Lord & Taylor Employee Reviews

Found 1,236 reviews matching the search See all 1,239 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Northbrook, ILNovember 15, 2018
The company sales target goals are unrealistic. Sales Associates don't reach it. The goals should be lowered. The retail market is severely struggling thanks to Amazon.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stock
Casheir (Current Employee) –  424 5th aveNovember 15, 2018
lord and taylor work day usually moving pallets of merchandise to all 11 different floor through out the building . i enjoy the most that i could actually shop while on break and days i am not working .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Warehouse Worker/Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILNovember 10, 2018
The management tried to run the schaunburg location as the the one in oak brook but you could not as it way bigger then the one in oak brook and way more employees
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun at times
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cheektowaga, NYNovember 8, 2018
Generally the people you work with are nice, as all retail it gets boring and unrewarding. Only complaint, to get the discount you need their credit card. A lot of the customers think they know better than you and try to walk over you, it takes a lot of mental energy to deal with them sometimes.
Pros
long lunches, generally nice and helpful staff/ coworkers
Cons
low pay, discount is a scam
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mall Job
Store Janitor (Former Employee) –  King of Prussia, PANovember 5, 2018
Working here was honestly very rough place in King of Prussia Mall and I wasn't given barely any hours so wasn't making enough $$$ so I left after the holiday season was over
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly environment, learn fashion and new products
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Rockaway, NJNovember 3, 2018
•Generate sales by determining customer needs and company benefits
•Develop and maintain clientele
•Develop product knowledge by learning the merchandise features and advantages
•Impose structures and standards throughout the department to others
•Understand all systems and procedures relating to sales and credit transactions
•Enforce loss prevention and shortage control procedures
Pros
enjoy working
Cons
only commission no hourly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My First Job
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, NJOctober 28, 2018
It was my first job and it taught me so much. The other workers where nice enough to help me remember what i was supposed to say as far as the promoted and helped me open new store credit cards. Friendly environment and I would work there again!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, NJOctober 24, 2018
Wood-bridge is a nice place to work in general. Some days are fast paced. I like my co-workers, in general. Most of the managers are great and understanding
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Associate (Former Employee) –  West Hartford, CTOctober 24, 2018
ok. Its a nice place to work. The hours were pretty good. The only bad thing is it is retail and costumers love to push your button. Other than that it was a pretty nice place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was alright
Women's Shoe Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJOctober 21, 2018
The managers are okay, if they like you. The customers are horrible and rude. Something you would not expect because they're shopping at Lord & Taylor.
Pros
You get to say you work at Lord & Taylor
Cons
Commision is a scam
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Sales/Merchandising Specialist (Former Employee) –  Trumbull, CTOctober 19, 2018
I worked in lord and Taylor almost 2 years it was ok
Bo benefits except 401k
Management worked a lot ,in general was ok
Except one of them
In my experience they don't care at all about your needs
I had one week vacation payed and I asked for another week unpaid because I had to Go to my country for my wedding and to see my family
And my boss told me that I couldn't get the unpaid week of
I did not now the rules at that time as I do now and the got away with it
Also the did not pay me for my vacation week that I had earned .
Pros
Long lunch time
Cons
Not payed lunch time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales employee (Current Employee) –  Natick, MAOctober 18, 2018
Employees are taken care of by management. Typical day of work would be coming in counting the registers making sure nothing is missing. I learned how to communicate with people across the sales floor. The workplace culture was really friendly and supportive.
Pros
team lunches
Cons
Tough customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Received grattus
Beauty Guide (Former Employee) –  Livingston, NJOctober 16, 2018
Nice immediate co-workers to work with. Very helpful staff. You learned a lot. Very easy to commute to work. The store could be more up to date with current fashion.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Schedule always change
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and relaxed work environment
Print Services Associate (Former Employee) –  250 Highland Park BlvdOctober 15, 2018
I enjoyed my job, but there was no opportunity for advancement. You kind of were where you were and that was the best you could do. The employees I worked with were wonderful and my bosses were very respectful and easy to work with and for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work at
Sales Associate and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Cheektowaga, NYOctober 14, 2018
not at all worth the money or required hours that need to work. minimum of three weekends a month. no benefits, no competitive wages, barely any friendly staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh.
Associate (Current Employee) –  Lawrenceville, NJOctober 13, 2018
Manager picks favorites and takes everything personal. Pits employees against each other, very secretive about PUBLIC knowledge. Probably needs therapy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did
Make-up Artist/Esthetician (Former Employee) –  Scarsdale, NYOctober 10, 2018
A typical day was to open and count the register.
Clean my entire display
Put up any promotional display and animation
Check inventory and order if needed
Check appointments for the day and call to confirm
Start make-overs and facials
Sell to meet daily quota - build sales
Get clients to fill credit card applications
Ring up sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overworked staff
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDOctober 10, 2018
they barely had enough people working a certain shift and sometimes it was just one person who had to attend to a whole bunch of customers, clean out fitting room and take clothes back from the rod to the floor and the managers would still give you trouble for not finishing on time knowing it was just you on the floor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The workplace
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  434 5th Ave, New York, NYOctober 9, 2018
The workplace was fun but the people who work with you would only hang around the registers and not help on the floors or the fitting room in the area
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Commission Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Annapolis, MDOctober 8, 2018
Customer sevice is the standard.New styles and meeting people of all cultures.I enjoy one on one customer relations.Good health care benefits and human resources
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lord & Taylor. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,239 reviews
5351
4326
3341
2121
1100

See reviews about

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Lord & Taylor.

Powered by Comparably