Macy's Employee Reviews

Found 25,495 reviews matching the search See all 25,578 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It started off good
Fraud Investigations (Current Employee) –  Mason, OHJuly 16, 2018
The benefits are sub par, very high deductible. Some organizational changes removed what made the job good, and worth the lack of benefits. There is a vast inconsistency in rules, and the enforcement of such. The computer systems are the worst programs I have used in my life.
Pros
flexible work schedule for some departments; lax dress code
Cons
inconsistency of management; lax dress code
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Sales Associate, Women's Shoes (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJuly 16, 2018
This was a great place to work. Everyone that I encountered there was very professional. It's a shame I had to move or I'd still be working there to this day. Amazing benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sucked
Macy's Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJuly 16, 2018
understaffed i was only person working my department when there should have been 5 and they still didn't keep me after the season even though they were understaffed didnt make much sense to me I doubled or tripled my sales goal every time and helped insane amounts of customers without a problem but its ok i wouldnt want to work there its a dump now
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a good place to work at and gain some experience in different department
Packer (Former Employee) –  Martinsburg, WVJuly 16, 2018
I enjoyed working there and I learned a lot working in different departments. The hardest part of the job was working 12 hrs. shift .the fun part was meeting people of different background and culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kennesaw, GAJuly 16, 2018
Macy's is a work friendly environment. As a sales Associate you are able to work independently and always get help when the need arise.
I am always happy dealing with customers and helping them leave the store happy and fulfilled.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Specialist/Magic Captain (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 16, 2018
I just loved working with the customers and my co workers. I loved being involved in my department which was young mens/active.to be able to dress the customers was the best part of the day
Pros
my co workers
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I will never work at this store ever again
Sales Associate/ Retail Support (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 16, 2018
This location was very rude when it came to teaching someone how to do certain things for the store. Also the boss's really didn't take time to understand their employees
Pros
fast pased
Cons
very rude
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Furniture Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLJuly 16, 2018
Too controlling. Constant time management down to six second intervals. Discouraged employees communications on a personal level , even in slow times. Low morale
Pros
Clean working conditions
Cons
Very low morale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Owensboro, KYJuly 16, 2018
Macy’s is not a terrible place to work at all but there are some outrageous policies that eventually pushed me to having to walk away from this position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my review
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, MAJuly 16, 2018
Worked for Macys for 5 years...satisfied. Don't have anything else to say...a part-time job Worked for five years, worked for 5 years, worked for 5 years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not compensated for top reiews
Asset Protection Manager (Former Employee) –  Mays Landing, NJJuly 16, 2018
Job advancement became limited
Recognition declined
Met a lot of great people
Very successful but at the end it didn’t seem to
Holiday hours exhausting
No work life balance
Pros
People
Cons
Recognition
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Owasso, OKJuly 16, 2018
Each day had new learning obstacles to overcome as well as goals to be met outside of my own, everyone got along through out departments, it was a safe work environment.
Pros
Hands on learning experience
Cons
The box thing jams a lot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun company to work for
Counter Manager/Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 15, 2018
This job was most certainly yet another stepping stone in my professional career, especially when it comes to my now unrivalled customer service skill.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
RECEIVING TEAM MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJuly 15, 2018
Very fast paced, limited information to be able to complete job, usually are limited by upper management. If willing to work and ask for it pay can be good, overtime only during Christmas, good benefits and can earn vacation days the longer you work there.
Pros
Overtime, benefits, vacation days.
Cons
Management, lack of information, old logistical systems and buildings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Receiving Associate (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 15, 2018
Don't expect to pay a bill with Macy's but you can eat , the hours are varied, so you can work around your schedule if you have better things to do. You will enjoy and hate your job in the same hour, just depends on you.
Pros
Varied hours, decent people, ok pay
Cons
Not always recognizing great workers, lack of promotions for long term workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good job
Prep/Returns (Current Employee) –  Martinsburg, WVJuly 14, 2018
It's a good job if you are willing to work hard and do your job to the best of your abilities. nice benefits as well. you can move up as well and possibly get transfered,
Pros
good pay.
Cons
sometimes the way people treat you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A retail legend with many areas of sales
Women's Shoes Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 13, 2018
I was young ,new to the work force and a full time student. I will always be grateful for the opportunity given to learn. I only wish there was more of push to drive employees for not only company goals but for professional and personal growth . i enjoyed morning meetings and management interaction.
Pros
lunch area, discount
Cons
work was not flexible for school
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One day in Clarins
Beauty advisor / Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 13, 2018
Skin time, the hardest part of the job: How to invite a costumer to sit and try our product. Fortunately, Clarins is a french cosmetic, but the everyone' s pocket is a manner. I was famous because of my hands, everyone said that my hands felt like cotton. It was a great tool to introduce the products and close sales. Another hard task was to open Credit Card, sometimes I was lucky, but most of the time people told about their legal status or bankrupt, I obstacle. The Macys Credit Card was a stressful thing for every associate in the department store.
Pros
Commission
Cons
more payment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again
Retail Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Livingston, NJJuly 13, 2018
A unorganized machine. The only way working for this company can be enjoyable, depends on management. Job training. you must use your common sense don't depend on help with handling customer issues.
Pros
Pay weekly
Cons
to many to
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun , we had lots of work to do ,we also had fun days
crc logistics and operations (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 13, 2018
working for Macys was fun at first it was very hot then we stand on our feet all day long got a 45 min lunch break 15 min break they treated you ok, when it was a summer day it felt like a heater we had no A c just fans and when it was winter it was very cold felt like an icebox
Pros
sometimes they would buy us lunch and had pizza partys and feild days in the summer
Cons
our breaks were short because we had to climb up a lot of stairs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Macy's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 25,580 reviews
57.8K
47.7K
36.4K
22.1K
11.5K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight