Los Angeles Unified School District Employee Reviews

Found 1,146 reviews matching the search See all 1,148 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool job
Scoring Center Clerk (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 12, 2018
Packed testing materials for schools
would help drivers pick up boxes from schools
very flexible hours
loved this job and the people there
learned alot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hardest part of the job was site politics.
Harbor Teacher Preparation Academy (HTPA) (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 9, 2018
A typical day was fast paced and 10 hours, if I included tutoring.

The Principal was not a good mentor but hired strong productive and positive teachers to mentor others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfying and rewarding.
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Downtown LA, Westlake, Koreatown, Hollywood, CAAugust 7, 2018
Very satisfying working with kids of all ages. Great management support. Healthy collaboration. I surely learned more than my students. The other teachers were marvelous in their interest to help and support me. We often cross taught to give the kids some variety.
Pros
Job satisfaction
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my time with LAUSD. I'm retired now but the LAUSD is a great place to work. Great people, Great atmosphere, Great benefits. A good place.
Textbook Inventory Clerk (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 6, 2018
I enjoyed my time with LAUSD. I'm retired now but the LAUSD is a great place to work. Great people, Great atmosphere, Great benefits. A good place to learn about Life!
Pros
People
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emotionally Challenging Envirenment
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 5, 2018
Typical work day started at 8:00 AM and finished at 4:00 PM. I learned more about how to teach than about the subject course. Management kept a close eye on curriculum standards. The workplace culture was stimulating due to exchanging classroom experiences with other teachers. The hardest part of the job was maintaining classroom control. The most enjoyable part of the job was observing students' academic successes.
Pros
Opportunity to work with students of differing academic standing.
Cons
Having to complete administrative assessments of classroom behavior.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 1, 2018
Daily routines, I learned a lot of skills, management team was great, worked with many individuals, hardest part was summer cleaning, most enjoyable part was management and co-workers.
Pros
associates
Cons
good work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place but great to work in.
School Mental Health Social Work Intern (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 31, 2018
Busy place but great to work in. Plenty of opportunities to grow as an individual while also engaging with students and enabling them to meet their education and personal goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intersting and educational
Special Education Teacher (PS-12) (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAJuly 31, 2018
A typical day was to mentor students in computer skills, their homework and future plans


I learned various skills for assisting students of all nationalities.

The management was prejudice and unsupportive.


The workplace culture was friendly and positive


Language barrier was the hardest part of the job.


The students learning and willingness t learn was the positive aspect of this job.
Pros
The students
Cons
The principal and parents uncooperativeness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging,
Mulholland MS Junior Police Academy Magnet, Grades (Former Employee) –  Lake Balboa, CAJuly 30, 2018
Working in LAUSD is like working while on a roller coaster, you never know what to expect. District mandates change regularly. Administrators are very unsupportive of developing outstanding teachers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor working Environment
Building &Grounds Worker (Current Employee) –  Reseda, CAJuly 29, 2018
LAUSD Recently cut pension benefits to new employees to get life time medical benefits you must have 30 years of service and your age to equal 87. The pay is poor.How like to come to job with a food pantry for employees. Management cares nothing about rules can move from day shift to night shift to night shift Differential is a joke quickly eat up in taxes. There's is no movement into higher postition only way to move up the is friends with supervisor don't accept no trade school certificate for higher pay go to City Of Los Angeles LACCD, or other school district that pay higher than LAUSD. LAUSD loves understaffing school to push more work on the employee
Pros
Good if going to college
Cons
Below poverty pay food pantry for employees poor benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teacher Rapport
Physical Education Teacher (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 28, 2018
Mild support for African American Male Teachers who are committed to excellence. Admitrators allow student disrespect toward teachers yet administrators don’t tolerate student disrespect towrds them
Pros
A fair salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time work easily managed schooling
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 28, 2018
I first wanted to sub as a food service worker to be able to continue to be a full time student. Now that I am able to manage my schooling, I would like more hours.
Pros
Spent more time on my schooling.
Cons
Less money to do things.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with adult students
Office Secretary (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 27, 2018
Register students in adult school. Accommodated student in classroom in which they fit in there English level. Staff manage to help all students from all race.
Pros
Interact with adults
Cons
Was not a full time worker
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Fax, copy, Spanish translator (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 26, 2018
I was working in downtown in the corporate office dealing with meal applications. Processing thousands of applications and calling parents for any corrections needed.
Pros
Early Hours
Cons
Distance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Computer Networking Instructor for Microsoft and Novell
Certified Network Instructor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 25, 2018
Good rapport with the students, clerical and administrative
staffs. Enjoyed diverse student population which we served.

Excellent opportunity to stay current with new technologies.

A life long learner dream.
Pros
Paid Training to stay current with technology
Cons
Not enough time to finish some projects
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Special Education Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 25, 2018
Great for understanding the field and experience. You choose the school you would like to go to and if the school like your work, they will hire you full-time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace.
Canoga Park High School (Current Employee) –  Canoga Park, CAJuly 24, 2018
A typical day includes teaching curriculum and helping students with extracurricular activities as well as sports.

I learned to be more detailed in my teaching practice.

The most enjoyable part of the job is working with parents and students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisting children with daily activities and assignments
Supervision Aide/Teacher Assistant/After-school (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 24, 2018
I enjoy working with children so a typical day at work was always a. good day. Teaching children and seeing their progress made me feel good because I am helping them better themselves into having a great future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don't know what this is for
English Teacher (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 20, 2018
My review of working for L.A. Unified for 20 years? It was a job like any, but having to work with almost 200 students each day takes its toll. It had its ups and downs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspired
Special Education Assistant (Current Employee) –  Reseda, CAJuly 19, 2018
This has been the best job I have ever had. I really enjoy and learn every single year with LAUSD. It is a wonderful place to grow. The culture there is positive.
Pros
Students
Cons
wages
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Los Angeles Unified School District. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,148 reviews
5531
4309
3218
254
136

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight