Lithia Motors, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 379 reviews matching the search See all 380 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dishonest Hiring Practices
Body Shop Estimator (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAOctober 2, 2018
When I initially interview for this position the job sounded great. They presented me with an attractive and competitive pay plan and a great work life balance. Once I started and it came time for my first paycheck they changed their tune. They cut my commissions in half off what we had agreed upon during the hiring process, and automatically withdrew my first paycheck from my checking account. I had to go to the general manager just to get paid what I was owed. Do not work for this dishonest company, they will say anything to get you to leave your current employer and will pull the rug out from under you once you start.
Pros
Good work life balance, Good store level management
Cons
Dishonest hiring practices, No support from corporate
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For being a large corporation you'd expect more (overall)
Payroll Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Medford, ORAugust 2, 2018
Leadership is good, my managers are positive and great to work for. Pay isn't great at all and there is no room for advancement. Also, once you get hired on you are pretty much stuck at your pay rate. No raises whatsoever. Benefits are sub par, and not competitive at all compared to anywhere else I have worked. Overall, I don't recommend working here unless you are OK with doing the same job at the same pay rate for the rest of your life.
Pros
Hours are Flexible, Pretty solid work/life balance
Cons
No PTO for the first year & Minimal PTO thereafter, Benefits are not that great, When you get hired you are stuck at your pay and your position
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started bumpy-now will never leave
Dealership Coordinator (Current Employee) –  OregonAugust 29, 2018
I have been with Lithia for 5 years and I can't imagine working any where else. There is a family feel here and I don't mean you get away with stuff. I have been called out for my mistakes and praised for my successes. I have been given the tools to succeed and used them to better myself. I have been in the Automotive industry for 27 years and I know that I have found a great place to work until I am done.
Pros
Tools to succeed, great enviroment
Cons
Some stress learning new job role
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management, Long Hours, but Descent Pay & Benefits
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Eureka, CAJuly 10, 2018
Management at the store level is completely incompetent and unethical. They don't care about their employees or their customers. They rip people off and are always doing things that are against the law or violate company policy.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Very long hours, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close-Knit Work Atmosphere, Good People, Decent Management
Business Development Center Administrator (Current Employee) –  Salem, ORAugust 2, 2018
This company prides itself on providing the Premium Experience. The employees all know one another and are courteous. Management is approachable and often available to meet with. Clients know and can sense the employees work here because they enjoy it here.
Pros
Genuinely Good Place To Work, Newer Establishment, Nice Staff
Cons
Pay Is Not Competitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
xxxxx (Former Employee) –  Missoula, MTFebruary 28, 2018
About Management: they are very courteous to you but they only tell you what you want to hear. They respect you as a person, but if your not the most productive person on the floor you are not really worthy of their time and energy. As long as your producing they don't really care who's throat you have to cut to produce numbers. They are also unwilling to change to a more modern system, everything is still paper and looks unprofessional in my opinion.
Co workers are ok, not really back stabbers, they just want a paycheck like everyone else. The workplace as a whole could use some organization.
The medical benefits are not great, they don't cover enough and cost way too much. You can buy the same plan by yourself for the exact same price with only minor differences.
Pros
benefits, pay, a J.O.B.
Cons
management, mentality, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but professional atmosphere- great experience
Sr. Procurement Analyst / Sr. Compensation Analyst (Former Employee) –  Medford, ORFebruary 26, 2018
The corporate office was a wonderful place to work, management was knowledgeable, relatable, and willing to work with employees. Co-workers were hard-working, helpful, friendly and collaborative. Very relaxed and casual atmosphere, yet very professional as well. Nice accommodations, beautiful building, and great benefits. Becoming increasingly fast paced due to the company's rapid growth, sometimes difficult to keep up with the work load, however management is flexible and promotes a strong work / life balance. Really enjoyed working there, wish I didn't have to relocate (unrelated to job).
Pros
Great atmosphere, friendly people, nice accommodations and benefits, opportunity for advancement
Cons
Pay could be a little better to account for rising costs of living in the area, a little hectic and fast paced due to rapid company growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time there up to the last few months under the fourth General Manager in four years
Manager of Hyundai automobile Parts Department (Former Employee) –  Anchorage Hyundai, Anchorage, AKSeptember 11, 2018
Lithia is a large corporation with approximately 185 locations(and growing) that allows each dealership to operate autonomously so my experiences may differ greatly than those of someone in another location. I enjoyed my work and working with my coworkers but the location I was in went through four General Managers in the four years I was there and none of them were successful in growing the new car sales end of the store.
Pros
Good benefits package, fair compensation for the job, good amount of autonomy in my position
Cons
High turnover rate of General Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment.
Auto Detail Technician (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXJune 9, 2018
This is a fast paced work environment. They provide great benefits. You will be working with a lot of people from sales and service department. Job advancement can depend on management.
Pros
Insurance and other benefits
Cons
Too many days of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect place if you don't have a life or any morals or love to be taken advantage of.
Detailer (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAFebruary 18, 2018
Its a joke. Management cuts a lot of corners, plays games with employees, random write ups just to be able to threaten you or manipulate you in the future. Lots of fraud incidents with warranty work. Management will starve out employees that stand up for their morals and ethics. Management discourages teamwork, wants people to be cutthroat and deceitful with each other. Management is greedy and wont give raises to those deserving. Loved working with my co workers. If you have any morals, self worth and a family you like being with. Stay away! They will work you to the bone and toss you aside when done.
Pros
None worh mentioning.
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales driven and competitive
BDC Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAAugust 30, 2018
Typical day consisted of being on the phone with customers, making outbound calls to customers, keeping tabs on appointments, updating information on calls, and relaying information. I learned that this is not just being a receptionist, but a sales job all in one. You learn how to speak to customers, you learn about the car sales industry and it's vocabulary. The hardest part of the job was the pressure to bring in customers. If you do not know what you are talking about and if you are not friendly and energetic-forget it, you won't be there long, that job isnt for you and they'll find someone else. The most enjoyable part of the job is you get to know some cool and nice people, you learn what it's like to sell, and you get to learn about cars.
Pros
Some commission is available, some nice co-workers, nice environment, good learning environment
Cons
Very competitive, pushing for sales, repetitive, constantly calling people to get sales, must be okay with some very slow days, not for everyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some changes have been made since I quit
Detailer / Porter (Former Employee) –  Klamath Falls, ORAugust 18, 2018
Co-workers were good guys. My supervisors were very unorganized. Would be told by one to do one thing and then another would come by and tell us something totally different.
Pros
some co-workers
Cons
no raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed company
Automotive Technician (Current Employee) –  Uniontown, PAAugust 2, 2018
Honestly the worst company I ever worked at. Actually everything was great until Lithia Motors bought out our company. You are no longer a valued employee with Lithia you are just a employee number. They didn’t honor our union contract . Made drastic changes to our pay and hours of operation. The benefits are not that great and if you use tobacco you pay a higher premium. Communication is via email with Lithia on the West Coast and if you have a problem you need an answer to you don’t get a response in a timely manner. They took what was a locally owned family dealership and turned it into a corporate nightmare. I would highly recommend seeking other employment before thinking about working for the Lithia, Baierl/Day Automotive Group.
Pros
Absolutely nothing
Cons
The whole operation
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service Department
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJuly 15, 2018
Very good company to work for. My advice to anyone interested in a position please follow rules and take job seriously! Don't make friends with management because it only causes issues down the road..
Pros
New Hire Referral Bonus
Cons
Long Hours and only every other Saturday off.. (Service Department)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Claim Specialist Property & Causalty.
Property & Casualty Claim Specialists Risk Mgt (Former Employee) –  Medford, ORMarch 26, 2018
My typical day at Lithia Motors was investigating, evaluating, mediating and negotiating claim settlements for various stores. Gathering enough information to make the most informative decision. I have learned that working as a team player with management is most effective in getting claims handled efficiently.

The workplace culture is professional, some stores more than others. The hardest part of the job is informing the stores or public there is no coverage or the claim has been denied. The most enjoyable part of the job is serving and helping others.
Pros
Serving and helping others.
Cons
Working in ever-changing reorganizing environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for the faint of heart.
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Redding, CAMay 8, 2018
It has been many years since I worked for this company, so it may have a different culture than when I worked there. The management is a major factor of my rating, and I'm not sure any of the managers from when I worked there are still with the company. It was a very high pressure job, and some associates were pushed to the point of being cut-throat to try and meet expectations.
Pros
There is money to be made in car sales.
Cons
Pressure, Cut throat, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
General Sales Manager/Finance Director (Former Employee) –  Medford, ORJuly 23, 2018
Good company that has gone down hill on the training part of things. Early in my career was taught quite a bit but and the second go around training has become very laxed. Good company long hours with ok pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic processes not in place
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Salem, ORAugust 10, 2018
The dealership I worked at lacked basic processes (key handling, service drive, parking, delivery, scheduling, etc). Whenever we tried to tell the new service manager how it was supposed to be run, he would tell us to stop complaining about everything.

After a month of a free for all, I was terminated because I "lacked focus" on my job. Probably the best thing that could have happened to me is being fired from Lithia Motors. Frankly Lithia, if that's all you've got then you're pathetic.
Pros
Discounts on parts
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very chaliging
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Medford, ORDecember 1, 2018
Got to advance and learn as my job grew and got to meet new standards and got good schooling for the job and for future job at hand also got to work with good people including my service writers also service managers
Pros
AR account got 401K as well as big bonus and discounts on job site
Cons
Short breaks but we're very interesting people to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile Work Environment
worker (Former Employee) –  Casper, WYMay 23, 2018
Management has changed what was once a family oriented company/environment to a hostile workplace. It is very cut throat now. Work performance is not rewarded rather than who you know. Lithia Corp. was great to work for- they just need to reevaluate the local management.
Pros
GREAT benefits
Cons
Poor local management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lithia Motors, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 381 reviews
598
479
397
234
173

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

3.3Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight