Liberty University Employee Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Based on 378 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5155
4108
364
227
124
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 374 reviews matching the search See all 377 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cgl at lu
Community Group Leader (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAMay 21, 2018
This position is unpaid and is purely voluntary, it's super fun to be able to lead men towards God and build community! Super cool to pursue God while having fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here!
Print Production/ Graphic Design Intern (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAMay 15, 2018
I learned so much from my supervisor at my internship. I really got to know and understand the professional atmosphere from a big organization like Liberty. My skills improved greatly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
facilities technician
Facility Technician (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAMay 9, 2018
Assisted with the repair and maintenance of fitness equipments
Serviced managerial computers, faculty gym lockers and other general appliances.
worked 40 hours a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Master Control Operator (Current Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAMay 8, 2018
Great Company to work for and good benefits. Not very good when it comes to private life versus work life. Pay is ok, management needs work. Loved my time here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each employee is important to Liberty
Data Analyst (Current Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAMay 7, 2018
Overall, great company to work for. Management is very accommodating to the employee's needs. I feel there is a big communication breakdown from upper management to management and then to subordinates.
Pros
Friendly people
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Summer Job
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAMay 3, 2018
It was decent summer job if you were looking to learn and get some trade skill experience under your belt without being too concerned about making a lot of money. Everyone I worked with was great. There was nothing super stressful. It's a great job if you like working with your hands.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Student/Community Leader (Current Employee) –  Science HallMay 1, 2018
This is also a learning institution. I attended here for 4 years to obtain my Bachelors degree. I will be graduating in May 2018. I am looking for a job now, as I will be graduating.
Pros
Education
Cons
Expensive
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Senior Admissions Counselor (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAApril 30, 2018
Great place to work while finishing a degree. Great workplace culture. I enjoyed the people I worked with. I really appreciated their ability in motivating employees to grow in the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning to Serve
Community Life Leader (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAApril 26, 2018
-Practiced my basic hands on capabilities
-Practiced interpersonal communication skills
-Exercised/improved delegations skills
-Exercised/improved working in fast-paced/demanding workplace environment
-Taught me how to genuinely love serving others
-Taught me how to be intentional
-Taught me how to accept and understand various perspectives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Recruitment Representative (Current Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAApril 26, 2018
Liberty University is a private school that provides many career opportunities for both the students and staff. It is also great to meet with many other international students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Liberty University?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a joy to come to work
Athletic Facilities Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAApril 25, 2018
Whether cleaning to stadium after a football game or line judging for volleyball, it was always a fun working environment at LU.
Our group worked well together in keeping facilities ready for the next event.
Pros
free games
Cons
would like to go full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interesting job with great co-workers and management
Event Staff (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAApril 23, 2018
The work day involved getting there at 5pm on thur-saturday and working up until 2am sometimes. I learned teamwork, communication, and problem solving. Overall duties involved ensuring general public safety, enforcing posted rules, escorting unruly persons off of the property. The management was nice to everyone, and the workplace culture was that of inclusiveness
Pros
Being part of a collaborative team
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Supplemental Income
Online Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAApril 20, 2018
This is an okay job for extra money. The courses are already written so you just have to facilitate. This is a private school, so don't get your feelings hurt when they side with the student('s tuition dollars) over the faculty member when conflict arises. In my department, the current pay is $2100 per 3-hour course for instructors with a doctorate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The culture was dissapointing
Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAApril 15, 2018
While I enjoyed many of my coworkers, the leaders at the university were disappointing. I worked there for 5 years and often heard them say things like "it doesn't matter if people are happy, we can hire new graduates cheaply and easily." While that's true, it's very defeating to tell your employees things like that. If you are working here to access free tuition than it's worth putting up with the leaders. I just don't recommend staying around after you finish your degree. When I left the university I received a $20,000 pay jump at my next employer, despite the fact I had a lower title. Clearly Liberty is greatly underpaying its workers.
Pros
Free tuition, your coworkers
Cons
Leadership, salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lu
Academic Advisor (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAApril 11, 2018
-Interesting position. Can be monotonous
-Christian based
-Lower pay but you can get several degrees
-Well respected in the community overall
-Allowed me to get interviews with top companies
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Liberty Flames Sports Network (Current Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAApril 11, 2018
Management is amazing and they are always helpful whenever the time comes and is needed. It is a great experience and very collaborate in helping each other out
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Men's Soccer Team Manager (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAApril 9, 2018
I worked as a team manager for the mens soccer program at Liberty University. I wasn't paid but received a scholarship for working with the team. It was a challenging job with many duties and responsibilities that required being committed for more hours at a time. The hardest part of the job was delegating the work to other managers and they accomplish the task with 100% effort and care.
Pros
Good experience
Cons
Wished I was paid
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Graphic Designer - Student Worker (Current Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAApril 5, 2018
Creative, friendly, and hard-working environment
Communicates clearly
Flexible with work hours
Care about your well being
Value workers and their ideas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Servant Leadership
Subject Matter Expert - Assistant Professor (Current Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAApril 5, 2018
A typical work day includes working with students throughout the day rather it is answering a question, providing insight on a topic, giving constructive critical feedback that helps students understand the concepts and course content better. What I have learned is that graduate and postgraduate students are excited to increase knowledge to impact their future. Administrators are friendly and the culture is one of comradery and Christian values. There is no hardest part of this job. The most enjoyable part of the job is reading student work and giving constructive critical feedback for continued success as well as being a servant leader.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liberty University
On Campus Student Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAApril 4, 2018
It was a Federal Work Study position and it was great! I spent most of my time touring and selling the school i love to new and incoming students. We do not shy from showing our guests the best hospitality we can.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Liberty University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.6InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Liberty University Reviews by Location