Lone Star College Employee Reviews

Found 476 reviews matching the search See all 477 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, Supportive, Helpful
Transfer Center Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 14, 2018
Excellent day every day at work is fast paced! I learned how to be the best administrative assistant that I am today. The manager is wonderful. she went above and beyond to insure you have what you need to effectively do your job.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I expected
Specialist IV (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 14, 2018
I knew the salary was low when I accepted the position but I thought the raise would make things better. I have a whole lot of job for a dismal amount of money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun learning workplace
Receptionist\Assistant (Work Study/Part Time) (Former Employee) –  Tomball, TX 77375October 13, 2018
* Great place to work
* Slow pace environment
* Workplace culture is awesome
* Supervisors are very nice and very helpful
* No hard parts of the job
* Very easy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Director, Construction Project Training Grant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 9, 2018
That was a great experience to work with fantastic people working together to help provide a superior environment to educate students and prepare them for the workforce.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Employee (Current Employee) –  Cypress, TXOctober 6, 2018
One of the better jobs I've had in 18 years. Everyone is a team player and works well in stressful situations. I've learned a lot from my coworkers and everyone is willing to help get you up to speed on things going on around campus. I have nothing but positive things to say about my experiences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to WORK
Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee) –  Cypress, TXOctober 2, 2018
Lone Star College is an excellent place to work, I recommend to all individuals. My work life balance is perfect and the students are very cooperative and the staff is always helpful.
Pros
Everything is GREAT!
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Public Speaker (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 22, 2018
Great people to work with enabled me to establish my point of view on an idea that I feel really strongly about. As a disabled mother of three I was able to share my experience as an educator, mother and advocate with future educators.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace for students
LIBRARIAN ASSISSTANT (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 20, 2018
A really good place to work as a student. Not much else to say. Super friendly and understanding of schedules when it comes to classes and they really encourage you to be your best.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
Low Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding workplace
Test Proctor (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 19, 2018
The group of people I work with are great! Boss is awesome and hours are perfect for me. I look forward to work - I don’t dread it. Lots of people to meet,
Pros
Fun atmosphere, helping students further their education
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at.
Business Specialist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 17, 2018
The mission drives the company and management is incredible. Very supportive. Love working with my team. Good work/life balance. Many opportunities to advance within the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Reader/Scribe (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 16, 2018
Working at Lone Star College was a very productive work environment that lets you help empower other students as well as yourself. You are able to progress within the job, meet others that are always willing to help and help you learn more about your school.
Pros
Helping others succeed in school, discounts
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm Atmosphere
FINANCIAL AID PART-TIME (Former Employee) –  Financial Aid OfficeSeptember 13, 2018
The most difficult part of this job was working with students who missed deadlines or could not receive financial aid. Fortunately, the team at Lone Star is highly skilled when it comes to understanding and problem-solving.
Pros
Helpful and team-oriented
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with opportunities for advancement
Academic Advisor II (Current Employee) –  Conroe, TXAugust 29, 2018
A good place to work with opportunities for advancement. Supervisors pay attention to what their team members contribute and do their best to find opportunities for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Holidays and Special Schedules
Administrative Assistant, Full Time (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 17, 2018
Working at Lone Star College offers numerous benefits, but two of them include a special summer schedule with every Friday off and a long, winter holiday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked it a lot!!!! New things to learn all the time!!!
Assistive Technology Lab Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 17, 2018
My days were filled with different tasks. Either I scanned books created charts for the students or created spreadsheet tables for inventory. Shredding
Cons
We got paid less than everyone else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a fun environment to work at
Assistant ll (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 16, 2018
A typical day was mainly preparing for the months events for the students. I learned a lot of skills while under this job such as leadership and communication.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family like environment. Managment support and recognition
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 14, 2018
My job gives me the opportunity to exercise my skills, ability and education in my position. The college provides periodic professional development opportunities to advance those skills. In addition, leadership provides support in recognizing staff and faculty for outstanding work ethics every semester.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job!
Veteran Academic Advisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 14, 2018
As an academic advisor, I learned so much about the college experience and so much about higher education in general. I was inspired to be a life long learner.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing schedule does somewhat help compensate for the lower level of pay
Division Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Conroe, TXAugust 14, 2018
This is an amazing college to work for, once you move beyond the entry level/clerical positions, the pay is much better and the schedule cannot be beat. There is really an atmosphere of family and respect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very cohesive work group.
Adjunct faculty for all levels (Current Employee) –  Tomball, TXAugust 14, 2018
Lonestar Tomball is a great place to work. The faculty are all part of the team that makes the students successful. Everyone makes sure to help each other out.
Pros
Great support form administration
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lone Star College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 477 reviews
5256
4135
367
211
18

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.2Culture

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

3.3Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight