Macy's Employee Reviews in New York, NY

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 25,973 reviews
Ratings breakdown
57.9K
47.9K
36.5K
22.1K
11.5K
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 1,476 reviews matching the search See all 25,973 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed my time working for Macy's Inc.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 15, 2018
The job was great, the team was hardworking. The only thing that I would have changed is the fact that the company was ceased. Overall, I would definitely recommend this job to anyone that would want a job there.
Pros
great team, flexible schedule, Macy's Cash*
Cons
the company was shut down
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to work with others
Sales Associate at Coach Handbags (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 7, 2018
On a sales day, staff was at their station when the doors opened (we were located by the doors). Visitors would ask where certain departments were located. Hardest part was trying to meet the sales goal of the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Assistant to visual merchandizing manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 6, 2018
Pricing around store, changing labels, and floor set ups. Also doing decorating and set up for Holiday time, Merchandising and organizing. Unloading trucks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving and Caring
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 6, 2018
Ensured that fitting rooms were ready for customers by promptly clearing merchandise and returning it to the proper area of the selling floor. Maintained selling floor presentations, and restocked them as needed. Learned systems and procedures to enhance selling efficiencies and complete support duties. Processed merchandise returns courteously and professionally. Was responsible for achieving personal sales goals and Star Reward goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macys fun job
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 4, 2018
A typical day consisted of meeting customers and meeting the regulars. I learned how to use different types of systems and learned about stocking.
The workplace culture was really fun and adventurous. There was no hard part of working for Macys.
Pros
Discounts and credit card
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Processing, Bops, DRT. (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 2, 2018
They treat associates like they do not matter, lack compassion and empathy. No real management communication or knowledge to advance with company. Horrible Union cant fight for their own rights let alone yours.
Pros
None
Cons
They lack the skill to care.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Macy's
Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 31, 2018
It was a great experience, since it was the first time than i had to use a computer to go over questions and presentations and the supervisor running the assessment were excellent when it came to the explanation of the program.
Pros
Good way to interview and test new commers
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 30, 2018
Great job good people good hours although ut was overnights learned more everyday did alot of overtime met serious business minded people got to experience the parade for thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Vendor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 29, 2018
I worked with amazing staff. Great opportunities to grow within the company. Great benefits and salary. Must have great costumer service. Overall a great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work.
Jacket Captain (Per Diem Contractor) (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 27, 2018
I worked with the Parade Crew, so it was extremely exciting and colorful. I really enjoyed the workplace culture. Since I only worked with Macy's for their Thanksgiving Day Parade (preparations and post-parade duties), my time with the parade crew was short and sweet.
Pros
Assisting the parade volunteers on parade day.
Cons
It's only once a year (Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Job
Support Staff (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 27, 2018
This is an OK job to have, say for a high school student, or a part time college student w/ a set schedule. I dont feel like any postion pays enough for the amount of hard work and effort its workers put in to meet their daily goals. This job did however teach me patience because Lord knows, between the employees and the customers.................................
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great dept store
Bliss, Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 26, 2018
Lovely place big safe, and very busy m, discounts and savings, but just too many questions and directions to give, many tourists need assistance but overall is great great management
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Holidays very long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
sales associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 25, 2018
working with macys is fun because u get discount and free samples.. you see great customers , always fun to help them with thr hert desires. a great place
Pros
discounts
Cons
breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macy
Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 25, 2018
i liked Macy simple fast paced team job it was only a seasonal job since i was still attending school but the work environment was great i left learning a thing or two.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great diversed community with a selection of amazing stores & great sales
Retail Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 23, 2018
Good experience. Helped me grow and become more of a people’s person. Sometimes there would be some confusion being thats its such a big store, but I maintained it & got through the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 23, 2018
The job was fast pace and had versitility. Meeting newe faces everyday and the job provided room to grow in the company. The workplace provided skilled training and paid attention to detail and the customers needs.
Pros
Equal opportunity workplace
Cons
Hours were minimal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company cares more about sales, than the employee
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 22, 2018
Strick Macy sales goals, vendor goals, and credit card goals. I felt they pressure you to finailze a sale. And petty retaliation of goals aren't met. Bad management, and cut throat environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive high energy place
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 21, 2018
everyday was different, typical day full of suprises dealing with multiple customers. i really enjoyed it. had more than enough freedom. most enjoyable part was dealing with customers from all over the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super easy light job
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 21, 2018
While working with Macy's the learning experience I must say was very interesting. A typical day at Macy's is very soothing, and calming management is very fair. Workplace environment is clean, and comfortable to work in.
Pros
Two Breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of movement but easy
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 20, 2018
If you don't have a problem lifting, bending, pushing, pulling, or carrying several boxes at once then you can do this job as well. It's a repetitive job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Macy's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight