Macy's Employee Reviews

Found 26,929 reviews matching the search See all 27,018 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal work
Seasonal Sales Associate/Cashier (2 seasons) (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCNovember 7, 2018
You will work like a mule for 50 cents over minimum wage. Regular staff gets pick of the hours/schedule, then seasonal gets what is left over if any at all. You will get 8 hours on Thanksgiving Wednesday and Friday with 30 min. lunch and 15 min. break. Then you can't go home on time due to lines at registers. This is not OT because you did not work 40 hours. Then you will work night on Christmas eve, and the day after Christmas will be all returns, while the regular staff makes the sales.
Pros
Sandwiches or pizza on the holidays so you wont go out to lunch
Cons
Hard work for low pay. Permanent staff treats you like their servants.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal
Seasonal Associate (Former Employee) –  Alhambra, CANovember 7, 2018
Customer service and cashier. During the holidays sales and pace was fast, never a dull moment because there was always something that needed to be completed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job to grow in but not to stay in
Retail Clerk/Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 7, 2018
Macy's has alot of opportunity for advancement but don't become a 72 year old lady who has worked there her entire life. Macy's can become very depressing - other than that it's a decent job for a seasonal worker to move up in and eventually move elsewhere.
Pros
Not much
Cons
alot
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macys-colonie
Commission Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYNovember 7, 2018
I was a new mom and began working ON-CALL at Macy's. The hours were very flexible and I was able to work and be trained in every dept. through the years...

they did offer me a commission position which was fun and good money..

I left after 12 years but the time I spent there was very rewarding and exciting. The Macy's experience was all positive and I would recommend it to all...
Pros
flexibility, management and cross training in all areas...
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hardest is working alone for medium to large dept.when you are use to having three or more assoc.working with you morning or evening.
Jewelry Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Livingston, NJNovember 6, 2018
Working @ Macys' was not all bad, it was like family, love doing the Macy's thanksgiving parade, love working with my coworkers we were a good team when we're all there, some management were really good to work with some not so much.
Pros
Your coworkers, the Customers, discounts with thier credit cards, coupons
Cons
Short break or no breaks, the point systems late 1/2 point, Call outs due bad weather or sick 1 point, wknd 2 points
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work!
Overnight Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 6, 2018
Managers rude,not upto date w/ polices,undertrained,belittle you,equipment is old,terrible training,if goals are not met manager makes you feel awful.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Bridgeton, MONovember 6, 2018
To many things to remember. Job standards had to be met on a monthly basis. Very hard to meet at times. Customers were not always very nice. Company did let you know when customers gave you a accommodation.
Pros
People friendly.
Cons
To far to travel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A horrible place to work.
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDNovember 6, 2018
Macy’s is a horrible place to work. Management sucks from top to bottom. They will try to take advantage of you. Pay isn’t good at all. They want you to do everything. It’s not worth working here. Currently looking elsewhere.
Pros
Ha! None at all.
Cons
Too many to list.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Merchandising, Picking, Packing and Shipping (Former Employee) –  Everett, WANovember 6, 2018
this job was perfect for someone who was going to school part-time and needed a job to just help them get by while in college. I enjoyed the people i worked with just did not like the pay or being a part of union who took more than i made in a week.
Pros
experience, skills
Cons
union and compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macys/ Rich's department store Corporation
Recieving Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 6, 2018
I learned so much about customer service as was implemented at Macy's. My fellow employees were helpful, and the environment allowed for personal innovation within a defined employment goal. My manager was always there as a support system, and provided constructive reviews to help me improve my abilities. This is a skill set that I will be able to carry with me into whatever profession I decide to pursue."
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay as a temporary job
Women's Shoes Expeditor (Current Employee) –  Lakewood, CANovember 6, 2018
This is my second job and it is okay for now.
Macys does a lot of things to enjoy work but the workload maybe sometimes overwhelming when there isnt enough employees to complete the work or enough hours.
Pros
Employee discounts
Cons
Too much work not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
SALES SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Terre Haute, INNovember 6, 2018
Loved working here, it was a great experience and I appreciated my time there. Management was wonderful and the skills I learned will continue to help me in future endeavors.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Dickson City, PANovember 6, 2018
a job for someone who is looking for part time
was located in a mall
hours were nice but if you lived far was not great closing an the doing a early opening shift the next day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work at. People are very easy to get along with.
Stock Picker (Former Employee) –  Portland, TNNovember 6, 2018
Very good place to work if you do the things you are supposed to while working. They are laid back and willing to work with you, but depending on where you’re from driving distance may be a issue.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Macys has unrealistic expectations
Visual Manager (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHNovember 5, 2018
Macys expects the productivity of 75 hours+, within a 40 hour work week and expects you to help the larger :more important" stores while sacrificing your own stores standards, yet makes no allotments for you to "catch up" in your own store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not even **almost** worth it
sales associate (Former Employee) –  staten islandNovember 5, 2018
One of the biggest issues with Macy's - the pay doesn't match the work. A typical day (if you start at 9) , was this-

1- open the register

2- go find a list of orders customers have placed online, before the store opens (Majority of the items are located in a massive, disorganized, dark room where I somehow managed to not be injured)

3- The store is opening and you're the only one in your entire department, so you have to pause your search and open the fitting room now.

4- People are here and checking out, so now you're tending to the cash register and also monitering the fitting room , (but you still have these orders you haven't found, so close those off when you can)

5- If no customer is immediately in front of you for 2 minutes, you can't stand there and wait for the next, so you go back and check (and sign) the fitting room again

6- You pull out a heap of clothes from the fitting room to be rehung, (but you're still watching the register). While you're tending to the mess, a customer appears -so you drop everything.

7- You ring up customers back to back for the next hour before your supervisor comes back and asks if you've checked the fitting room recently. (You haven't because it's physically impossible to do so while simultaneously operating the register) . She reminds you to check on it and that you need to get people to open credit cards.

8- A customer asks for help on the floor, (even though you've got a line of people waiting to check out), you have to apologize to the line and go get that person whatever their heart desires (doesn't matter
  more... if the computer says it's not in the store)

9- Okay, so while you're helping this person (or trying to anyway), your supervisor pops up, (asks you if you got any credit cards opened, of course) , and tells you that you have a line waiting (but you still have someone in front of you), so she takes over your customer and sends you back to the register.

10- While you're on the register again, the phone rings. It's another order to find in store, (but you still have a customer so you physically cannot go retrieve the item).


After another consecutive hour of ringing, your supervisor reappears behind you and demands you go find that in store order from the past hour. You can't find the order because the stock room is dark and completely disorganized, so you return to your department and inform said supervisor. She attempts to locate it, can't, and admonishes you for taking so long to search.





Half-way into your shift, someone comes to help in your department.

Now that you finally have a minute to do so, you go clean the giant mess that's accumulated over the morning. While you're picking up piles of clothes from the floor, you hear someone talking "she doesn't wanna clean the fitting room, but it's her job". (Can't be you she's gossiping about because you've cleaned it, right?)

While cleaning the floor, a line forms (and your co-worker is in the fitting room talking about someone still), so you go back to the register. After you ring up the line, your supervisor reappears and says to follow her.

She leads you to a tiny, dark closet and shuts the door. She proceeds to admonish you for not finding the order this morning (and not getting enough people to open credit cards) , proceeds to tell you that the fitting room is everyone's job, your coworker has "senority" and you need to respect that we do things "her way". (by gossiping, or by doing whatever Senority says?) You can't win. Your lovely leader lists anything she feels you've done inadequately and (upon not recieving a desired reaction, yet ) follows you back to your department.

In the hour before you leave, Senority and Supervisor now gossip about you openly... while you wonder if $13 an hour is really worth it.

Finally, after your shift ends, Supervisor pulls you aside one final time- repeats her series of complaints, acknowledges your (now-visible) discomfort, smiles and blatantly suggests you find another job.



I've never seen such unprofessional and (frankly, immature) adults in an employment setting, but perhaps mental delays are inevitable when you make a career out of Macy's.

Wouldn't recommend it.
  less
Pros
discounts, macys money, somewhat flexible shifts
Cons
poor managment, rude coworkers, dramatically understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at.
Sale Associate (Current Employee) –  Bellevue, WANovember 5, 2018
There are not a lot of things to you are required to do. You just need to focus on customer service and making sales.At the end of the day as long as you close all your register, you can go home. Doesn't require a lot of folding
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Lack of management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but friendly and good management
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 5, 2018
Macy is fun place to work you can sing have fun while working. you get discounts and lots of fashion shows and candies . I love to go there on weekends for extra hours and to shop. The management is very understanding and they get along with your schedule pretty much fairly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor managent
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Overland Park, KSNovember 5, 2018
This store was great at one time, but after they got a new manager at the store it fell apart and wasn't the same as before. I use to enjoy working there but it became more stressful and un happy employee. Most of the good managers left to work different stores and replaced then with young kids to management to run the store.
Pros
nothing i would be seen there even a agian
Cons
poor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
place to work for someone who do not need to feed a family
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 5, 2018
The co-workers is great, but pay is very low consider it you are working for packet money. The managers force you to open Macy`s account it is priority #1 + put customer to you client list and send them junk mails. Not good idea to make them happy.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
low pay, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Macy's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 27,020 reviews
58.2K
48.2K
36.8K
22.2K
11.6K

See reviews about

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight