Macy's Employee Reviews in Miami, FL

Found 489 reviews matching the search See all 26,418 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you NEED a job then it’s alright
CASHIER\CUSTOMER SERVICE (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 10, 2018
low paying, but if you need a job it’s fine until you find something better. Part time, has no benefits and not many hours but you can pick up shifts.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Low paying
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  MiamiSeptember 5, 2018
excellent work environment, very responsible people, taught me many sales skills, customer service and how to maintain a good relationship with the customer. Always reaching the goals
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diversty is the best here feels like family
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 1, 2018
i love macys i have worked with them for years . i always leave and come back. with that being said the best job i ever had. i'm a makeup artist and i learn so much here. thers so much to learn. nice people . the store is very diverse. the managers some are the best in macys dadeland the best managers i camer across was Anna, EMILY, LONDY, AND GIA THE BEST MANAGERS YOU WOULD WANT , THE BEST PROBLEM SOLVERS. NICE PEOPLE!
Pros
diversty
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inclusive work place, bad pay
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  MiamiAugust 30, 2018
I worked at Macy's during my college years as one of my first official jobs. I appreciated the diversity and inclusive environment and management was good however the pay was definitely underwhelming especially for the amount of work one did as a sales associate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Sales Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 28, 2018
Work at Macys can be challenging but with a good attitude and hard work you can get promoted quickly. They are always looking for good employee's to fill roles.
Pros
discounts, growth
Cons
life/family balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many people with the hook ups working their, unfair work environment
Shoe Expeditor Lead (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 24, 2018
Over worked and over used. Do not become reliable, not at Macy's. You will get used beyond belief. I learned that it is a cut throat environment. Management doesn't care how the job gets done as long as it some how gets there. Not relaxed, constantly tending after others. The hardest part about dealing with the lead expeditor role is that you aren't a lead, you are just another hand, of course management will tell you different. Not being there to do the job.
Pros
If you work more than 7.5 hrs you get two 15 min paid breaks, 20% Emp Discount
Cons
Complainers are everywhere in this place. Unfair work areas. The lazy progress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summer job
On-Call Support (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 22, 2018
Fine for a summer job. Short hours but once they start calling you, they don't stop so there is plenty of opportunity to make extra cash. Be prepared to do a lot of walking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work at
CUSTOMER SERVICE CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 30, 2018
Macys is a fast paced depending if its busy or not , highly recommend as a entry level job, management is helpful and listens to customers, they compensate you for the all good reviews.
Pros
free food, discount, first picks when Christmas time comes
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its just a retail job.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 30, 2018
Could have been better if the managers hadn't switched around. In the end you must remember you are just an asset so if you do not help the company they will cut you loose. If you have any questions or doubts get the manager or supervisor to do something, especially with discounts and harder to handle customers. Don't lost your job over those things.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork
Sales Person (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 25, 2018
By doing different tasks in the sales area, you can grow in knowledge that will serve you for your future work, you also learn a lot from working with clients, and to have a better relationship with people. It is a very pleasant environment for cleanliness and pleasant to interact with people from all over the world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diverse company environment, competitive
Commissioned Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 24, 2018
macys is a very diverse companythat is regularly hiring from the outside as well as offering some career advancement opportunities to some employeees within.need to always open credits and sell daily sales goal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst
Downtown Miami - Loss Prevention / Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 21, 2018
Never helps you figure out on how to lead, instead just try to work away from your issues within the store. Compensation can't ever be discussed or reviewed for change
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Sales Associate Macy's (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 20, 2018
The Macy's I worked at was mainly Spanish speakers, so my day at work was usual confusion because I do not understand Spanish. I learned how to use a computer faster.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay in your lane
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 18, 2018
Bad company to work for they don't know what they're doing they don't know what the customer really wants when the people on the sales floor know what the customers want because they're talking to them everyday
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I will never work at this store ever again
Sales Associate/ Retail Support (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 16, 2018
This location was very rude when it came to teaching someone how to do certain things for the store. Also the boss's really didn't take time to understand their employees
Pros
fast pased
Cons
very rude
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One day in Clarins
Beauty advisor / Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 13, 2018
Skin time, the hardest part of the job: How to invite a costumer to sit and try our product. Fortunately, Clarins is a french cosmetic, but the everyone' s pocket is a manner. I was famous because of my hands, everyone said that my hands felt like cotton. It was a great tool to introduce the products and close sales. Another hard task was to open Credit Card, sometimes I was lucky, but most of the time people told about their legal status or bankrupt, I obstacle. The Macys Credit Card was a stressful thing for every associate in the department store.
Pros
Commission
Cons
more payment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 13, 2018
A typical day at work is ok but kind of boring I’m use to a busy work place with fast pace but overall Macy’s is ok the job is for someone who’s very chilled
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's Okay
Sales Specialist Lead (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 11, 2018
It could be a great place to work. However, there policy make it hard to make decent money. They are very pushy when it comes to getting customers to apply for credit. The emplyee discount isnt alwasy the best. And the way they pay those on comission is borderline robbery.
Pros
Insurance
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers are great but Managers are very strict
Part-time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 7, 2018
Managers are not understanding or sympathetic with medical issues. Co-workers are great and always willing to help out. Pay is also good since you are able to receive commission.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to develop your working criteria
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 4, 2018
A typical day at work is about engaging with customers, communication is a must on a daily basis. Helping customers as much as you can, because nevertheless your commission depends on the amount of products sold as well. I learned leadership skills, organization, time management, social skills, helped with my anxiety and you learn from people. The management is very understanding as it gives you a flexible schedule, although it may be difficult to contact them sometimes as they are all over the place, so you have to manage yourself. The workplace culture is cool as a lot of customers are the drive of the place, you get to have contact with a coworkers and is a nice adventure. The hardest part of the job could be to get out of your shell at first at engaging with customers but that is overcomed with time. The most enjoyable part of the job is taming the satisfaction of a sell and being able to sign a client up in your list of accountability. Also payday!!
Pros
Commission, flexible schedule, good coworkers, social skills boost.
Cons
bad customers from time to time, low tolerance, though work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Macy's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 26,420 reviews
58K
48K
36.6K
22.2K
11.6K

See reviews about

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Women's ratings

3.3Fairygodboss Score

74%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

86%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss