Macy's Culture reviews

Found 7,041 reviews matching the search See all 30,125 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAJuly 31, 2019
The hours were a little odd for me as a mother and wife but the work culture was great! The pay was not great but suitable for students or a part time job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.Cool place
Linux Engineer (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJuly 31, 2019
Recent senior management changes have resulted in poor work culture. They're outsourcing all open positions to India which presents serious challenges.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have no complaints about Macys.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Buford, GAJuly 31, 2019
I love working at Macys...it's a place to advance if you have the right skills that they are looking for. I have worked for them on and off since 2013...it's an exciting place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Steubenville, OHJuly 30, 2019
I worked at Macy's in Steubenville Ohio. It was a very nice store to work at. They worked with my hours since I was going to college. I was a seasonal worker, which means I was only working there for the holidays. But it was a great environment and I was lucky I got to work with such great people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was proud to be an associate. I was in charge of Optimal fitting rooms and supervised employees. The physical part of the job could make you exhaust
Lead Retail Recovery Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 27, 2019
I enjoyed Macy's, it's diversity, it's culture, the sales and the discount. The sales associates were professional. The rate of pay could have been a little higher. The sales I already mentioned along with the coupons offered a great buy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisor and assistant supervisor were very good.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Staten Island, NYJuly 27, 2019
My immediate supervisor was very knowledgeable and my assistant supervisor trained me very well. All store managers were very helpful.

I gained valuable work experience while working at Macy’s. I was part of the Administrative Support Team itheexecutive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXJuly 27, 2019
It was an ok place to work . I loved my co workers and the managers. Everyone was so nice and friendly but I got screwed by someone I once knew, no details .
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macys is definalty a place where you can grow and learn more
Sales Associate & Retail Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Buford, GAJuly 26, 2019
Overall Macy’s was a great company to work for. I enjoyed my coworkers and manegment as well as serving the customers. I learned to work as a team and picked up new skills along the way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun family atomospher to work at
Fine Jewelry & Watches Associate (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYJuly 25, 2019
i felt like part of a team to work for this company everyone was welcoming and well knowledgeable I walked out of this company everyday knowing more and more about jews
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work
head of housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Steubenville, OHJuly 24, 2019
get to store clock in grab sweeper vacuum certain area clean restrooms dust wipe mirrors I learned that my job was never ending management was awesome very helpful the atmosphere was great there was not a hard part to my job getting there in the morning I loved my job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ap
Asset Protection Detective (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TXJuly 24, 2019
great work but had to leave because of store closings so that definitely affected choice to keep working there loved asset protection and great management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for a temporary job
Manager/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 23, 2019
Great place to work if you want your day to fly by and meet people from many different backrounds.
There are many different roles a person can have and if you do a good job, you can be promotable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Buford, GAJuly 22, 2019
Very flexible with great benefits. Very diverse and a friendly environment. The pros and cons are pros friendly flexible. The management can be better .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
LOGISTICS (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 22, 2019
great team, terrible benefits, good workplace culture, didn't learn much, break time is the most enjoyable time, some managers have bad attitude, customers are very rude.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macys
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sherman Oaks, CAJuly 22, 2019
Wonderful job place, able to meet and greet great people. Learning sales and tactics... Organization skills. A place to get motivation and recieve motivation
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to work at
RETAIL ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Livingston, NJJuly 21, 2019
This place was cool to work at. Pay was good. Well rounded job. Would recommend to anyone. Holidays are fun, more money. Plus time and a half. Discounts are great to.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Team leader (Former Employee) –  Montgomery County, MDJuly 21, 2019
every day was a typical day for me, teamwork environment
we always had an event, the most enjoyable part was that you
would have many stories with your customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Real happy place to work high energy positive energy people friendly
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 21, 2019
Real nice place to work happy people nice environment makes you feel good when you’re there no stress only positive atmosphere really nice place for my first retail job Managers are really outstanding people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great to work for
Flex Team Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILJuly 21, 2019
Very great Company to work for would love to work their again in the future because the environment was amazing and the co workers was great to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Loss Prevention Associate (Former Employee) –  Wesley Chapel, FLJuly 21, 2019
My time at Macy's was very rewarding and fun. Every Manger I had was great. I loved the environment and the people I worked directly with. They are a good company to work for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Macy's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 30,125 reviews
59.1K
48.9K
37.5K
22.6K
12K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Women's ratings

3.3Fairygodboss Score

71%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

68%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss