M/I Homes Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical sales environment
New Home Sales Counselor (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 13, 2018
As with many new home sales positions, your approval of your work environment was a direct reflection of your sales. If you did not sales well you did not have a good time. The management did not place a lot of emphasizes on your abilities when it came to promotion though. They only promoted friends and teacher's pets. Many times they were not qualified for the positions.
Pros
If you work hard, you got paid well
Cons
There was no consistency, rules changes to benefit management or managements favorites.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secretary and Receptionist
Secretary and Receptionist (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLAugust 10, 2018
Enjoyed working here. Professional and the houses they built were of good quality. Was always treated fairly. I was able to complete my tasks and went home each day feeling like I accomplished what I set out to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people but long hours are expected
Marketing Communications Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TX 77064June 25, 2018
High stress for making sales quota by the sales team which attributed heightened stress on the one-man marketing team. Corporate leaders were not in-touch with daily activities, but rather accepted what they were told and did not challenge anything.
Pros
Free, up front parking
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company to work for! Very much into team work and customer satisfaction. Love my job!!
Construction Manager (Current Employee) –  North CarolinaAugust 31, 2017
Awesome company! Very much into team work and customer satisfaction. No micro managers. Veru competitive in salary and benefits. Best career move I have made.
Pros
Work environment, support, compensation
Cons
Can require alot of overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Purchasing
Purchasing Agent (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 30, 2017
The culture at M/I is amazing. I have never worked for a company where I could walk in and feel entirely stress free. Even if I had a large workload, I never felt pressure from management.
Pros
Snacks, work/life balance, health insurance, great management
Cons
Nothing that I can think of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be an intern
Digital Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMay 22, 2017
The company is great and they love giving interns a chance. Some of the work may get boring but they won't give you any busy work like filing or anything. They are kind and let you learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Quality Builder
New Homes Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMay 16, 2017
More quality builder. Main focus on customer satisfaction. Nicely structured in and out on the field. Nice benefits and local market share. Professional environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 20Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful work place
Sales/Closing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 22, 2017
love the environment and place i worked at. there is teamwork and corporate is so sweet and helpful. i would recommend anyone to here. a typical day is fast and to the point and no micromanagement
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place I worked at
Loan specialist (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 13, 2016
This was one of the worst places I worked at. Manager hired best friend and played favoritism. Very unprofessional always using profanity I can even say she was recist towards me. I wouldn't recommend this place at all. Not for employment nor for business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 14Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't suggest this organization
Office (Former Employee) –  OfficeJune 30, 2016
Unprofessional all around. No consistency and many people who were "yes men/women" were given positions instead of those who worked hard or had different ideas. Personally was mislead in how they were paying employees. The company isn't competitive with other home builders in any way.
Pros
A pay check
Cons
Poor benefits, inconsistent practices
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company
Office (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 23, 2016
Too many examples of inconsistencies leading to issues. A mind set of "this is how we always did it" will continue to hold them back. Poor executive management who would rather look good than pay their people a better wage. Misleading pay practices and expensive benefits for little coverage; no matching 401K.
Pros
Not many if any.
Cons
Inconsistent, poor decisions, say they have a great culture but it doesn't show anywhere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Construction Manager/Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 2, 2016
Upper management is in constant turn over and there is no structure or focus within the company. Poor land locations and lack luster community development is also a big hinderance. I would not reccommend this company to anyone.
Pros
nice product but poorly executed
Cons
middle management is very inexperienced
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy Demands
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHDecember 6, 2015
Very rewarding, and power driven culture. I built over 600 homes over my years with M/I Homes, also worked on television Show Extreme Home MakeOver with M/I Homes.
Pros
Money and perks
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, work/life balanced
Marketing Contractor (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OhioJuly 20, 2015
I enjoyed working at M/I homes, they were very flexible with me as a contractor. They were very supportive of employee activities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 57No 19Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great organization
Assistant Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Richmond, TXJune 30, 2015
Basic clerical tasks, assisting existing and potential clients, and walking buyers through spec homes were all typical daily tasks. I learned how to work with a broader spectrum of clientele and what behaviors were appropriate in a professional setting. Co-workers were very helpful, always willing to assist where it was needed and very easy to work with. Management was lenient and very understanding. Although some days were rough as they can be the most enjoyable part of this job is seeing the joy on a persons face after they close on their brand new home.
Pros
wonderful overall work experience
Cons
long days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 74No 27Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at M/I Homes. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 16 reviews
58
41
33
22
12

See reviews about

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.6InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight