Macy's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Csr
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Jensen Beach, FLDecember 5, 2017
Assist customers in helping find Items, cashier , stock. we would clean our assign area and help customers in the system to find items that was not in the store and order for the customer.
Pros
discount
Cons
not paid enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful environment
Shoe Expeditor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 5, 2017
A typical day at work was very face-paced and stressful. I learned to move very quickly and in a timely fashion. The management was very fair in situations but a lot of favoritism.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such a nice work environment
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Idaho Falls, IDDecember 5, 2017
Everyone was so cheerful and seemed genuinely happy to be there.
I enjoyed working there, the hardest thing was building this fancy wardrobe out of nothing, and trying to sell credit to people.
The customers were pretty kind, the staff, and management as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
holiday
Holiday Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cheektowaga, NYDecember 5, 2017
paid more if reach sales goals
have to reach a daily sales goal
get discounts
receive a macy's card upon hiring
macy's card has $50 already on it
nice staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great managers, bad pay.
Specialist (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLDecember 5, 2017
Macy's is a fun place to work, with amazing managers; but I personally feel like they expect too much out of you for only $9.00 an hour. You are expected to dress in business casual attire everyday and that can get expensive.
Cons
terrible health insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management with Lowest pay
receiving and mechandising associate (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MODecember 5, 2017
If you're a drug addict or criminal willing to settle for $8.00, have lack of leadership, unbalance and uncertainty this is the place for you. Otherwise pick another retail company any is better than this.
Pros
frequent breaks no manger hovering over you
Cons
poor pay especially for work you'll be doing, no leadership no inccentives
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
AST (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRDecember 5, 2017
Amazing organization.
Very dynamic, fun, diversity, loyalty ,team work, excellent customer service, excellen benefits, employee discount, good training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting and decent employer I never complain when hired for seasonal
Seasonal Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Martinsburg, WVDecember 5, 2017
Not a bad place to be employed for the holidays,plenty of hours and a decent work environment. management is not perfect but I haven't met a rude superior yet.
Pros
Plenty of hours
Cons
10 hour shift shouldn't be the minimum
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice resting areas
Recovery Associate (Former Employee) –  El Centro, CADecember 5, 2017
It is difficult to get a full time job. Most of the jobs are about recovering and putting together the store to its best look. It has many positions available for employees. But difficult to become a regular emplyee.
Pros
Many positions available and willing to relocate
Cons
When it is a small town difficult to advanced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, great people
Omni Channel Systems Stability Administrator (Former Employee) –  Mason, OHDecember 4, 2017
Great place, great people. Plenty of opportunities to advance within the company if you so desire! Leadership is fair, they do a good job of supporting their teams.
Pros
great community
Cons
stressful holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Canoga Park, CADecember 4, 2017
it was high paced at times and fun working with the crew we had at that time. It was only seasonal but it was a good experience. would recommend it to a friend or anyone honestly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst retail experience ever
Shoe Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZDecember 4, 2017
Don't pick shoe sales commissions ! Just trust me . There are so many managers constantly hounding you for different reasons . Rude and entitled people!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a day work
Fragrance Cashier (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CADecember 4, 2017
it was a great job very professional and has alot of advancements i loved working with the people i did lots of trainings and never feel like were doing something wrong
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok atmosphere
Dock Hand (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CADecember 4, 2017
Macy's was a fast paced. There were free lunches and plenty of fun around every corner. It was a mad house on black Friday. I loved working there, great place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Harsh
Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Flushing, NYDecember 4, 2017
I worked unloading trucks at first which was back breaking but moved up to women shoe expediter. That took about 2 years. The are flexible with the hours where you make 40 hours but then there were times where you made 30 hourss.
Pros
discount on macy's items
Cons
very demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was pretty okay.
Active Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Owasso, OKDecember 4, 2017
A work day could be hectic and my first manager was really awesome, but when I went back and changed areas that manager was unprofessional and kinda dumb.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful working system
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDDecember 4, 2017
i learned the system fast and working with others made me feel more confident with customers. the work place was very upbeat and fast paced, great energy.
Pros
good coworkers
Cons
short staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the customers
Women Shoe Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Lithonia, GADecember 4, 2017
I sold shoes in the women department. I used my customer service skills to receive high ratings, Every customer that came into the shoe department was important and was treated with respect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macy's is a fun workplace.
Sales Associate/Customer Service/Cashier/ (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLDecember 4, 2017
Macy's is a fun workplace. They have nice beautiful products, a great policy, awesome customer service, and all the staff are like family. I really love Macy's.
Pros
Discounts, benefits, training, good breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a relaxing place to work
on call stockmen (Former Employee) –  Gurnee, ILDecember 4, 2017
My typical day starts in men furnishing, stocking, reorganizing and putting out shipment. If I was finished with everything I was directed to assist in other tasks not yet finished. Other times I did store markdowns, preset sales signs and when it was inventory time I helped that .
Pros
there was at times free lunch for everyone. they did birthdays where there was cake for everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Macy's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 20,252 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6