Life Care Centers of America Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad but not great -Average
Director of Activities (Current Employee) –  Valparaiso, INOctober 16, 2018
overall okay place to work....can become overwhelming with the types of resident in the facility. upper management continuosly adds more work onto managers and increases there expectations. Pay is o n the low end an no one gets yearly raises.
Pros
love my residents and small family like feel
Cons
never enough staff and pay is low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work environment, overworked
LPN (Licensed Practical Nurse) (Former Employee) –  Cape Girardeau, MOOctober 12, 2018
Scheduled for 12 hours of work and expected to do 24 hours worth of work in it. Poor management, staff in and out door constantly. Pay is decent but not worth the work. Good environment that shows healthcare is worried more about money than care of residents.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good leadership team
Director of Nursing (DON) (Former Employee) –  Rochester, INOctober 12, 2018
Regional support is terrible. The team within the facility would be great if there were not a few people there. There is a constant force working against you within the facility and no one in upper management changes that, they actually promote it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly work environment
Charge Nurse (Former Employee) –  North Charleston, SCOctober 11, 2018
a typical day at work family and friend environment
learning environment insurance reimbursement protocol
work place culture friendly
the hardest part of the job shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Enjoyable, Experiemental
Dietary Aide (Former Employee) –  Michigan City, INOctober 10, 2018
I was a dietary aide. I would come in and fill jugs of juices and milk for the residents dinner. I had to get snacks ready and put them in zip lock bags for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I also served the food to the residents in 2 dining different dinning rooms. I had to clean off all of the tables and wash the dishes, as well as sweep and mop.
Pros
Free meals and they were always tastey
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good
COTA/L (Former Employee) –  TNOctober 10, 2018
My skill set was grown quite a bit while working with Life Care. I had a very supportive manager who tried to make sure we used diverse treatments and received frequent CEUs. Patients were put first and the facility did not allow patients to go without the things they truly needed even when it came to costly expenses such as seating or specialty beds.
Pros
Equipment, Facility, Atmosphere
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a friendly environment
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Idaho Falls, IDOctober 10, 2018
I was still taking my CNA class when I worked here and they made me deal stupid every time I asked for help and would not help me learn anything I needed to know to do the job.
Pros
Loved the residents
Cons
Unfriendly management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced workenviroment
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Port Orchard, WAOctober 9, 2018
Life care is a great place to work and helped me learn many things in the form of learning to be an adult and improving many of my skills, the managment from enviromental services is outstanding and very appriciative
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible, run fast!
SDC (Former Employee) –  Bridgeton, MOOctober 8, 2018
Worked here a very short time, management has no clear vision of what goes on beyond the halls of the administrative offices, staffing was a mess and anyone that walks in the door hired on the spot.
Pros
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hilo, HIOctober 6, 2018
Excellent place to work where you can learn so many new routines upon training. Friendly staffs and nurses, most especially, happy residents. Clean facility.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper Management Passive Aggresive at it best
Associate (Former Employee) –  Plainwell, MIOctober 4, 2018
Administrator would manipulate staff against each other, including staff under management to receive the outcome that was wanted. This created unending drama. There was unending backstabbing in this place.
Pros
Money
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
PHYSICAL THERAPIST (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTOctober 4, 2018
People are good to work with. Benefits are horrible, Hours vary greatly. You can make your own daily schedule. Looking for new employment due to the poor benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pressure cooker
LVN Charge Nurse (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, CAOctober 4, 2018
Management demands the impossible. Cannot keep LVNs due to unrealistic expectations. Every LCCA facility in the area are understaffed to the point of dangerous conditions for the residents. Management is to blame.
Pros
Dedicated CNAs
Cons
Too much documentation for one LVN
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
LVN II (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NV 89119October 4, 2018
Almost always canceling scheduled CNA. Currently been cutting or canceling nurse scheduled hours. Currently removed nursing supervisor on the floor making it so difficult for the nurses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Care
Dietary Aide (Former Employee) –  Ooltewah, TNOctober 4, 2018
It was Okay, wasn't there for long as it was temporary. I know one person there who's worked there for several years in the kitchen and the manager as well. They were wonderful people and pleasant to be around. It is worth a try.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Culture and Leadership
CNA (Current Employee) –  Denver, COOctober 3, 2018
This is an amazing place to work. Right from the start I felt welcomed and supported. I was never lacking for training or support from leadership. The culture truly is about the residents and their care. This center is like a home not a facility. The associates here welcome and support one another. The leadership is supportive and always has an "open door"
Pros
culture, compassion, work ewnvironment, staffing ratio, excellent care
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have been with the company since 2005
Clinical Liaison (Current Employee) –  Medina, OHOctober 2, 2018
Life Care has been like a family to me. There has always been encouragement to grow and learn. They encourage growth within the company and promote a teamwork mentality.
Pros
flexible and family oriented
Cons
Every job has it's moments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Former member (Current Employee) –  Lagrange, INOctober 2, 2018
Overall, Life Care Center is a good company to work for. The management has had some turnover in the executive director position and director of nursing position. Sometimes they are short staffed and call often for shift covering. Makes it difficult for a work life balance when you are getting frequent calls and texts. High turn over except for some department heads who have been there for years. Difficult to keep consistency with executive directors changing all the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laundrywoman
Laundry tenanted (Former Employee) –  Eugene, OR 97401October 2, 2018
shorting laundry
making sure that the residents get there item back
labeling the clothing
washing table clothes
cleaning the dinning room
and putting their clothing back in their rooms
Pros
nice people to work with
Cons
wasn't any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Occupational Therapy Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSOctober 1, 2018
I enjoyed the staff but be ready to work fast! A typical day is 6-8 patients needing 30-50 minutes up to 75 minute treatment sessions. Managed well with the director of therapy she’s understanding and easy to get alone with.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Life Care Centers of America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 2,000 reviews
5499
4525
3482
2242
1252

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.2Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

4.0Fairygodboss Score

100%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.