Lutheran Family Services of Nebraska, Inc Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Things May Have Changed
Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEAugust 7, 2019
I am very skeptical and a bit hesitant to give the review that I want to give, however what I will say is that when I made a decision to leave the company they were in the process of hiring a new CEO (which was very necessary) and since then I have not heard any updates but I my sincere hope is that things have made a huge change for the better and programs are being ran in honesty and with genuine hearts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lutheran Family Services
Licensed Professional Counselor (Former Employee) –  Kearney, NEApril 10, 2019
Good overall work envirnment. A typical workday was relaxed. A lot of referral development. Provided individual and family counseling. In the end, they cut my position to downsize
Pros
make my own hours
Cons
evening and weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
ESL Teacher (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEMarch 12, 2019
It is a great place to work but more importantly, the job we do is essential.
It was good to be able to work with a diverse group of students and co-workers
The pay was very fair.
Pros
students
Cons
not coneected to main office
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A terrific mission, terrific place to work.
Staff (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NENovember 21, 2018
Although I've been employed less than 1 year, there appears to be a transparent culture from the top down and I feel appreciated. Financially, the non-profit world is difficult however it's not just LFS. We don't do it entirely for the money!
Pros
Flexible, open door policy, transparent
Cons
Not unlike other career positions, it can be stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Billing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEJune 8, 2017
This is a great company to work for. All the providers and managers really care about the people they help. There is job security with the company. Overall great company and people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of Nebraska's oldest non-profits.
Grant Writer and Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEFebruary 5, 2017
Lutheran Family Services of Nebraska (LFS) is one of Nebraska 's oldest human services non-profits. It began as an orphanage and now its programs support Children's Services, Community Services (such as refugee placement and resettlement) and Mental Health Services.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping people
Volunteer Management and HR Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEDecember 7, 2016
I attend many recruitment events for the organization regarding employment, volunteering and intern and practicum fairs. Our organization has been around for 124 years and I enjoy hearing stories from professionals and community members about how LFS has impacted them or a family member.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, but rewarding
Management (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEOctober 17, 2014
My experience at LFS has been interesting. The people are great and are truely passionate about the work that they do. I hope to see this company continue to expand and be successful. There are certain drawbacks about this company though. Since LFS is so focused on its expansion, employees are sometimes on the receiving end of layoff desicions and funding cuts.
Pros
Benefits are better than most other non-profits
Cons
Pay is lower than market average
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work with
Volunteer Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJune 17, 2014
Since helping others is my first choice, I enjoyed all the activities this organization was doing. It has a nicer work place and better work schedule with great benefits for regular employees.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Did not have enough fund to help needy people and refugees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with the therapists and it was a multi-tasking job.
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEApril 28, 2012
Open office and be ready for business at 8:00.
Enter Demographic information into Profiler program.
Mail letters.
Make daily deposits.
Answer phones and greet clients.
Enter charge card payments.
Filing and putting new files together for each client.
Call for repair on machines, computers and phones.

I learned to be respectful of all clients. I learned how to get along with co-workers. I worked with co-workers as a team.

I had an on-site supervisor and an Office Manager at another office. They were wonderful.

The hardest part of my job was working most of Mondays by myself. It was always a busy day and we had several groups to check in during the day and night. .

The most enjoyable job was working with my co-workers and the clients.
Pros
friendship with co-workers
Cons
sometimes clients were threatening.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lutheran Family Services of Nebraska, Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 11 reviews
52
45
32
22
10

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture

Lutheran Family Services of Nebraska, Inc Reviews by Location