Macy's Employee Reviews

Found 29,224 reviews matching the search See all 29,350 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macy’s environment
Sales Associate and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CAJune 18, 2019
Management expect too much from associates and very stressful job and I as 5th top sales person could only get 20 cents of raise After my annual review.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Supervisor (Current Employee) –  San Leandro, CAJune 18, 2019
I like the work environment, fun management and how the system works. Need to focus on taking care of the employees like how they took care of the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
expect way too much for far too little pay
Sign Team/Fulfillment Associate (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZJune 18, 2019
It's like any other job management is made up of people who just don't care and a few good ones but overall they expect way too much for minimum wage. Hours are hard to come by I was able to work in two different depts that's how I've been able to last this long (8 months). Please don't bother with this company unless you're ok with being treated nicely until you are no longer willing or able to be available whenever they want.
Pros
up to 60 hrs of straight pay during the holidays
Cons
no hours and horrible pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary holiday position.
Jewelry Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dublin Tuttle mallJune 18, 2019
Very low pay with a 1 percent commission. No chance for advancement as a holiday sales associate. Only an employee discount which I did not utilize. Fun change from healthcare.
Pros
Some free holiday food
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright environment, with little supervision
Customer Service Sales (Former Employee) –  Eugene, ORJune 18, 2019
I was hired to fulfill one position, but ended up all over the store with little training or supervision. Lots of busy work handed to me with hardly any purpose, and I never knew who was in charge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Fine Jewelry Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mishawaka, INJune 18, 2019
This job consists helping customers, ringing up sales, online order fulfillment, and stocking. Must be able to multi-task. The hardest part is getting a break.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macy's treats all employees as individuals, just what every employee should want.
Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Meriden, CTJune 18, 2019
Macy's has been a retail giant for many years and is constantly changing the way they do business to try and stay ahead of customer demands in the ever changing world of retail.
Pros
Diversity of coworkers
Cons
Hour lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place ever
MANAGER (Current Employee) –  NjJune 18, 2019
In my total working career this is the worst place I've ever had has been employed at. No room for advancement, management shows favoritism towards some employees, management also speaks to employees about other employees totally unprofessional. The raises if you're so privileged to get one or about 10 to 20 cents. A total joke.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn’t want to make a career out of Macy’s.
Collections Agent (Current Employee) –  Mason, OHJune 18, 2019
0 advancement opportunity no matter how hard you work. People get clique like and band together. Asking for help is a crime, and they change the way things work month over month
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Support Associate (Former Employee) –  Brandon, FLJune 18, 2019
I had a great experience working at Macy's. It was a fast-paced environment since we had to sign the whole store in 4 hours with only a few people. Otherwise, management is great and it's a fun environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Morning rally's everyday
Retail Associate (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 18, 2019
Working at Macy's everything is the same thing every day. The management may try to spice it up but it is the same thing every day it was a year ago and it will be a year from tomorrow. Sell, Sell, Sell than recovery and get as many credit card applications as you can.
Pros
Pick up your own shifts, Make your own schedule
Cons
Lack of advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Busy Environment
Seasonal Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Auburn, MA 01501June 18, 2019
Even though it was really busy it was also a fun environment to work in. Everybody works together and always help one another whenever its needed. Helping the customers is Macys main priority
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ugh
Sale associate/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLJune 18, 2019
macys was one of the worst experiences i have every worked for. management was horrible. no room for growth or improvement. no benefits .
belittled and talked down of employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bit fun..
Sales associated (Current Employee) –  Southland mallJune 18, 2019
Bit Stress full because is a lot..but u can do it..and a fun place to work..the associated are all Beautiful person's..but I need something Different for me.
Pros
When u open credits
Cons
Paid the money when u feel the card..credits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
sales associate (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJune 18, 2019
It was a good seasonal job, fast paced for the holidays & slow any other day....the staff was really nice that’s about it, had to wear all black with some pops of color
Pros
Meet people
Cons
Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yes k
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJune 18, 2019
Great job ...never disappoints...learned my makeup training from them....good job ...enjoy it thank god introduce me to a whole new World ...never will ups be here
Pros
Makeup
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 18, 2019
I would highly recommend working for Macy's. This has been one of my favorite places for work. Its a nice culture for providing talented and resourceful employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Anything
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 18, 2019
I love the job and meeting new people.i will love it it very good job and the people you work with they love with you and they will happens if Yu even need it that I love Macy's
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macys
Stocking Associate (Former Employee) –  Shore hills mallJune 18, 2019
No its not a good job manager is disrespectful and i would not recamend any one to work for them and there interview was wonderful and easy but as far as working there i wouldnt work there ever again
Pros
No free lunch
Cons
Short break 15 mints
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly staff
BEAUTY ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAJune 18, 2019
management can be better. Super high sales goal. Customers were great. Hours were flexible. Did not really work with school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Macy's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 29,350 reviews
58.9K
48.8K
37.3K
22.5K
11.9K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Women's ratings

3.3Fairygodboss Score

71%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

68%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss