Lids Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 1,247 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5354
4357
3338
295
1103
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 1,135 reviews matching the search See all 1,247 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool environment, fun to help customers
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZAugust 15, 2018
Pay is not great, not much room for advancement. Training is also not to great. Employees are expected to be great and are reprimanded for each little thing gone wrong but they are not willing to invest more time and money into properly training associates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Lids Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Moreno Valley, CAAugust 14, 2018
Everyone is friendly and hardworking. It's a nice and comfortable work place to be in. We all respect one another. A fun and productive workplace. Perfect place for a first job and there's ways to get promoted.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 9, 2018
I liked the job and the working place. I just wish the hourly pay was more for new hires. Overall good place and job to have for teens and young adults.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great please to work, awesome staff
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Staten Island, NY 10314August 8, 2018
Lids is a great employer. They’re staff is well organized. Working at lids you really become a team with the staff. I enjoyed the friends competition with in the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
ASSISTANT SALES MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCAugust 4, 2018
Great place to work with great leadership and management. I was able to travel to different stores to work offering fresh customer base. I looked up to management as a true leader.
Pros
company discount, ability to grow, great leadership
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 2, 2018
It was a great first job for me, the manager and supervisor were great and made me feel like I wasn't doing it alone. It is great for a first job and would highly recommend it.
Pros
Discounts at the food court, and on beverages and you get to choose your break.
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace learning experience
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Providence, RIAugust 1, 2018
Lids is personality driven. Have the right personality for people and accomplishing corporate goals and you will go far. It's not a difficult job to maintain and learn your embroidery styles quickly and efficiently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Much Room For Advancement
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVAugust 1, 2018
Typically was a fun job, met great people, liked the clientele, loved the Custom Zone embroidery. I felt Lids was a great place to be however due to the nature of the job there is not too much room for being moved up. Its a fun job but mostly suitable for supplementing an income,
Pros
Fun environment, loyal clientele, flexible hours
Cons
Low pay, not many hours, not much room for promotion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great place to gain work experience!
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Rocky Mount, NCJuly 31, 2018
Working at Lids gave me managerial experience that was very much needed. It helped me build upon my resume' therefore giving me the opportunity to qualify for other managerial positions.
Pros
great starter job
Cons
too many changes of command
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales highly competitive
Store Manager/Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 30, 2018
Good customer to employee interaction, actual salesmen interaction. You have goals to meet. you get to run a business as if it was yours because its a lot of solitary shift coverage, unless your at a high volume store. competitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Lids?

Ask a question
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Florence, KYJuly 30, 2018
Lids wasn’t really the best job for me. The people were great to work with but the training wasn’t the best. I was often left in the store by myself when a manager was needed an couldn’t carry out tasks meant for a manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced work space
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJuly 26, 2018
My experience at Lids was very good. I started as a regular part time sales employee and worked my way up to a full time position and eventually management in the year I worked there.
Pros
Light environment, discounts.
Cons
Short breaks, no healthcare.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work enviroment
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Canutillo, TX 79835July 25, 2018
easy job for high school and college students
flexible with school schedule
easy work environment no stress
work with great co workers
easy to grow with company
Pros
flexible with school schedules
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very engaging. Productive and very insightful under the right leadership.
Part Time Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCJuly 25, 2018
Loved this job until new management arrived. Certain days are more taxing than others, but training and hands on practice makes dealing with every day tasks simple and easy. Sports being a constant theme also helps make the days easier at this establishment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Human Resources Generalist (Current Employee) –  Zionsville, INJuly 24, 2018
Address and resolve employee relation issues. FMLA, EEOC, workers compensation. Working with over 50 managers to ensure policies are enforced and followed. Maintaining a high level of confidentiality.
Pros
Flextime, summer hours
Cons
lack of advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Place
Asst. Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Cypress, TXJuly 23, 2018
With Lids I learned more on how to manage my time and my employees! I understand most definitely that team work is the best way to handle a retail store! Overall a great experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, INJuly 23, 2018
Lids is a great place to work in an academic setting without full time commitment but work life balance to have a steady income working with a great team.
Pros
Great Team
Cons
Extremely laid back
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Paducah, KYJuly 19, 2018
Love the work. Loved talking with people. Sadden when the store closed. Hours could had been better but was a job at the time. It was my first inside job Looked forward to go to work when I was scheduled
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Store closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A sports fans dream job.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Sterling Heights, MIJuly 17, 2018
Great company to work for as a sports fan, and to hone your management skills at the store level. When I was employed there, there was a lot going on with the higher ups and their lack of organization and communication skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Saint Louis County, MOJuly 17, 2018
It was just a job that had no manager and the work was easy boring and in the mall not much to do but stock and try to make sales hard to take brakes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport