Macy's Employee Reviews for Sales Associate

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very active and fast paced
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Montclair, CADecember 15, 2017
This position is fun and very fast paced. Extremely busy during the holidays and can be a bit stressful. You get to meet so many wonderful customers and the discounts are nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
up to date with the times
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  King of Prussia, PADecember 15, 2017
i have no complaints , i enjoyed working there. good environment,task oriented . good management, like working with the merchandise , enjoy the customer experiences .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Casper, WYDecember 15, 2017
This was a fun job to work at. This is a place you would want to work if you just want to enjoy having a job. Not a place to work if you have actual bills and depend on the money.
Pros
Fun customers and other employees
Cons
Not paid enough for what is required
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
INC Misses
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIDecember 14, 2017
Working in INC Misses was very faced faced and fun. Our team worked well together and our manager was the best! She was very understanding and listened to the concerns of her supporting staff.
Pros
Ample break time
Cons
Lack of communication with the front office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun easy going place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYDecember 14, 2017
I did love my job.You were able to communicate with customers and management easily being heard.I wish i had worked there longer of course but i had to start classes
Pros
Blissful people and place
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and friendly
Macy's Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 14, 2017
very understanding job about work hours and personal problems. non judgemental place and everyone is nice and very helpful. if in need of help they will help you even if the task is very easy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYDecember 14, 2017
It ways a very productive environment, there was always something to do. There was always multiple managers on the sales floor in case you had a question.
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the environment and ethic of Macy's
Women's Shoe Sale Associate (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Arcadia, CADecember 13, 2017
Liked the holiday sales and all of the craziness of Black Friday. I was only a temporary employee, but it was quite the experience. I wish i would have honestly stayed after the season as a regular employee.
Pros
Dressed in business casual
Cons
Long hours on peak days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Paramus, NJDecember 13, 2017
A normal place took place in a quiet way, helping costumers to choose the best product for them. I learned how to use the crate and how to work with other people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Student Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VADecember 13, 2017
It's your typical retail job just with a bit more magic involved. Macy's gave a 20% discount to all employees and even offers a credit card with $50 limit! Loved Macy's can't complain.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly colleagues, but poor management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Skokie, ILDecember 12, 2017
Some hard working people are there. There is always few registers open which brings complains.shipping is not properly packed as things break and damage during shipping.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome place
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 12, 2017
Nice place to work in terms of staff and atmosphere. I got a lot of cash handling experience. The other thing I loved, they had union. The managers also helped you to better sales associates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but to much pressure to open new charge accounts
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CADecember 12, 2017
The Macy's that worked for was a union Macy's and you needed to join the union in order to work there. I was working on a base plus commission, which at first seemed great, but if a product was returned anytime in 6 months we would have to pay the commission back to Macy's which, at times, created problems.
I sold diamonds, fine jewelry and watches which created a fun pace environment but also very competitive and cut throat at times.But if you ask me if i would do it again, the answer would be yes.
Pros
flexible working hours, great people to work with.
Cons
how your commission was paid or deducted and the pressure to open new accounts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYDecember 12, 2017
putting alarms on clothing
striping plastic
assisting guest in the shoes department
replenish shoes
building quality customer relationships
deliver a clean, easy, neat to shop customer store environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Decatur, GADecember 11, 2017
Macy's has the best job environment to work in. It's not hectic & not too relaxed. Great associates and customers. A typical day would be to greet customers happily & kind.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Cosmetic SALES ASSOCIATE Part time (Current Employee) –  Olympia, WADecember 11, 2017
Poor managers
Hour opportunity.
Lack of training for the position I was hired for.
Hours were cut when holiday season started
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Littleton, CO 80124December 11, 2017
I like that it is flexible hours, and we are empowered at work. I don't like that I've been working longer with them and are paid less compared with the newly hired employees. I believed they should review the salaries of the people that worked with them longer and are working great for the good of the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Auburn, MADecember 9, 2017
Good place to work for, flexible hours. Nice management. Great supervisors, except for one evil one. Good place. Flexible schedule. Plenty of breaks. Good discounts
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
They don't pay enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Part-Time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Colonial Heights, VADecember 9, 2017
Fun everyone’s super cool easy to work with nice workplace unless it’s the holidays the hours aren’t really there though but management is definitely willing to work with you
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYDecember 9, 2017
Working at Macy's is your typical retail experience, long hours, low wage, clean store, take care of customers, put clothes back on rack, wash rinse repeat.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Macy's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 20,318 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6