Lyft Culture reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
With lyft i can travel from city to city
Lyft driver (Current Employee) –  Moreno Valley, CANovember 15, 2017
Great service thats affordable to customers I get to meet great people and network. Driving is my passion and I love what I do. I will continue on with lyft
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving customers
Lyft Driver (Current Employee) –  Gilbert, AZOctober 20, 2017
Driving customers daily,
No benefits
No management
Hardest part is angry customers
Easy part customers enjoying themselves
I can work as many hours as i want
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at will
Lyft Driver (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles County, CAOctober 19, 2017
I worked on my own
Learn to give an account of my daily routine
Management was good to work for
Great diverse culture
Early morning start time
I loved the Paydys
Pros
Lunch as you want
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its fun
Driver (Current Employee) –  Denver, COOctober 12, 2017
I like that you can work when you want and however long you want. Don't have to ask for the day off. Really easy to work and get off work. deal with customers a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and productive job
Driver (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNSeptember 25, 2017
I find that working for Lyft is fun, rewarding and well worth driving for the company. I spend time talking, laughing, conversating, and having fun with each passenger. My passengers talk about everything to me whether it's about there love life or politics. The diversity of people makes the drive well worth the time and money. This is something I love to do because I'm such a peoples person. My passengers love to do car pool karaoke.
Pros
Lyft provides us with free car washes, $7 off oil changes, free ice cream and donuts. Provides a spot for the drivers to hang out on Thursday nights.
Cons
Sometimes when you are driving none stop it's hard to stop to use the restroom or get gas
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like having fun while working lyft is it
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Hampton, VASeptember 16, 2017
Pick your own schedule
laid back work atmosphere
Management are friendly
Modern Fun workplace culture
Relaxed dressed code
Self displine
Office style setup
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and exciting job
Driver (Former Employee) –  Michigan Ctr, MISeptember 16, 2017
Fun,interesting job,meet new and great friendly people,flexibility of the job,is awesome. It's a good job for college and retired folks looking for something to do,in there off time.
Pros
Meet new and interesting people
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping society get around
Ride Share Experience Driver (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CASeptember 14, 2017
Not as competitive or fast-paced as uber, lyft is as well a very fun sociable job experience. A chance to provide help to those in need of ride and an excellent way to be your own boss!
Cons
Slow at times, not as profitable as uber
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lyft is a great job
Lyft driver (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVSeptember 7, 2017
Lyft is a great job with a lot of opportunity for the drivers. The mangers are nice the riders are polite and its a fun environment to work in. You also get to meet great people along the way.
Pros
Work on your own time.
Cons
Not enough ride request
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to drive for
Lyft Driver (Former Employee) –  Bay Area San Francisco CaliforniaSeptember 6, 2017
Picked up customers and drove them to their drop off location 15 to 20 trips a day drove everywhere in the Bay Area interaction with my customers was a plus for the job a typical day I will start at 8 in the morning and finish at 8 at night workplace culture was good the hardest part of the job was driving in traffic and trying to reach a location for the customer on time workplace culture was good the most fun part of the job was interaction with my customers
Pros
Driver bonus after so many rides
Cons
The up-and-down of pickup sometimes slow sometimes busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Transporter (Former Employee) –  FloridaSeptember 5, 2017
It pretty much fun working for lyft your be your own boss it's fun job. I like doing it during my time off from my other job. The thing i like about it you is your own boss you can work anytime you want.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver for Lyft
Driver (Independent Contractor) (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 25, 2017
Lyft is very fun and independent. You meet lots of interesting people and set your own hours. The more you work, the better the pay. You also get to interact with other Lyft/Uber drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
DRIVER (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 24, 2017
I love driving for lyft.... Love meeting new ppl and the environment is wonderful... Great schedule flexibility is great... Im my own boss and im loving it the money is nice and im very satisfied
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love every minute
Driver (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 22, 2017
A great job for people how love to drive, who love the city like myself wonderful pay each week, able to meet new people everyday, great for part timers awesome for the go getters
Pros
Outdoors, you're the boss, choose your schedule
Cons
Maintaining your car, the traffic, the road hazards of Los Angeles
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as greedy as Uber
Driver (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 19, 2017
Rush hours, weekend overnights and special events are the only times you will make any money. If you are using your personal car, be prepared for maintenance costs and interruptions. It's great for meeting new people. Beware rushing around and don't be a statistic because you will see many accidents. Some fatal and very scary. The Lyft team is very cool, though. I like what the company stands for, they just need to pay more. That's the bottom line. Overall, not worth it for your time and destruction of your car.
Pros
Corporate culture
Cons
ruin your car, dangerous
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job with flexible would be an excellent secondary income
Lyft Driver (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 19, 2017
Great Work environment if you enjoy driving around and Meeting new people! You work whenever you want and make your own schedule! The hardest part is budgeting expenses and taxes. Overall I would recommend as a part time job
Pros
Work at your own pace and great flexibility
Cons
1099 tax forms and setting taxes a side yourself
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver
Driver (Current Employee) –  Victorville, CAAugust 19, 2017
I like being mt own boss. I have the opportunity to work When i want but i need a second job with benefits. This is a very fun job getting to drive to new places meet new people very exciting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work experience meeting people and learning navigational skills
Driver (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 16, 2017
It's a Great company to work as long as you keep your car up to date on everything and don't drive aimlessly . Fun getting to know different people personalities and learning different cultures. Also you learn your surroundings very fast.
Pros
Discounts on everyday activities
Cons
Wear and tear on car
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Driver (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAAugust 3, 2017
Very good place to work. The people are very understanding and helpful. Pay is good and also the benefits are good as well. I love the hours that I work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and relaxing work environment.
Driver (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJuly 26, 2017
Driving for Lyft has been a positive experience. Nine out of ten customers are great! The few negative rides are usually someone who is just having a bad day anyway. Usually, I am able to improve their day by being friendly and listening.
Pros
My schedule
Cons
Rating system (from customers)
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lyft. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 831 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.3
Culture
3.8