Lucas Tree Expert Co, Inc Employee Reviews

Found 27 reviews matching the search See all 29 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, decent pay, good coworkers, on the road a lot
Utility Arborist (Former Employee) –  Methuen, MAJune 26, 2018
Typical day varies a lot from time to time and place to place. The company is eager send workers for testing and certifications to expand their employees skill sets. my 1st line supervisors were all pretty good guys. most of the people working there enjoy tree work and are glad to show you new stuff as long as youre not negligent or an idiot. the hardest part of the job is dealing with extreme weather, hot and humid summers, and bitter cold and snowy winters outside year round. that and living on the road for long periods. the most enjoyable part of the job are getting to be out in nature instead of an office while the weather is nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Skowhegan, MEMay 24, 2018
Very good place to work. I worked first shift.I had a great boss and he was very easy going and to get along with as long as we all did our work but it was only temporary.
Pros
Day shift
Cons
alot of walking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ex-groundsmen
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Portland, MEFebruary 1, 2018
Crew staff were variable, some good or OK, others, less so. Pretty crass, bullish, pushy and unkind, at times, and not always helping groundsmen laborer with heavy brush and small trees, challenging ones backs! Small and medium size sapling trees weren't bucked as needed to feed the chipper! This is a legitimate safety concern not addressed by company or others. NOT recommended presently as an employer unless one has an extra strong back, legs, etc.
Cons
Minimal team support to get branches, slash and small trees chipped.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick paced
Chipper/Grinder (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCDecember 11, 2017
Wasn’t a bad job a lot of travel was offered if you wanted it. Average pay for starters which wasn’t a problem if you liked what you did there was potential in the company
Pros
Good exercise
Cons
Out of town work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be preparedto travel
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, NHNovember 13, 2017
Had to live out of motels during the week. Insufficent weekly stipends offered to employees. Upper management liked to micromanage supervisors decisions.
Pros
401 K christmas bonus?
Cons
Had to live in motels during work week
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crew team
Groundman (Former Employee) –  Portland, MEAugust 29, 2017
The guys I worked with that where from the area are some of the best people I have ever worked with.The company's regard to Safety is impeccable,safety breifing every three months.
Pros
GOOD people
Cons
freezing your butt off in -20 degrees
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company
Foreman (Former Employee) –  ConnecticutAugust 11, 2017
BEST company I have ever worked for. If it were not for my shoulders being messed up I would definitely have continued working for them. I love tree work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place to work
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  VirginiaJune 22, 2017
Tired of da wildlife an traveling in different places i wouldn't want nobody to work there da money is good an day do offer you plenty of hours but also da start
Was this review helpful?YesNo 24Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Line clearance arborist (Current Employee) –  Washington, NCJune 20, 2017
Just needing career at home town and be home every day. Lucas tree is a very good company to work for they do try to look out fpr employees. I hate to leave lucas tree but i am needing to be home not working out of town because of beinh simgle father
Pros
Get to see different towns
Cons
Having to travel and be away from home all week
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent job security with oppurtinities to gain a CDL
Bucket Operator/Climber (Former Employee) –  ConnecticutMay 22, 2017
Getting to parking area for the bucket trucks by 7 a.m. Starting your truck you are on and unpinning the truck ( lowering the booms, unlocking side box doors). Driving to job site and positioning truck in an appropriate spot to begin power line clearance work. Operator of said bucket begins trimming or removing the tree(s) based on arborists discretion. Groundsman stack and chip brush that is dropped by aerial lift operator. Repeat for 9 hours.
Pros
Excellent job security
Cons
Very hazardous conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long distance travel, weather conditions
Groundman (Former Employee) –  Belfast, MEMay 9, 2017
Learned how to operate a wood chipper and very little chainsaw training.
Traveled 1 1/2 every day to job site and home.
Weather conditions made it difficult some times.
Pros
45+ hours
Cons
Minimum base pay, long travel, bad weather
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to be employed by
Arborist Trainee (Former Employee) –  Portland, MEFebruary 15, 2017
Lucas Tree Experts is a great company to work for. The pay is better than my previous jobs and the hours are far more than I thought it was going to be. They also have great benefits that.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work in the office.
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Falmouth, MEFebruary 2, 2017
Do not accept a position working in the Falmouth office.
The drama and favoritism are out of control. Management is extraordinarily unprofessional. There is gossiping, whispering, backstabbing and brown-nosing. The politics and infighting made the meager pay and benefits not worth it.
Pros
You will be paid on time.
Cons
Your mental health may suffer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Line clearance arborist (Current Employee) –  MaineJanuary 28, 2017
Physical demands are high , pay is good , plenty of room for advancement..
Company pays for licenses needed to advance . Great maintenance on equipment weekly..
Very safe place to work.Co-workers are great! . Many different districts spread over New England Easy on travel.
I've been there for years now and if you are willing to work hard you will do extremely well and progress fairly quickly..
Pros
Lots of money to be made
Cons
Can interupt vaca' holidays ext..For storm calls
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Groundskeeper (Former Employee) –  Barnwell, SCJanuary 8, 2017
Good company to work for on a off the job this job will help, I learned about all different types of trees they even gave me cpr training
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get what you can from them and leave.
Groundsman (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SCSeptember 22, 2016
Groundman, South Carolina district.

The basics:

Typical day was from 6:30am-4pm (we stopped really working around 2:30 though)

$12/hr for 45/hr work week with 30 min lunch - all groundsmen are paid that, regardless of experience.

If you're on a "production team", you as a groundman will throw brush into the wood chipper basically all day. If you are on a "T&M team", you will probably do a lot of nothing.

Pros:

-You get to work outside and enjoy the beautiful day.

-Weekends are optional.

-You have overtime essentially every week.

-Co workers are pretty relaxed

-Good job for someone fresh out of prison, colorful backgrounds, need a job to keep the lights on.

-Not a difficult job to understand, just physically strenuous.

-You can make a lot of money during storm watch.

-Lack of workers in the SC area, so if you have a hard time behaving in or outside work, they will give you multiple chances before firing you because no one wants to do this job for the pay they give, so they kind of work with what they got because they need the man labor.

-You can get your CDL paid for by them, and then leave the company when the time is right to make more money doing something way less physically demanding.


Cons:
- You work outside and are exposed to the burning sun, mosquitos, chiggers, spiders and fire ants will bite you daily and you will come home with new bites on your body almost always. Bug spray is provided, but then the sun rays make your skin burn worse while you wear it.

-The trees often whip you when you throw them into the
  more... chipper, so prepare to bleed.

- You will sweat a lot and almost all the trucks have no AC in them. A few do, but a majority of them just have heat as an option. You can roll the windows down, but when you are driving, there is zero air flow that hits you, so it doesn't matter that you have windows down.

-If you're not a smoker, be prepared to inhale a lot of smoke because many workers smoke inside the truck (even though it's not allowed)

-You can make $14/hr if you went to a smaller tree company as a groundsman doing way less work.

- If you're into drugs, they fire for failing a urine test.

- Storm watch is almost mandatory.
  less
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Utility Tree Care Company
Manager (Former Employee) –  South CarolinaMarch 26, 2016
Overall Lucas is a good company. There is room for improvement with branches who support operations, and in the length of the hiring process.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Groundsman (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNApril 29, 2015
work starts at 7am ends at 530, M-F. company struggles for clients and management cant agree on daily out put. workers feel unappreciated for what they do as well
Pros
Being outdoors
Cons
Weather permitted operations, lack of true advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good steady paycheck/ career
foreman/bucket truck operator (Former Employee) –  Portland, MEFebruary 4, 2015
chip lots of brush. lerned a lot of the basics of tree work here . management needs improving . coworkers some of the best i've had . peoples attitude was the worst when it cames to work. got to travel and see some really nice things and meet some real cool people.
Pros
insureance
Cons
work no matter what.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Typical day at Lucas Tree Experts and Life
Arborist Trainee (Current Employee) –  Portland, MEOctober 30, 2014
Physically demanding. Workday starts by arriving at the truck by 630 am and getting it ready for the day. we get to our worksite and we work until 430 pm Monday through Friday and occasionally Saturday's for some overtime. I learned a lot here. I started with no experience and since then i have learned a very lot about the tree care industry. My foreman is a good teacher, and he gives me the opportunity's to grow on both a personal, and professional level. A good company yo work for overall!
Pros
Physically demanding, good atmosphere
Cons
outside in all weather, long days if you have never dont this kind of work before.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lucas Tree Expert Co, Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 29 reviews
55
49
310
23
12

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture

Lucas Tree Expert Co, Inc Reviews by Location