Lower Colorado River Authority Employee Reviews

Showing all 65 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management out for themselves to fill their pockets - all else is a facade
Operations staff (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 20, 2019
Don’t offer process improvements or disagree with the Regime or you’ll pay. The people who do the work are great. Management is completely untrustworthy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the Company It Used to Be
Manager (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 8, 2019
Job posting practices are misleading, just because you apply, doesn't mean that you will get contacted, quick to employ "friends" of management. No career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Maximo Techno Functional Lead (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 26, 2019
Working at LCRA is refreshing and rewarding. The management is good and the staff are great. The work culture is accommodating and office environment is excellent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization
Lead Project Control Consultant (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 24, 2019
Would work for them again. The company is a long history of good worklife balance the management has a vision and wants to charge for the good. The PMO group has both strong project controls and project management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
System P&C Technician (Current Employee) –  Marble Falls, TXMay 18, 2019
Great place to work! Pay could definitely be better but overall a solid place to learn and build a career! Definitely depends on who your manager are but there are some great ones that work here and really care about there employees.
Pros
Good people and good opportunities to move inside the company.
Cons
Need more training and better pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working enviorment
Intern (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 11, 2019
People are nice, helpful and professional.
Life and work balance is good.
Flexible work hour.
quiet and good working environment.
Team lunch together.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good beginning working experience.
GIS Analyst Intern II (summers) (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 2, 2019
I enjoyed my time there as an intern, and even though I don't intend to continue my career there, I still believe that this greatly benefited me and my skills. I would recommend this company to friends looking for work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable
Engineering (Current Employee) –  AustinMarch 24, 2019
This a stable, slow-moving organization with some upside, although you must be patient as processes can be laborious. The culture isn't horrible, although some groups don't collaborate much.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for Progress.
Public Safety and Communications Specialist (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMarch 1, 2019
As a contract employee some are offered training and recognition in departments and others are not. The company refuses to hire past a limited number.
Pros
Regular work hours fair pay.
Cons
They rarely hire from outside a temp stays a contract period.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 23, 2019
Had a great 27+ years with LCRA. Did not get rich, but was able to provide for my family and live comfortably. Will definitely miss the good people that I worked with throughout my career.
Pros
People
Cons
Political
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its very competitive fast pace
Sub Station Constrution (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 10, 2019
very good company fast pace the toughest part is making the dead line for the work,lots of travel,not to much time to spend with family great work place,you quickly become aware of all the dangers involved with this line of work
Pros
per diem, paid hotel rooms company credit card for matierals
Cons
lots of time away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 4, 2019
I had the opportunity to learn more about areas of interest and then given the chance to lead projects in those areas. There was always support for family time/needs. A great work/life balance. Fair managers. Good compensation.
Pros
Great people and mission
Cons
really nothing I can think of that is worthy of writing down
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely bureaucratic, lack of experienced engineers, many errors due to poor management
Structural Engineer (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 27, 2018
Although company offers very competitive salary and benefits, my career as structural engineer has negatively been affected during the last 4 years. Their structural engineering staff is composed by pseudo engineers with a great talent as bureaucrats. They just need "sealers" to stamp copy-paste drawings. Their drafting techniques are very inaccurate. All the pseudo engineering relays on the judgment of a few old school spoiled drafters/designers just because they have been there for over 10 years. Your contributions are welcome by managers only if you are a member of the "spolied-favorite-boys and girls club". Money is dramatically wasted in committing huge engineering errors. My last month in this place.
Pros
Salary and benefits
Cons
Horrible management, lack of engineering fundamentals, disorganized workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but should be an employee rather than contractor
Contractor Labor (Former Employee) –  Bastrop, TXOctober 19, 2018
LCRA has a lot of contract labor. The position was very good but it was seasonal at times. The management was really good to work with and very helpful.
Pros
working outside in park
Cons
only contract position
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut-throat and racist envionment
Public affairs (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 18, 2018
It was a terrible place to work for a person of color. It was a horrible environment where employees constantly stabbed each other in the back. I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Summer Job
Environmental Education Facilitator (Current Employee) –  Cedar Creek, TXSeptember 28, 2018
A fun job in which you get toe engage the public on outdoor recreation and education. Work is done in shifts so time off between shifts can lead to long workdays with minimal hours. Easy to get time off for vacations, etc. Primarily a summer job as business tails off during the school year.
Pros
Outdoors, Time spent on the river
Cons
Overly Long Breaks, no guarantee of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Friendly and Flexiblility working environment
Engineering Technician (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 11, 2018
This company is a great place to work, every employer is willing to work together to benefit the working environment and the work hrs are flexible. Great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible experience
Drafter/Designer (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 9, 2018
You are looked down on from the engineers unless your part of the "good ole boys" buddy system. you don't learn anything there at all. I had no ambition to stay there.
Pros
none
Cons
list is too long
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job was that I had opportunities to serve many people in our communities
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 8, 2018
One of the company's goals is to be of service to the people in our communities. There's an annual day of volunteerism in which employees volunteer a day to work in the community.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Parks and Recreation (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 7, 2018
Good, solid company. Good pay, good people to work with. Benefits are good; holiday and vacation pay provided. Leadership wanders from stated mission at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lower Colorado River Authority. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 65 reviews
519
421
314
27
14

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Lower Colorado River Authority Reviews by Location