Lone Star Transportation, LLC Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 28 reviews
Ratings breakdown
57
411
35
22
13
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 28 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working there.
Cab Driver (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 3, 2018
I enjoyed working with the company. They look out for their drivers.
They try to understand any situation. And they will work with you on any thing you need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very very stressfull
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort WorthJuly 26, 2018
They want you to pay for everything for your truck and they will say they will reimburse you but never do. DM will lie to you and stab you in the back. Give you a raise but then cut your miles. Pay scale is way below what other companies pay for flatbed and heavy haul.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I hate working for this company
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 16, 2018
I'm looking for a new job right now. Only there for some experience and a pay check. Working at McDonald's probably would pay more. Management are rude and stupid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy, learned new requirements
Permit Agent (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXMarch 19, 2018
Productive, and busy, learned: state reqs., different state PC system for ordering permits, co-workers were courteous and helpful, enjoyed all aspects
Pros
Courteous and helpful enviornment
Cons
Can't think of any.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lone Star is a nice company to work for.
Driver Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJanuary 22, 2018
Lone Star is not a bad company to work for although I did enjoy working there and the type of work was great, I felt there was some decision making when it came to employees that was unfair. Other than that, I learned a lot and will take that with me on future endeavors.
Pros
Some of the people, Hours available, Location
Cons
Working environment at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place and staff friendly
Clerical Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, TX 76240July 6, 2017
great place, friendly and outgoing people. relaxed and sometimes busy but people help each other out when is needed. a little stressful at times but not so much
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work
OTR Tractor Trailer Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJune 19, 2017
Long hours hauling standard flat-bed, step-deck and RGN (removable goose neck). At times was require to pull over-sized loads. Any thing from scrape pipe-line materials to brand new equipment from the manufacturer and related parts.
Pros
See the country and experiance
Cons
long hours in all types of weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great company hauling oversized and specialty freight
Driver (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXApril 5, 2017
Great job for those interested in gaining experience in hauling oversized loads or working up to huge loads such as windmill components. Some of the best dispatchers I've ever dealt with
Pros
Great dispatchers and overall work atmosphere
Cons
Standard trucking caveat of not seeing home much
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Ft. Worth, TXJanuary 21, 2017
Great company and management from the top down...great equipment, good miles, and good possibilities for advancement...one of the best flatbed companies out there
Pros
People
Cons
It is OTR after all
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Dispatchers, well at least most of them
Former Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXDecember 30, 2016
The best company I have worked for. They don't lie to you like every other trucking company. Will probably be coming back to work for them this spring.
Pros
Honesty
Cons
Hometime
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owner/Operator for transportation.
Owner/Operator (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXSeptember 26, 2016
Enjoyed greeting and accumulating new customers for company and drive through different states to drop off items. I had many contacts and was respected by them. I had a great safety record with this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 10Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
evolution of the field
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Middleburg, FLJuly 2, 2016
They need to understand transflo is real every where and most payroll are weekly not bi month.they have lot of miles but payroll sucks
Pros
lot of miles
Cons
the progress to the times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 9Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wouldn't recommend this trucking company
Truck Driver (OTR) (Former Employee) –  TexasApril 18, 2016
This company sucks. I would not recommend anyone go to work for Lonestar. They have you set more than you work. Home time is few and far between.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all work no home time
Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXDecember 19, 2015
When started Lone Star I was loving every moment but as time got to get up in company ,it was all gone all time. They figured no time for life was good for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Driver/Specialized Transport (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXNovember 29, 2015
Lone Star Transportation is a great company to work for.
I just wish there were better ways to advance other than doing pacific project work
Pros
excellent workplace
Cons
slow advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company overall
Professional Driver (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXAugust 4, 2015
If you are willing to stay away from home for at least 4- 6 weeks at a time you will do fine. The benefit packages that are offered are 1. really good but very expensive or 2. not very good but cheap.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 12Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
get up and have coffee & do e-logs. Check list of truck, trailer & tires, check to see if load is secure. Check route plan. Load and unload.
otr flatbed, dropdeck, oversized (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXApril 21, 2015
42+ years and have a background in oilfield services.
manage my time & try not to hit cities during rush hour.
The hardest part of the job is tarping or booming down the load.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the variety of the loads and meeting new people and driving.
Pros
regional
Cons
healthcare, 401 k
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the support I received from fellow drivers.
Long Haul Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXApril 6, 2015
I initially wanted to be with Lone Star for the rest of my driving career. As I continued to learn and accumulate miles I quickly realized that I wasn't getting the opportunity of advancement I thought I was due. Maybe if I had voiced my opinion they would have listened......maybe not. However this was one of my favorite companies to work for because they really know how to get it done! They have some really nice trucks and take great pride in keeping them up and well maintained. Lone Star is a top notched transportation company. It is one job that you could actually gain knowledge other than just driving the big rig.
Pros
Truck washes. Nice picnics. Beautiful and well maintained trucks
Cons
Good 'ole boy network
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 12Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LSI Transportation
Admin.Assist./Dispatch Assist./ A/R (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 27, 2015
Continuous customer service via the phone, email and internet. Everyone has to do their own job with no one to look over your shoulder. Love being able to assist the driver's with directions.
Pros
Continious Work
Cons
No more advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Professional Place to Work
Regional Operations Safety Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 23, 2014
Very pleased with coworkers and staff. One of the hardest jobs I've ever had to move on from. Highly recommend!
Pros
Ceo, department leads. Real "people first" environment
Cons
Compensation could improve a bit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 4Report