons
Limited positions, advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun worplace
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYApril 17, 2013
Great envitoment. Able to experience different cultures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lexington Public Library. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 14 reviews
55
45
34
20
10

Ratings by category

4.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.1Culture