Lowe's Employee Reviews

Found 31,681 reviews matching the search See all 32,710 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was great place for work
Housekeping (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 15, 2019
My experience in Loews was good i work in good team learnt Many things about control and keep fucus in everything in a guest room needs and keep everything in control
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity.
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  North Wilkesboro, NCJune 15, 2019
I loved my job as a project coordinator. I helped customers who called in requesting information regarding their projects purchased for install at Lowes. I loved getting derailed trains back on track and moving across the finish line.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Sr. Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Langhorne, PAJune 15, 2019
I loved working for Lowe's. I mainly worked and managed the Appliances and Kitchen Cabinets departments. I also worked in Flooring, Inside Seasonal, Hardware, Lawn and Garden, and Power Equipment.

I like to think that I would still be working there in an upper management position; but I was laid off when new management came in due to my hourly wage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management skills
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Killeen, TXJune 15, 2019
Poor job security . Unprofessional place to work. I would not recommend this company to anyone. Very bad work experience. Customer satisfaction is st the bottom of the chain.
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of favortism for cashiers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Danville, KYJune 15, 2019
The head cashiers play favorites. They let their faves pretty much tell them when they want to work and when they need off. The deplorables ask off even weeks in advance and are denied that day needed off, but yet faves have been known to ask for a day off two days prior and they are allowed. And they give faves the best hours. It’s like high school all over again.
Pros
None
Cons
Management sucks & too much favortism. Bad hours for non faves.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company and experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJune 15, 2019
I would open and close so I pretty much Did it all. It was a very labor forced job, but that's what you expect for a home improvement store. Management was good for the most part except a couple of ASM's. The Culture at Lowes was good, a nice mix of people from all ages and backgrounds. The hardest part of the job would be dealing with heavy equipment when under stressful or bad weather conditions. Most enjoyable part was the flexibility of the job and the work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A-OK!!! Great place to work !!!
Day Crew Stocker (Former Employee) –  Hartsville, SCJune 15, 2019
Lowe's is much better the so called best in home improvement !!!
Pros: Fun on the job! and steady work! Management is fair and approachable! Customers are for the most part happy campers!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work but some of the policies are outdated
Lowes associate (Former Employee) –  Moses Lake, WAJune 15, 2019
some of the policies are outdated, cause they basically let shoplifters get out of the store with everything and the employees are not allowed to do anything.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Goodyear, AZJune 15, 2019
Lowe's is a place where their HR department is really strong, they will make sure that their employees are well taken cared of. Overall a good retail experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only focused on bottom line not employees
Kitchen and Bath Designer Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, AZJune 15, 2019
once commission and spiffs got removed, now there was no interest to sell more than the required amount and no reason to upsell. There was no need to increase upsale value. Customers want most inexpensive and don't care about better features and benefits which result in a more expensive product which in result better commission and or spiffs.
Pros
good job security
Cons
horrible employee retention
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting home improvement store
Night Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Tomball, TXJune 14, 2019
Your typical day at Lowes will consist of meeting new people constantly, hearing their back stories, listening to their needs for their projects, sharing in their excitement for how they are changing their homes or making repairs. Being able to provide solutions to help people love where they live.

I have learned that you never know who is going to walk through that front door and to never judge a person by their current attitude for you never know what they are dealing with until you discover the purpose behind why they are there.

Management is great at keeping employees focused and on target with balancing tasking with customer service.

The hardest part of your job is making time to help everyone that needs specific expert advice.

The most enjoyable part of the job is simply helping people better their homes / lives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable but Frustrating
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Murphy NCJune 14, 2019
Workload is not overbearing, I get along well with coworkers... but lacking in sense of teamwork. Used to look forward to day of work now I dread it..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn’t treat employees fairly
Customer Service/ head cashier (Former Employee) –  York, PAJune 14, 2019
Ok place to work if retirees or if students are living at home with parents but for a Mother’s trying to provide for their families thumbs down company doesn’t have a heart or care
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
short staff expect you to do differebt funtions and open door policy is horrible
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 14, 2019
When I first started there I thought it was great. The employees are good, however management and HR are not in sync. It seems as though they take car of each other. The company seems to be restructuring so much. The attitude of employees seems down, Morale is very low.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Paint dept. Customer service (Former Employee) –  Port Charlotte, FLJune 14, 2019
Alot of upstocing and downstocking between customers. Always busy. They screwed up the management. It really depends who you know to get promoted. Lots of back stabbing. But if you have other employees that all get along in your dept. You'll be fine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place, good job, hard work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, WAJune 14, 2019
You are often helping with loading, locating and explaining things to customers. There's a lot of things to learn for each department, and there are often products that are relevant across multiple departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environemt
Customer Service Associate - Cashier (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXJune 14, 2019
The work environment is good, especially with other employee's and Customers. This is a good place to work at if you want to know more about home improvement and need a place for hours.
Pros
Good Starting Pay, Good Community, Easy to Grasp
Cons
Application Required for Any Position (Even In-House), Spotty Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Administrative support associate (Current Employee) –  Littleton, COJune 14, 2019
I moved up very fast and learned a lot. They allow you to learn several different departments. I always had additional training opportunities with each department
Pros
Cross training
Cons
Not enough coverage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honestly not very good.
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Frederick, MDJune 14, 2019
For as much as they talk about working as a team, they really don't do much to give any meaning to that idea. There's an extreme lack of comradery that stems from poor management and corporate decision making that leaves you questioning whose job is next on the chopping block. Customers are always an issue because they feel entitled because they're apart of the boomer generation who are used to getting kisses at the foot whenever they're slightly inconvenienced, so telling them "no" is unheard of and the end of the world. Contractors and construction workers have a chip on their shoulder and think they're better than everyone who works in that store for whatever reason. So ultimately the job leaves you worn out and emotionally exhausted from all of the ridiculousness experienced at the store. Even if you are someone who doesn't let things get to you, you'll break at some point at Lowe's. Retail at Lowe's is a whole other animal that I would advise not attempting to wrangle.
Pros
Benefits, workers comp, sick time, holiday time, vacation time
Cons
Environment, customers, management, scheduling, job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good retail and learning opportunities
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJune 14, 2019
ringing up customers and cleaning up at the end of shift and providing assistance to anyone who needs help. the hardest part of the job is working in the garden center as youre in the weather no matter the conditions. the most enjoyable part of the job is getting to actively learn new things and see customer projects come together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lowe's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 32,710 reviews
59.4K
410.7K
38K
22.5K
12.1K

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture

Women's ratings

3.2Fairygodboss Score

50%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

35%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss