Lumber Liquidators Employee Reviews for Store Manager

Found 42 reviews matching the search See all 334 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its like working with a bunch of jackles
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  NEW YORKMarch 25, 2019
When you come in they like to preach the whole "we are a family" policy but when you get in its all cutthroat and backstabbers, other stores will try to straight up steal your sales even the stores in your region, nothing but a bunch of back stabbers sneaky people who will smile in your face and talk bad about you at the first given chance.

The management is all over the place they cant decide what is up and what is down every five minutes they come up with yet another "BRILLIANT IDEA" and they send it down the pipe line to the stores to be worked out while they sit in their offices patting themselves on the back yet they never have to actually do the manual labor, sometimes it takes DAYS to implement these ridiculous changes they want all while they want you to do ALL the other work you have do during the day and do everything perfectly with no flaws or its all kinds of threats thrown around and no matter what you do they feel like your not doing enough and your store is a "failure" if you are not doing exactly what they think you should be doing in their minds, not taking into account that many places are different and every store and every environment is not the same. Also its mandatory to become a telemarketer, so if you don"t like to call and harass people think about another job

The unnecessary 7 day work week is another downer MON-SAT ok but on Sundays the stores are a desert wasteland and the store ends the day in the red 98% of the time it is so unnecessary to be open at times your usually just paying staff to sit around in silence, they don't really care about
  more... the employees all they care about is the bottom dollar which i guess is natural in retail but they take it to a whole other level its almost cult like how they talk and preach the LL sermon.

they say the pay is competitive but they base that on country living they are based in the south so they feel that the wages they pay are fair everywhere which is asinine to say the least anyhow you live in a big city you can't survive off of what they pay even the managers, there's times that the regular associates can make more than the managers after overtime, which is rare I admit because the managers aren't allowed to give any overtime even in a store that's open 7 DAYS A WEEK 12 HRS A DAY oh yeah WITH A 3-4 PERSON STAFF sounds impossible ???? well that's what they wanted and if you didn't follow the rules you were reprimanded and written up AS A MANAGER!!!! People were hired and fired so much with this company from week to week you could have an entirely different work staff and you can be severely short handed in the time of looking for new hires that you in turn have to train so they are no real good to you for a month or so after starting if ever, so sometimes managers have to be there exceeding 60 hours some weeks WITH NO OVERTIME PAY!!!! Its already MANDATORY to work 50+ hours and if your short staffed you have to pick up the slack so forget your home life and your family.... but i digress i could type a book about how bad this place is to work for but i think you get the point.... all in all just stay away from this place if you know whats good for you.
  less
Pros
they have OK benefits
Cons
The whole work experience and the job itself
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work for but the hours aren't the best
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  West Hatfield, MADecember 27, 2018
Decent place to work for but the hours aren't the best. If you work your butt off you can move up in the company within a few years. If you have the opportunity to work there, it is a 50/50 chance you will like it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally Poor
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CADecember 23, 2018
LL ended my relationship as a manager a couple of days after I reported that our installer had defrauded clients, and LL began crediting accounts. Not a legit reason to terminate an employee.
Pros
No standards of performance
Cons
Corrupt and lazy management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Hard, play hard
Retail Store Manager (Current Employee) –  ColoradoSeptember 25, 2018
I really don't want to submit a review. I am doing this because i have been forced to. I feel that this is not appropriate, and wish there was a way I could have opted out.
Pros
Healthcare benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very faced paced. Too many customers with not enough employees.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Tigard, ORAugust 31, 2018
Faced paced job. Only 4-5 employees at each store with over 300 active customers at any time. Not enough employees to help all the customers. Pay check every week was nice. Having a sales plan and achieving that was a fun part of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCAugust 28, 2018
Operating a retail business from Open to close. Inventory management. Employee management. warehouse management, good support staff from corporate. great to get started in a flooring career
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and work atmosphere. Terrible upper management
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCAugust 26, 2018
I worked at LL for close to 4+ years. Started as a asm2 and worked my way up to Store manager(In a relatively short amount of time). The work atmosphere and camaraderie between employees from store to store was great. I really enjoyed the upper management(Regional Manager) in the earlier years of my employment. They were always there to do store visits to lend a helping hand in any time of need. As the company grew (too fast for its own good) the original upper management slowly diminished due to unrealistic demands and new uppers were hard to get along with. They always seemed to be aggravated or bothered when help was needed. The stores rarely close, and the work/life balance is horrible. Store managers are ran into the ground and overworked. The ASM1, ASM2, and warehouse workers are underpaid yet benefits are competitive.
Pros
Good benefits and work atmosphere
Cons
Not-so great upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company, have to be patient to get promoted.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TX 78230August 1, 2018
you have to know your strengths and weakness. There is room for advancement and you are paid well to advance. You are everything when you are a manger, human resources, inventory specialist, merchandiser.installation manager. You are asked to wear many hats.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture and excellent upper management
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  OhioJuly 26, 2018
Lumber Liquidators is a great company to work for. They teach you everything about hardwood floors and their products are great and fairly priced. Work life balance for managers is pretty rough though. That balance is the only strike against this great company.
Pros
Excellent pay and benefits.
Cons
Work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 21, 2018
Although pay and benefits are good, cooperate culture needs revisiting. Healthy competition is not promoted and stores are very cut throat with each other, which diminishes team morale.
Pros
Good pay snd benifits
Cons
No team spirit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lumber interview
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIMay 6, 2018
Lumber is a great place to work. It is customer service based, long hours and can be stressful but if you have a wonderful Regional Manager (like I have) it will be so rewarding. It takes time and effort to create a great store and hire appropriate assistants. You need to be able to spend 50+ hours a week there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced retail company.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Bolingbrook, ILApril 17, 2018
I manged the staff on a daily basis and wrote the weekly schedule.. I also assisted customers for stock and special order product. I ordered the the product for the warehouse while monitoring the inventory levels and helped with expediting daily customer deliveries.
Pros
Mercahandise discounts and learned the Flooring business.
Cons
The product availablity could have been better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best was never enough
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  NYMarch 29, 2018
As a store manager, you were constantly pushed to hit higher and higher numbers based on the company wanting to grow, even if the market could not sustain the increase in sales plan.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Sales Enviroment
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAMarch 2, 2018
Good company to work for. Pay is where it needs to be and benefits are very good. Mental and physical aspects of the job. Requires lifting and loading. Also must be able to interact with people and have a knowledgeable base for flooring materials.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  CADecember 18, 2017
Not a good work/Life balance. Store managers work on average 60 Hrs. per week, with no overtime. No opportunity for promotion after reaching the Store Manager Level. Upper management have no idea the amount of work that gets put on the Store associates, with only 3 people to a store. A lot of the time you run a store alone, and the company gets upset if you don't have new orders, or if certain tasks are not completed. They expect store mangers to stay after hours to complete tasks, because during business hours you are assisting customers. Horrible work/life balance. IF YOU ARE SINGLE WITH NO KIDS AND WANT A LIFE THAT REVOLVES AROUND WORK THIS IS THE JOB FOR YOU. Even on my days off, I am constantly getting phone calls and text messages from my employer, ON MY DAY OFF. Once I was promoted to store manager, there is no other advancement opportunities in my home town. I would have to move in order to make more money with this company. Stuck with no pay increase and no advancement opportunities after being employed by this company for 2 years. IT took 2 years to reach the highest level I can be at with this company, without moving my family to another city a couple hours away or state.
Pros
Decent Pay/ Great Benifiets
Cons
Work/Life balance, no promotion.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good unity in stores. High paying high stress job.
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, IASeptember 27, 2017
Lumber Liquidators is your basic retail environment. The pay is god, but that comes with responsibilities and stresses as well. It is a job plain and simple.
Pros
Pay, benefits.
Cons
Hard to get PTO if youre a store manager, high stress. A lot of confusing direction for corporate
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here if in the northwest
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WASeptember 18, 2017
This company is impossible to work for was a manager in Seattle market. If you like to work in flooring there are better companies. The upper management is no leaders but more party people. The install manager knows nothing about floor and does not help at all. Time with family is not an option. I almost ended up divorced because of this company.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Anthony
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAAugust 15, 2017
A good honest job where you work hard and meet good people. The actual work was satisfying. Micro management has become a strong issue and makes what shouldnt be a complicated job just that. Complicated. Benefits are very good, but not strong enough to keep for long term.
Pros
Great benefits, honest hard work
Cons
Micro management beyond what is necessary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great potential if you can get staffed
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 18, 2017
Company has went through recent obstacles and is still trying to recover. There is great potential for a someone willing to put in the hours to try and change the culture and reputation of the company. The biggest issue across the company is staffing. Getting staffed accordingly and staying staffed is one of the hardest things to do with this company. The PTO is decent the medical benefits are outstanding and it has the potential to be a great job for a great company; if you're willing to wait. This is a company in the making still, learning to make SOP's and follow process improvements while trying to attract and retain talent still remains the biggest hurdle they have to overcome.
Pros
Benefits, Pto
Cons
Staffing turnover company wide
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Retail Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Somewhere in the CountryApril 17, 2017
Pay is great for no experience coming in, store managers are meant to work 55+ hours a week and sometimes extended hours are suddenly brought upon the team. If you have a good team your job will be fun if not expect not to be a fun job. RM's come around frequent and have changes to changes that were mentioned last visit. Everything is scripted and that continues to change and change and change. Enjoyed my time here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lumber Liquidators. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 334 reviews
560
4105
396
240
133

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture