Little General Convenience Store Employee Reviews

Showing all 161 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Marmet wvMarch 11, 2018
Wouldn't recommend . Manager isn't understanding and purposely scheduled me for unconditional shifts. It may just be specific location but I wouldn't recommend nor work there myself ever again.
Pros
Subway discounts while on clock
Cons
All above
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing store to work for
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Pineville, WVFebruary 27, 2018
I loved working at this location. Della the GM is amazing and makes the job a lot easier. She helped with cleaning and any questions and problems you have or that will arise. She is amazing with the customers. I took care of my customers, money, cleaning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Training Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Princeton, WVFebruary 18, 2018
I loved working her the managers and my co workers became like family, Work hard and you have great opportunities to advance. They work with you if you need time off and explain everything so you can learned to make sure the job is done right.
Pros
Great atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WVFebruary 14, 2018
Terrible place to work. I was attacked on the job and because I defended myself i was terminated. They were very unhelpful in getting my unemployment as well and tried to fight me on it. If at all possible I'd find other employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Princeton, WVFebruary 6, 2018
The work environment was amazing. It is a great company. I enjoyed the hours that were provided for me. The work itself was enjoyable. They were able to get off of worked when i need for doctors appointments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Second Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Marmet, WVFebruary 1, 2018
Very fast paced. You would have to have very good customer service with gas station cashier. Dealing with the public. Some people are nice some are not you just had to over look and smile and move on to the next customer.
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's A Gas Station
Attendant (Current Employee) –  Morgantown, WVJanuary 31, 2018
I mean, what is there to say? It's a gas station. Duties include, but are not limited to: Operating a cash register, periodic housekeeping and minimal inventory management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor mangers
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Ona, WVJanuary 24, 2018
Treated poorly by mangers.hard to work for them.love the people that I work with just not the way things are taken care of.should be understanding of peoples needs.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Mangement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gas Station
Cashier/Cook/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Hico, WVJanuary 23, 2018
it was a fast pace day if you worked evenings and I learned how to check the fuel level the hardest part was to make pizza and cashier when your the only person on shift the most enjoyable part was making pizzas when there was a cashier
Pros
meeting differnt people
Cons
no breaks or lunchs an less there between customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
CLERK (Former Employee) –  Hamlin, WVJanuary 21, 2018
it was fun at times very easy going
itis a good start up job but , a bit stressful and i really am mediocre about good people alot of friendly enviroment
Pros
next to burger king
Cons
can be stressful at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very face paced
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Dyersburg, TNJanuary 17, 2018
I ordered stock. I also made the weekly schedule for all employees. I was responsible for price changes. I did Alot of book keeping. Scheduled matience for the store.
Pros
Fast paced
Cons
Working with the public
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Subway Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WVJanuary 13, 2018
Very exciting place to work. Having a good team on your side is always a plus too. I really enjoyed working for LG stores. Would highly recomend working for any of their businesses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier work and stocking and cleaning up, customer service
Clerk (Former Employee) –  South Charleston, WVJanuary 3, 2018
When i showed up before hours, i would stock and clean up. When open i was the cashier,so customer service and handling money. At the end of my shift, i would count drawer and balance, give to manager to put up and check if anything needed cleaned up or stocked.
Pros
It was convenient and the job wasn't a bad one
Cons
The other employee talk nasty and hateful, even to customer as well as other employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
own pace job
cook,cashier (Former Employee) –  Hickman, KYDecember 6, 2017
good job and a great opportunity to advance on your people skills as well as costumer service. patience is a must to have working in this environment
Pros
food discounts
Cons
annoying costumers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved working at little general. the company, customers were the best. competitve pay and benefits. awesome job!!
Subway Manager (Former Employee) –  Amherstdale, WVOctober 4, 2017
I cannot say enough how wonderful this company is to work for, honestly felt like family!! if your lookinh for a job with wonderful benefits, competitive pay and great supervisors, this place is for you!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Fast paced workplace with great people
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Morgantown, WV 26505September 19, 2017
Great people, a nice part-time job if you want it. Wages are not high and advancement is questionable. Company is family owned with strong ties to WVU.
Pros
Great people
Cons
wages/benefits and advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Trezevant, TNSeptember 19, 2017
Scheduling was great. Manager was wonderful. Hours were ok although the pay wasn't enough to raise a family on. I loved the people I worked with. It was laid back.
Pros
Fun
Cons
Not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The store manager is the only plus
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Princeton, WVAugust 31, 2017
Gossip runs the store, not policies. It's like being in high school again. So unprofessional it's sad. Everyone works harder at making other people look bad than they do at making the store profitable.
Pros
Proximity
Cons
Work culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not work there unless no jobs were available
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ansted, WVAugust 10, 2017
not a good place work mang. dont do their job they dont have well trained workers its just a bad place to work you dont get help from anyone no one wants to help
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
keep your eyes peeled
Cashier/Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WVAugust 7, 2017
When I first started working here it was all good aside from a few hiccups here and there from the management. Then it starts to go down hill and people start to fired left and right. New management comes in and for the longest time the deliveries never had the right stuff or the correct amount of stuff. Then next thing I know I'm being fired for theft of money that I know for a fact I never took.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Little General Convenience Store. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 161 reviews
541
436
341
224
119

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.5Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.0Culture

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

3.5Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight