Macmillan Publishers Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 125 reviews
Ratings breakdown
538
442
334
28
13
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 28 reviews matching the search See all 124 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good
Contracts Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 15, 2018
If you care about culture and about being involved in the book industry this is one of the best places to work. You won't get paid that well. Career advancement can be really hard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great feeling exploring a different field
Marketing Assistant (Former Employee) –  SangoJuly 28, 2017
A wonderful experience in the field of book marketing. Macmillan was an established publishing name in old Nigeria, lots of competition with new publisher created several media for intuitive decisions that at least must satisfy your daily target and your numerous customers.
Pros
Feeling after meeting your daily or weekly target
Cons
The company's pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great workplace with a beautiful view from my office.
Jr. Technical IT Project Manager, Google Migration (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJune 14, 2017
My typical day consisted of completing tasks and ensuring that staff members are not challenged with any technical difficulties. Even though not all work places are exactly same however all work places require honest work and effort to get the task or job done efficiently. I made sure that tasks were up to date and completed smoothly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectful co-workers in Flatiron building
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 26, 2017
Although I was there for less than a year, I enjoyed working at Macmillan Publishers. You get visibility within the company and work across multiple team. The company is located in the Flatiron building across from Madison Square Park.
Pros
location, free books
Cons
set work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Editorial Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAMarch 7, 2017
No sense of leadership. You work hard for hours a day but don't really understand what the goal is. The premier product (Launchpad) is a mess and instructors are dropping it persistently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun and lot to learn
Senior .Net Developer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 18, 2017
Great culture, great team, wonderful management.
Was part of a team where there is a lot to learn. New technologies like React JS, Node JS were learned. The exposure these technologies will give a great effect in my career.
Great manager who is facilitate the resources needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun tech stack
Lead Software Engineer - Consultant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 16, 2017
Great work environment and great people to work with. it was an environment where everyone was smart and on board with the direction of the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Infrastructure team were very helpful, professsional and down to earth
Procurement Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 3, 2017
Infrastructure team were very helpful, professsional and down to earth. However contractors are often used for a short period of time or years so you don't get the sense of job security one needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work for
Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Delran, NJ 08075November 10, 2016
I really enjoyed my job here. My supervisor was amazing. We had fun and did out job at the same time. I was sad when they were bought out by another company and I was laid off. I would have stayed at this job .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere
Web Developer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 4, 2016
Relaxed atmosphere. As long as the job is getting done on time there is tremendous flexibility.
I am working remotely - so my interactions are usually through email and skype.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hours- A week off during Xmas and New Year and Summer Fridays
FP&A Financial Analyst, Cash (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 21, 2016
Great place work for people who want good hours. But Not much growth opportunities because most people have been here for years and they are just waiting for retirement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviorment
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Gordonsville, VAApril 15, 2016
everything was great & mostly everybody was nice & very respectful. I didn't really like working over but it was more money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Ok company
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 16, 2016
There've been changes within the company after many years of stagnation in communications among all levels . New upper management is in place now , but it will take time to see many changes .
Pros
summer hours
Cons
Pay below the industry's average . IT is in India, and it takes forever to solve a simple issue.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant, positive work environment
shared services (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 9, 2015
Management is friendly and open to new ideas in ever-evolving business. Yet salaries are very low, even by industry standards.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Server Engineer/Active Directory Consultant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 20, 2015
It is a great environment to work in. There are a lot of perks here at this company. The work is manageable, challenging, and fun. There isn't a challenge to ask for help from your peers.
Pros
Free coffee, tea, etc...
Cons
24/7 on call
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job
Assistant Credit Manager (Former Employee) –  Delran, NJOctober 12, 2015
now known as Simon and Schuster, Macmillan was a well know Book Warehouse. Many chances for advancement with friendly coworkers and managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to Work at
Macintosh Engineer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 1, 2015
The people who work at Macmillan are dedicated and care about the quality of the products. The best books for the best price. Privately owned. It was a pleasure serving there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 23, 2015
Holtzbrinck Publishing is a good place to work at. I was in the NY office location of the company. I got to learn things related to professional life and the co-workers were very co-operative. I enjoyed working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a consultant
Learning & Development Consultant (Former Employee) –  new york, nyMay 11, 2015
I was a consultant not an employee - there for my experience would be very different then most.

-Great location!
-I worked with nice people.
-There were some changes within the company going on when I was there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Fun work Place
PMO Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  New York City, NYFebruary 5, 2015
• Versatile and result oriented Business Analyst with over 6 years of experience in business requirement gathering and analysis, business process re-engineering, object-oriented design, modelling and project management across different industry domains such as Educational Services / Publishing , Insurance, Healthcare/Pharmacy Services, Compliance Management and Risk Analysis.
• Strong communication / interpersonal skills, problem solving skills with “a commit-to-success” attitude and capable of delivering solutions under high-pressure environment.
• Detail oriented, focused, able to capture a process and break it down into individual components and its subsequent steps. Effectively capture business needs and communicate them effectively with Stakeholders and Technical teams.
• Well versed in Project Management Tool (MS Project and KeyedIn Projects) for status reporting, planning and resource allocation, Involved in strategy discussions to determine the most cost-effective and relevant software development approach - RUP, Waterfall, Agile, and SCRUM.
Pros
Excellent Work Culture
Cons
Not even one
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport