LIBERTY STEEL Employee Reviews

Found 24 reviews matching the search See all 37 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It used to be a wonderful place to work but with the change of management it has become unsettling
Line operator (Current Employee) –  North Jackson, OHOctober 28, 2019
Working at Liberty Steel for 37 years and seeing the new changes, my opinion is that the new management team in place at Liberty Steel is not moving the company in the proper direction for success.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked, no raises, no family life allowed
Welder/Laborer (Current Employee) –  Fyffe, ALOctober 1, 2019
Hired in thru temp service, once hired on by the company they changed my job title and cut my pay AND put me on 3rd. 4-12 hr days m-t then 2-12 hr days f & s - the only reason they close Sunday is so THEY can go to church I guess. If you have a family you want to be a part of I suggest YOU NOT APPLY HERE they do not care about you or your family, they have unrealistic expectations of people and don't care about their employees ONE BIT. I was there almost a year and never was given full benefits, for ex eye care ins. This place is for a man who has no life and only wants to help another man get rich and kill himself in the process.
Pros
free parking
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and high paced work environment (Hot hard work)
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILSeptember 19, 2019
Machine operators were production driven, fast paced work with lots of forced overtime. It is a union based company with decent benefits and a paid week off after a year of service. The management for the most part were decent to work under and the job was hot and hard work but overall it wasent a bad place to work for. Machine operators would have to work on there own machines most of the time unless it was something major and at that time they would have a mec tech help ya out in whatever way he could to get your machine going again. Worst part about the job is if you were stuck on a machine that wasent running half way decent you could actually lose money with it being no fault of your own. I would be willing to discuss any other questions if I was to be interviewed for a job position.
Pros
Paid lunch
Cons
Faulty equipment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Rodbuster (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 10, 2019
Learn a lot from this company they trained me for years how to be safe on the job site to I learn how to tie properly endo and the proper way of reading blue prints without the classes it was a great base on hand on experience job until it was time for me to part ways from that state
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work place
Liberty steel (Current Employee) –  Fyffe alabamaJune 19, 2019
I learned how to weld clean an wash cells I drive a forklift keeping the shop clean its a very nice place to work its layed back and fast paced the management is great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bueno
Rodbuster (Former Employee) –  Dallas TXMarch 25, 2019
Buen ambiente de trabajo y no te presionan, un limpió trabajo
Pros
Seguro médico
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it, best job ever!
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Fyffe, ALNovember 12, 2018
I work with taking off parts from prints and ordered the steel we needed and ordered parts, so we could complete the job. Had the best people to work with and a great opportunity to learn more about the job and was able to apply what you learned.
Pros
Great place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Press Operator / Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Warren, OHOctober 16, 2018
Pretty nice way to stay in shape. And it will definitely make a person who doesn't like physical labor not want to ever work again. But overall it was a nice place
Pros
Paid lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lies, religion and family
n/a (Former Employee) –  Fyffe, ALSeptember 13, 2018
I worked @ liberty a very long time. It became very clear in my last days the 3 stooges was looking to run me off due to age and pay. All of the long-term employees have been let go or run off. The owner was a very good guy to work for, until the money became his main focus. This place is full of lies, religion and family since the 3 stooges took control.
Pros
none
Cons
Always looking over your shoulder.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Fyffe, ALJuly 5, 2018
Good place to work just seeking employment we’re I live at the job I had was real good until a medical issue happen but other than that it’s a good place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Driver/Maintenance/ForkliftOperator/Welder (Former Employee) –  Fyffe, ALMay 22, 2018
Its just a job that's hot in the summer and cold in the winter. You go in and do your time then go home. The cut, form and weld metal to make the product for there customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Religious pricks
Employee (Former Employee) –  Fyffe, ALApril 9, 2018
Even though it’s obviously discrimination, unless you’re holiness like the current members that marry into the family, you’re not going anywhere in the company. It was alright to work at before the owners son in laws got to start running it. They don’t know their butts from a hole in the ground. Poorly ran company. Why it won’t be around for much longer
Pros
Leaving st 5
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, guaranteed 40 hours
Press Assistant (Former Employee) –  900 Dietz Rd NE, Warren, OH 44483March 30, 2018
Easy to learn very good Training I learned almost every machine in the building within a week or two I got paid daily and sometimes overtime overall laid back work setting
Pros
Daily pay, over time
Cons
Fast pace, Loud
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
religious a*!holes
Plate Welder (Former Employee) –  Fyffe, ALJanuary 14, 2018
If you belong to the same religion as the owner you can do no wrong. Never, never mention anything about unions. Most of the employees are back wood good ol boys.
Pros
lots of hours
Cons
lots of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owner would hide and watch you and take notes on a pad. Very uncomfortable..
Certified Welder (Former Employee) –  Saint Joseph, MIJanuary 12, 2018
Stressful workplace. Supervisor would make inappropriate gestures. Owner would hide and watch his employee's and take notes. No employee appreciation. Constant push to get more work out than a individual could possibly do in a single work day.
Pros
Good Insurance. Good Pay
Cons
No employee appreciation
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Warren, OHOctober 31, 2017
not real respectfull but a good place to work once you get to know people the employees are very heelpful i learned alot from liberty still i would go back i know about it know i stay to myself
Pros
bonus
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work. Met and worked with some great people.
Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Warren, OHOctober 27, 2016
Enjoyed my experience at Liberty Steel. I was exposed to all phases of manufacturing and developed a clear understanding of good safety practices necessary in a factory setting.
Pros
Great learning environment
Cons
Kept as temporary with no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing but grease
LABORER (Former Employee) –  Warren, OHApril 29, 2015
there was nothing good about this job. they worked us like dogs and only gave us 2 10 min breaks in 12 hours. I would go in at night and work till in the am with 2 short breaks.its not my fellow employees its management and high up
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Laser Operator (Former Employee) –  Fyffe, ALApril 28, 2015
Liberty steel had a great work environment. I enjoyed the people, my supervisor, the hours and the fast pace work. Liberty steel had a good start out pay for my area.
Pros
enjoyed co workers and supervisors
Cons
was extremely hot in plant
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Laborer (Former Employee) –  North Jackson, OHApril 18, 2014
I loaded and unloaded trucks via forklift and overhead crane.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at LIBERTY STEEL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 37 reviews
57
48
39
22
111

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture