Los Alamos National Laboratory Employee Reviews

Found 135 reviews matching the search See all 136 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an experience that provided a lot of technological knowledge.
IT INTERN (Former Employee) –  Los Alamos, NMJune 6, 2018
In a typical day during the internship, I would visit other departments to gain knowledge of HVAC systems. I would then sit at a computer designing a network diagram.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic people and technology
Computer Systems Professional (Former Employee) –  Los Alamos, NMMay 29, 2018
I worked at LANL for more than 15 years and aside from having great colleagues, I got to support and build some very advanced systems. World class science indeed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Postdoctoral Associate (Current Employee) –  Los Alamos, NMMay 14, 2018
Great work environment, great salary, fantastic management and workplace culture. Interesting projects. Learned many new characterization methods and analytical tool.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Supervisor Assistant/ Roads & Grounds/HEO (Former Employee) –  Los Alamos, NMMay 9, 2018
Great Work place, great people to work with, all in all a good place with great pay amd benifets. Good environment, fun, loved my job!
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Program Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Los Alamos, NMMay 3, 2018
Los Alamos National Laboratory offers a 9-80 work schedule which allow some flexibility to your work schedule. The workplace structures/buildings are very old but the surrounding in Los Alamos are extremely beautiful. The culture is very diverse. Offers job mobility. Offers excellent salaries. Overall a good place to work.
Pros
Flexible work schedule
Cons
Extremely old structure/buildings
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Program Manager/Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Alamos, NMMay 1, 2018
Most staff members are PhD's so they all pretty much know what they are doing.

Challenging! Invigorating! You can advance as quick as you want.

I came as a young PhD but became a Program Manager in my first year over a $1 billion project..
Pros
Smart Folks, good bebfits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LANL Intern
LANL intern (Current Employee) –  Los Alamos, NMApril 25, 2018
A great undergraduate program, they care about the students and are willing to stop a moment to answer any questions the student might have. It is a great place to work and learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun and challenging
IT support (Former Employee) –  Los Alamos, NMApril 19, 2018
I would love to join LANL again in the years to come. Great environment and awesome like-minded people that work in the same division as the desired division.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Current Employee) –  Los Alamos, NMApril 14, 2018
There is very little bad to say about Los Alamos aside from the pace of the work. There is very little progress in a timely fashion and it takes forever to get anything done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Los Alamos, NMApril 11, 2018
The research atmosphere is very collaborative and has a wonderful work/life balance. There are opportunities to advance a career here but it requires being proactive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Los Alamos, NMMarch 30, 2018
Great place to work:
- Supportive environment with likable coworkers
- Learned a lot about digital marketing
- Great managers, easy to get along with
- Loved to go to work every day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I gained knowledge and experience working at Los Alamos National Laboratory
UGS (Undergraduate Student) (Former Employee) –  M-7, S-SiteMarch 16, 2018
I advanced my skills that I learned as a student at Northern NM College, University of NM, NM Highlands University majoring in Word processor, office administration, records management, customer service skills, obtained a Q-Clearance as an Undergraduate Student hired in the summer of 1986. I was employed for 7 months in a cleared area at age 19.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work
Environmental Manager (Current Employee) –  Los Alamos, NMFebruary 15, 2018
good place to work, must be ready to work at various paces and gears depending on the work and projects going on. one must have great experience as you will be in various projects, work activities and used as a Subject Matter expert.
Pros
steady work
Cons
advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Weapon Systems Mechanical Engineering Technologist (Current Employee) –  Los Alamos, NMFebruary 8, 2018
work days are good
learned a lot
managnent is helpful
hardest part -area
enjoyed learning
many would benefit from this job
good job take if i if you can get it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice location but management leaves much to be desired.
Senior Systems Architect (Former Employee) –  Los Alamos, NMFebruary 6, 2018
A nice place to work, location wise, but it's government work, so there's not much opportunity for career advancement. Los Alamos management leaves much to be desired.
Pros
Location
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to do a phd
Graduate Researcher (Former Employee) –  los alamosFebruary 5, 2018
There is a lot of support at Los Alamos National Laboratory for graduate students, students, and post docs. Being converted is difficult, but the experience is worth the relocation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Graduate Intern (Former Employee) –  Los Alamos, NMFebruary 1, 2018
I loved my boss a lot and I felt that my division was always encouraging me to be a better version of myself and grow my strengths. Downside is that Los Alamos is a super lame town. If you are late career with a family, it is a great place. If you're young, the job is great but everything past 5pm is boring.
Pros
The Job
Cons
Where the job is
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Subcontract Tech Representative/Proc. Engr (Current Employee) –  Los Alamos, NMJanuary 19, 2018
Pro: great place to work. No free lunch. But I bring mine, I can afford it. I wish I had more to say about it. I wish I could tell you more about working at this company in my Review
Cons: No free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Pressure
Oracle Applications Developer (Current Employee) –  Los Alamos, NMJanuary 8, 2018
40 hr weeks. Management is supportive. I am a consultant here, not an employee so cannot comment on the review and growth aspects. I was brought in to do a contract and did it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Postdoctoral fellow (Current Employee) –  Los Alamos, NMJanuary 3, 2018
Isolated lab. Not a lot of places to eat. Parking is difficult, but the work is interesting. Pretty scenery, lots of different kinds of jobs available, about 45 minutes from Santa Fe.
Pros
Nice place, very pretty.
Cons
Isolated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Los Alamos National Laboratory. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 136 reviews
569
441
320
24
12

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.5Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

3.3InHerSight Score

3.2Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

3.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Los Alamos National Laboratory Reviews by Location