Macy's Employee Reviews in Houston, TX

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 25,915 reviews
Ratings breakdown
57.9K
47.8K
36.5K
22.1K
11.5K
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 405 reviews matching the search See all 25,908 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sneaky Snakes in Cosmetics
Beauty Advisor - Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 6, 2018
I think working for Macy's could have been a wonderful experience had I not worked in cosmetics. The women that work there have often been there for 15+ years. They take joy in making sure the newbie 'pays their dues'.

The hours are flexible and you are paid weekly. You are able to trade shifts with your teammates if you experience an emergency.

Macy's runs competitions on the weekends for credit cards, this is fun. The prizes are usually vouchers that you can use to purchase things in the store.

The sales are amazing, but be careful you could spend all your money there.
Pros
Flexible hours, paid weekly
Cons
Catty coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
COSMETIC SALES (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 6, 2018
Good to start off in and to build a resume and meet new people and learn a lot about patience. Management could learn to communicate better. .........
Pros
Paid time off, 1hr lunch, over time
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 5, 2018
I work in a retail environment where I was expected to give great customer service on a daily basis at work. I enjoy talking to the shoppers as they are shopping in the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service First Hand
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 30, 2018
This job gave me first hand experience when it came to customer service. Show me how to handle people when they are shopping in your store. Management was helpful and nice.
Pros
You check out all new stuff before the shopper get their hands on it.
Cons
You have to buy it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for macy's
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 26, 2018
Macy's is a good employer to work for if your are looking to establish your self. I would not recommend someone that is looking to grow within the company to work for macy's because it takes an extremely long time to even get acknowledge for a promotion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced, busy.
Customer Service -Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 20, 2018
At work on a typical day I could be doing many different things. I've worked over night, I worked in mens sells, I've also worked in cosmetics before. I learned how to get my jobs done effectively but also how to communicate with my other team members. The workplace was very busy but everyone was friendly and nice. The hardest part wasn't to hard but I guess I would say on a certain you could be doing something completely different and its weird to adjust when you've been doing it a certain way. I enjoyed most in this job doing something I liked and working.
Pros
nice breaks, friendly people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun , we had lots of work to do ,we also had fun days
crc logistics and operations (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 13, 2018
working for Macys was fun at first it was very hot then we stand on our feet all day long got a 45 min lunch break 15 min break they treated you ok, when it was a summer day it felt like a heater we had no A c just fans and when it was winter it was very cold felt like an icebox
Pros
sometimes they would buy us lunch and had pizza partys and feild days in the summer
Cons
our breaks were short because we had to climb up a lot of stairs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for growth
Sales/ Assistant Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 13, 2018
Macy's takes care of their employees with great health insurance options. Macy's offers great incentives to their employees and have contests frequently
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
training
Store Detective (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 11, 2018
the job training for how to handle persons that will fight is not very good. I had to fight off three females for over 15 minutes with now help which i was the back up person at the time. i was injured but i was okay because i have been trained and i am instructor in control force.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and positive work environment
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 9, 2018
Productive and positive work environment. The company is very involved in giving back to the community. Very enjoyable place to work. Calm atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good job
Macy's Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 5, 2018
I love macys i just worked there seasonal.i wouldnt mine working full time there its a good job i love it if i was offered to work there i would go back i give them 5 thumbs up plus it's the type of job i work at
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderfull experiences
Personal Stylist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 3, 2018
Every work place is a wonderful experience and it's also educational.

To me they make you stronger and you learn from the company.

Every experience count
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working for Chanel
Beauty Consultant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 30, 2018
It was a very fun place to work. Learning about the makeup industry is solely built off of their brand. They were really motivating and inspirational.
Pros
Makeup, seminars
Cons
Very hard to move up if people have worked there forever
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Visual Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 29, 2018
good place to work I loved working here, I loved the co workers ,
managers were great. I enjoying stocking and merchandising here . They worked with my schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macy
Credit Specialist/ Retail Sales (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 19, 2018
Authorization

Answering all incoming calls

Increase limits or decrease limit accounts

Provided excellent customer service

Input credit applications

Responsible for sales retention in shoe department

Created QuickBooks reports
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macy's
Administrative Support Team Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 19, 2018
My overall rating for Macy's is a 6 out of 1 through 10. The company itself was great to work for but I believe it have some improve with the management team and pay rate. Besides that loved the company recommend it to anyone especially students.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Low pay rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer service and merchandising (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 17, 2018
Enjoyed the experience, learned a lot and had new competencies
now.
Great benefits excellent environment
managers change schedule with my avaibailty
Pros
Discount
Cons
401k, disscounts, paid time off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hated working fornthem
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 15, 2018
Macy's is the worstest place to work for an I would never want anybody to work for them ever they suck two thums down worst job I ever had in my life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macys is a good job to work at
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 6, 2018
When I Started to working at Macy's i was going to school at the time some time i be work late and being come home late knowing that i have school and study but my work experienced with Macy's was great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it a job for fresh out of school kids
Loss Prevention Associate (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 28, 2018
it does not pay enough per hour and expect you to do more and over work you and the store is always hot inside the store and even customers complain and theres nothing we can do about it
Pros
discounts
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Macy's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Women's ratings

3.2Fairygodboss Score

71%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

65%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss