Macy's Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 6,040 reviews matching the search See all 27,028 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Fulfillment Associate (Current Employee) –  Martinsburg, WVNovember 17, 2018
Sad it’s only seasonal. But good place to work. They train you well before they set you free. They cross train so you can try new things if you want. They only give you two 30 minute breaks one is paid the other is not.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay, like to harass employees
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 16, 2018
Disorganized environment. Everyone tells you different things when you ask them questions. Policies are changed, and not everyone is updated. They tell you that if an item is on a rack for a certain price that you have to sell it for that price. But when you do, they try to accuse you of stealing. Their prices on the racks and in the system are often not the same, so you have to guess what you should sell it for, because they don't know. Then blame you if it's wrong. Not enough money for what they take you through. I have never experienced being treated like a criminal from an employer until working for these people. The only positive thing, is that most people are nice, but unfortunately misinformed.
Pros
Most co-workers are friendly
Cons
Low Pay, benefits, hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work at
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Walla Walla, WANovember 16, 2018
Not a bad place to work if you like working with people. Nice to travel for work conferences. Benefits are ok. Recognition is not the best. Environment is good.
Pros
Always around people
Cons
Benefits and pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pays the bills, absolutely no thrills
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Owasso, OKNovember 16, 2018
Easy work, rude disrespectful management. Getting hours is very difficult. OT not open often at times. Very disorganized. You do get to meet all sorts of people though and still do learn certain skills that could further you in other warehouse or production. I personally wouldn’t recommend this job though, unless you’re in need of a job with decent pay quickly
Pros
Paid weekly
Cons
Not enough PTO, management, not enough work at times, OT not open as often as it should be
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fan of retail
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  PGH, PANovember 16, 2018
Stressful, especially this time of yr. Nice to work for a company that cares so much for their employees, the community and the environment. The best thing about working there is the satisfied customer.
Pros
path to growth incentives, visual & dental benefits
Cons
holiday work schedules, back to back sales, downsizing in HR
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal
REPLENISHMENT TEAM (SEASONAL) (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDNovember 16, 2018
It is a OK place to work. everyone is nice and they do care about you to a point. The job can get stressful or boring and mundane. I would say seasonal is great for high school students looking for a bit of extra money.
Pros
discount on thing at the store
Cons
not paid enough to live
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work/life balance.
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  OhioNovember 15, 2018
There is very little work/life balance at Macy's. You end up working 10+ hours per day and even coming in on your days off. Upper management will say its not expected but in reality, it is. After working two stressful months for the holidays and putting in countless required hours, you get to spend the entire month of January hoping your position doesn't get eliminated and/or they don't let you go. If you didn't go through their EDP program then forget about getting paid decently.
Pros
Pto, associate discount
Cons
work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Online Order Associate (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYNovember 15, 2018
It was a good place. I enjoyed the people and flexibility. I just hated the pay and minimal raises every year. They had great products and we got great discounts.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting , Management needed work
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 14, 2018
Management was very poor when it came to solving problems or figuring something out. Schedule was messed up. My money was messed up as well as far as me getting paid.
Pros
A hour break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macys
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NYNovember 14, 2018
Macys was a great environment to work in. The pay was low but once the new parking lot was built, everyone's hours went down. Jobs were cut down and employees were terminated.
Pros
Employees are good to you.
Cons
No overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MONovember 14, 2018
Macy's was my first job post-graduation. I worked at the Customer Service Center and accepted the job because I needed some sort of income. It is a good job and pays ok, but if you have a college degree like me, it will not provide you career satisfaction unless you are in a managerial role. Great benefits and the discount was ok.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
HR Coordinator III/Trainer (Current Employee) –  Joppa, MDNovember 13, 2018
Macys is a great company. However, the building needs to be remodeled and thoroughly cleaned. Most of the employees have lost the fire and passion needed to push this company.
I believe that Macys would be a great place to work at if the atomsphere was inviting, clean and friendly.
Macys as a whole really should evaluate the compensation of their employees. Offer better benefits and do better with customer service training.
I really hope this company will do better in the near future.
Pros
Work/life balance
Cons
Dirtiness of the warehouse
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very easy to handle
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 13, 2018
I didn't have any problems working at macy's but, it's management is a little disorganized. It was very flexible when it came to working hours. and vry good when it came to discounts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Part Time Sales Associate, Men's Shoes (Former Employee) –  Cherry Hill, NJNovember 13, 2018
i was only part time sales associate and i can not form any opinion on Macys as a whole. I only worked 15 hours a week. i was heppy with the time i was working at MACYS. Pay is just minimum wage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Wellington, FLNovember 13, 2018
They don't allow enough flexibility at work especially for students. Co-workers are very mean because it is a commission pay an everyone is on each other's throats.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible scheduling
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Downey, CANovember 12, 2018
A typical day at work would be a morning rally talking about our daily goals in accordance with our quarterly goal. The management team aren't breathing down our necks which is nice. I will say that the management team relocates a lot and the draw commission goal is very UNREALISTIC. They have so many deductions and commission percentage is too low. There is 0 incentive to be apart of the commission team because of how little reward for such highly stressful job.
Pros
hour lunches, flexible, good work spirit
Cons
commission sucks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
SUPPORT ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Manhattan Beach, CANovember 12, 2018
Its a decent place to work for the benefits are up to par and you do get health benefits. The only error is they should have the part timers get full time benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room to grow with the company
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaNovember 12, 2018
Working at Macy gives you the opportunity to grow with the company.
Macy's offers benefits, 401k plan, and workplace culture. If your looking for growth, then Macy's is the environment and workplace for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers are laggy
Flex Beaut y Advisor (Current Employee) –  San BernardinoNovember 11, 2018
Never received employee discount no one would assist in fixing this issue , manager would not work with school hours which would make me sacrifice points instead of editing availability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it ok
SEASONAL SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Portland, TNNovember 11, 2018
it a good place to start off at it get back on you feet. Very hard to move up and get more expercian. hardly ever get your full hours that you singe up for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Macy's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 27,030 reviews
58.2K
48.2K
36.8K
22.2K
11.6K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight