M.C. Dean, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 177 reviews matching the search See all 187 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work
Electrician Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Oldsmar, FLMarch 20, 2019
good job, new cutting edge systems, good people, I really did/do like it there. Field personal are respectful, office life is wonderful from what others have said
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2nd largest electrical company in nation
Electrician Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 8, 2019
great company to get your start in electrical. they start your apprenticeship and pay for your school. plenty of room for competent electricians to move up.
Pros
lots of work and room for growth
Cons
too micromanaged
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Worker 1 (Former Employee) –  Dulles, VAFebruary 25, 2019
M.C. Dean is one of the best companies that I ever worked for The employees and management staff is very caring and look out for each other. Way to go
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work environment very helpful co workers
Electrical Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Miami Beach, FLFebruary 21, 2019
The benefits are great the pay is great the job keeps you busy there’s always overtime the management is very helpful and supportive there are raises every Six months
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard worker
Electrician Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Henrico, VAFebruary 19, 2019
Good job that have good benefits but it was temporary and a good job love all my crew members like family we got paid weekly and love everything bout this job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Racist towards African Americans...
Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 27, 2019
This company is terrible! They don’t value you at all. I was an apprentice with no prior electrical experience and was treated as if I should have known things that I didn’t. They show favoritism to the white boys. This company is the worst in the DC area and honestly shouldn’t be awarded anymore contracts because of they way they treat people. Management was rude and very unprofessional. This was the worst company I have ever worked for in my life...
Pros
The pay
Cons
Everything except the pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent office to work in and company to work for
BIM Specialist (Former Employee) –  Sterling, VAJanuary 26, 2019
I learned all of m BIM skills with this company . skills I will be able to use in any office need BIM

I would refer them to anyone seeking employment in the electrical and civil industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is an amazing experience
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Inwood, WVJanuary 24, 2019
The company has amazing advancement capabilities
Long hours but worth it in the long run
Supervisors were actually easy to get along with as were the employees
Would love to work for them again
Pros
Hours and advancement, travel for work
Cons
Travel for work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is a good place to work
Electrical Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Lake Nona, FLJanuary 10, 2019
i have enjoy the time i been there, i really like the way they help you to learn basically from nothing to master, even pay for your electrical classes, overtime is frequent and optional so is no pressure, 401k matches 33%, vision, health and dental insurance after 60 days of work, death insurance. that the pay for an apprentice by experience:
12.24=1000 hrs
13.36=2000 hrs
14.48=3000 hrs
15.60=4000 hrs
16.72=5000 hrs
17.84=6000 hrs
18.96=7000 hrs
20.08=8000 hrs
After those hours and going to the school which they pay for you, you can get a journeyman license(you gotta complete 144 hrs annually going to the school) Good Luck;)
Pros
free breaks
Cons
work places
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Industrial/Commercial Electrician (Former Employee) –  Tysons Corner, VAJanuary 9, 2019
Positions available and you working all kinds of different environments from government facilities, private sectors, they give you a lot of opportunity to work overtime.
Pros
Unlimited income
Cons
You have to travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aggressive Company
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 10, 2018
This company expects a large amount of effort from all of their employees, however will compensate accordingly. Great for improving existing skillset.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drove far away from home to work
Crew Leader/ Master Electrician (Former Employee) –  Dulles, VANovember 15, 2018
Drove long distances to go to work, and no compensation for that. Couldn't move up because I was good at my job and they did not wanted me to move up because of that.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding company
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Dulles, VANovember 3, 2018
Very professional company focused on growth and being at the cutting edge of the industry. Project management requires very long hours, including weekends, often working for very difficult clients. Stress level is high. Employees are the best of the best - hard working, experts in their fields, and great people.
Pros
Great compensation and benefits package
Cons
Long hours; difficult clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive company
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 23, 2018
excellent people to work with and in a productive environment at the site of the project. the company is very well administrated in all aspects. planing and schedule at the site of construction has been very good and when a schedule time of completion is set they do comply even when working overtime to complete its dead line.
Pros
excellent management
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rough company to work for
Manager (Former Employee) –  Dulles, VAOctober 19, 2018
This is a privately owned company with no regard for anyone that works there. Everyone is made to feel they are replaceable.

The work culture and environment is very aggressive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Electrician and Fire Alarm Technician (Former Employee) –  GeorgiaSeptember 13, 2018
It was a great experience. I was able to not only grow as a electrician but also as a fire alarm tech. I was able to get my NICET level 1 and 2 there.
Pros
Career advancement
Cons
Poor upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work and will train
Electronic Technician II (Current Employee) –  Washington/Metro, DCAugust 31, 2018
Operations run well, at times everyone is not on the same sheet of music about how a task needs to be completed, which makes for a lot of work being re-done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MC Dean
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Dulles, VAAugust 7, 2018
MC Dean is a challenging place to work with tough deadlines and expectations but it is a good company that invests in its employees. The hours are long for the management team and layoffs occur when funding drops.
Pros
training is provided at the company's expense
Cons
Hours are long and jobs are based on funding level
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just no
Electronic Technician (Current Employee) –  Tysons Corner, VAAugust 1, 2018
highly unorganized i would not recommend. they are not good with keeping employees informed and wait until last minute to tell you to travel when needed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fine as long as you had more than 5 year experience
Electrical Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Coppell, TXJuly 27, 2018
M.c. dean was fine but I felt I couldn't give my all at this company if they weren't going to give me alittle back as well. They did not pay very well if had only a couple years of experience but new how to do everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at M.C. Dean, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 187 reviews
563
463
329
217
115

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture