Lyft Work-Life Balance reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love to drive
Lyft Driver (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 17, 2017
You have to be people person this job and love to drive. Getting the opportunities to drive around learning new location around the metro Atlanta and new eating place.
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at own pace, work whenever you want; at the click of a button.
Transporter (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXNovember 15, 2017
Typical day at work
: Could be just leaving from my house press my Online button and sometimes it could be that instant I need to jet off- or it could be 5 mins from that moment I pressed ONLINE. Every day is so different And honestly that's what made it so fun. Adventures awaited me on the daily.
Pros
Break or lunch at any moment after dropping off a client.
Cons
have to find your own restroom- Gas stations, Restaurants, ect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Impossible to make a living!
Driver (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 14, 2017
I worked day and night and after fees, car maintenance, and gas, I made very little. $20/hour?! HA... This is fraudulent and misleading advertising to get drivers on-board. You have to work yourself to the point of exhaustion to make even a decent salary. Lyft is a horrible horrible company.
Pros
Your own schedule...
Cons
You make very little money and exhaust yourself putting you and others in danger!
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Side Job
Driver (Current Employee) –  Denver, CONovember 11, 2017
Easy way to make some extra cash on the side. Would not consider it for full time unless you put in the effort to make some "usual" customers. Better when there are known events going on, so it pays to keep up with everything going on in town.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Driver (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 11, 2017
Lyft is a great opportunity when all else fail and an excellent way to make ends meet. Work around your own schedule and set your own expectations. Perfect for a social person.
Pros
The ability to make as much as you like and working around your schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not having job security
Driver (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 9, 2017
the lyft system deactivete good driver very easy. when you work hard and very respectful if you do small fault you shouid be deactivate in the driver mode.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and crazy
Independent Driver/ Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 9, 2017
You truly are your own boss. you set your hours and days you decide to work. you only answer to your passengers your bills and family. The open road is your office. How can you beat that.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lyft was fun
Independent Contractor (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PANovember 9, 2017
There's not much to say about a forward-thinking rideshare service. They pay well, lots of people to pick up, and you meet a lot of different people. As long as you have the patience and tolerance for driving in the city, you'll have a lot of fun. And you'll drive almost anywhere. Hardest part about the job is when you get passengers that are uncooperative and backseat drive. Or tell you when the GPS is wrong. But the best part is making people happy simply by doing your job. All in all, its worth it for a second job.
Pros
Time off whenever you want
Cons
Need to own your own car
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work invirement
Independent Contractor-Driver (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CA 94107November 7, 2017
Independent work space. Varied customer base from all walks and avenues in life. Great conversations on all subject matters. Operate my own vehicle, my work starts and stops as I see fit.
Pros
Meeting people.
Cons
Heavy traffic
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Convenient
Driver (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 6, 2017
Working for Lyft is a very good opportunity to make extra money in your spare time. It allows you to Meet new people, make Connections, and make money whenever you want.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work if you're tired of Corporate life
Driver (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 6, 2017
Overall driving for lyft is worth it! Not having a set schedule and having the freedom to come and go as I please has allowed me to travel more than ever! I recommend it for anyone who can deal with the public, looking to make a decent income and get out of the rat race! This is one of those things you get out of it what you put in!
Pros
Freedom
Cons
Can be slow at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving for Lyft
Owner driver (Current Employee) –  SF, CANovember 1, 2017
It is a place were you are your own boss and that provides a lot of freedom something that most of us are looking for so I will recommend it to anybody looking for a part time or full time. If you put the hours you can make the 6 figures.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your own Boss
Driver (Current Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAOctober 30, 2017
Starting Lyft was a bit spectral but being your own boss means you make the hours, So you're in control and that personally makes me feel good.
But if you don't work you don't make money.
Pros
Make Own hours
Cons
you dont work equals no money
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Lyft Driver (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 30, 2017
Improved driving skills.
Increased the level of knowledge of English.
Practiced communication with clients.
Long hours in traffic.
Stressful job
New experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
yea
Driver (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYOctober 28, 2017
its an ok place to work for if you don't mind having to work long hours to make a living.....I don't know much about the office life but would like to.....if lyft would let me work in the office that would be cool.....
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Competitive
Driver (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 27, 2017
Is a very competitive job there are tons of cars on the road looking to do the same thing you are. So basically it’s about knowing the area and also knowing the times to be out on the road.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Driver (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 26, 2017
love meeting and interacting with new people in every ride that i provide. theres nothing hard at all about working with lyft, you are your own boss so you decide how your day goes and stop whenever you dont want to work anymore for the day.
Pros
i am my own boss
Cons
traffic
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun workplace
Driver (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 25, 2017
I love driving cars and trucks. So when I started at lyft I love the job very fast. I make my own hour. I also determine how much money I make every week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at will
Lyft Driver (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles County, CAOctober 19, 2017
I worked on my own
Learn to give an account of my daily routine
Management was good to work for
Great diverse culture
Early morning start time
I loved the Paydys
Pros
Lunch as you want
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Misleading Advertising
Driver (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 19, 2017
You will not make $35 per hour, is a lie and it is misleading advertising (what I call a form or bullying people). If you want to make them money go ahead and work for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 10Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lyft. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 831 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.3
Culture
3.8