Lyft Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to make extra cash
Driver (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CANovember 19, 2017
Not so great to work long term, lyft is good to make extra cash but not to work for years, very stressful and you work as a independent contractor , meaning you have to save for your taxes or you're screwed...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and Imperfect. Great "Side-Hustle"!
Self Employed Driver (Current Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXNovember 19, 2017
Very flexible. You are your own boss. But that boss doesn't pay you a penny when you are sick. Or your car is being serviced.

You have amazing conversations that last as long as the trip does. Then they are over for life, really. Driving the same person a second time - in a large city - is exceedingly rare.
Pros
Flexible, fun, challenging
Cons
zero benefits, no sick pay, "perks" seem to be aimed at the yachting class....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love to drive
Lyft Driver (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 17, 2017
You have to be people person this job and love to drive. Getting the opportunities to drive around learning new location around the metro Atlanta and new eating place.
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Driver (Current Employee) –  Hampton Roads, VANovember 15, 2017
Job allows me to work when I want. Lyft pairs me with like riders so my experience is never tampered with. Instant pay up to five times daily. It’s been a pleasure, friendly people, and great feedback time.
Pros
Freedom, pay
Cons
It could be a lot of driving beyond peak hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at own pace, work whenever you want; at the click of a button.
Transporter (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXNovember 15, 2017
Typical day at work
: Could be just leaving from my house press my Online button and sometimes it could be that instant I need to jet off- or it could be 5 mins from that moment I pressed ONLINE. Every day is so different And honestly that's what made it so fun. Adventures awaited me on the daily.
Pros
Break or lunch at any moment after dropping off a client.
Cons
have to find your own restroom- Gas stations, Restaurants, ect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it! Switch from Uber
Driver (Former Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 15, 2017
I had the honor to Drive their Manager Tyler, and he was an amazing human being. It says a lot about a company you represent by the person leading it. The passengers that take lyft difer from the ones that take Uber.
Pros
Free activities! Driver care package
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
With lyft i can travel from city to city
Lyft driver (Current Employee) –  Moreno Valley, CANovember 15, 2017
Great service thats affordable to customers I get to meet great people and network. Driving is my passion and I love what I do. I will continue on with lyft
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Endless opportunity if you have time and a good vehicle
Rideshare Driver (Current Employee) –  Inland Empire, CANovember 14, 2017
Working with Lyft is actually great, mostly because of the great customers I've had the opportunity to interact with. If you have the availability to drive and have a good car...you will never have to worry about income ever again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente empresa
Driver (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLNovember 14, 2017
Buen ambiente de trabajo, pago competitivo y especial atención a sus empleados.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Impossible to make a living!
Driver (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 14, 2017
I worked day and night and after fees, car maintenance, and gas, I made very little. $20/hour?! HA... This is fraudulent and misleading advertising to get drivers on-board. You have to work yourself to the point of exhaustion to make even a decent salary. Lyft is a horrible horrible company.
Pros
Your own schedule...
Cons
You make very little money and exhaust yourself putting you and others in danger!
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool way to make extra money
Driver (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CANovember 13, 2017
Don't quit a regular job to drive for lyft if you need s consistent check.
You really have to put in more then 8 hours a day 5 times a week to see any kind of real payout.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
inconsistent
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Part Time
DRIVER (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 11, 2017
days can be long or short depending on your goals and time of day you decide to drive. Very flexible, you decide when you want to make some extra money.
Pros
Flexible, Discounts, Bonus Opportunities
Cons
not Consistent, no compensation on wasted time and gas
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Side Job
Driver (Current Employee) –  Denver, CONovember 11, 2017
Easy way to make some extra cash on the side. Would not consider it for full time unless you put in the effort to make some "usual" customers. Better when there are known events going on, so it pays to keep up with everything going on in town.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Driver (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 11, 2017
Lyft is a great opportunity when all else fail and an excellent way to make ends meet. Work around your own schedule and set your own expectations. Perfect for a social person.
Pros
The ability to make as much as you like and working around your schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not having job security
Driver (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 9, 2017
the lyft system deactivete good driver very easy. when you work hard and very respectful if you do small fault you shouid be deactivate in the driver mode.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and crazy
Independent Driver/ Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 9, 2017
You truly are your own boss. you set your hours and days you decide to work. you only answer to your passengers your bills and family. The open road is your office. How can you beat that.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lyft was fun
Independent Contractor (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PANovember 9, 2017
There's not much to say about a forward-thinking rideshare service. They pay well, lots of people to pick up, and you meet a lot of different people. As long as you have the patience and tolerance for driving in the city, you'll have a lot of fun. And you'll drive almost anywhere. Hardest part about the job is when you get passengers that are uncooperative and backseat drive. Or tell you when the GPS is wrong. But the best part is making people happy simply by doing your job. All in all, its worth it for a second job.
Pros
Time off whenever you want
Cons
Need to own your own car
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Enough Advancement
Taxi Driver (Current Employee) –  Denver, CONovember 8, 2017
Working for Lyft is good in the sense of being able to work when you want to. However, advancement is lacking and the pay is less than what it was years ago. Also, you have to pay for the expenses for your car so it is necessary to make at least an additional 500-700 a month just to cover those expenses.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Pay, advancement, insurance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my driving
Driver (Current Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 8, 2017
To achieve a corporate level career by utilizing my skill as an innovator, a diplomat
,a decision maker ..............................................
Was this review helpful?YesNo 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work invirement
Independent Contractor-Driver (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CA 94107November 7, 2017
Independent work space. Varied customer base from all walks and avenues in life. Great conversations on all subject matters. Operate my own vehicle, my work starts and stops as I see fit.
Pros
Meeting people.
Cons
Heavy traffic
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lyft. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 831 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.3
Culture
3.8