Maggie McFly's Employee Reviews

Showing all 36 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maggies
Waitress/Hostess (Current Employee) –  Glastonbury, CTSeptember 27, 2019
I worked there for a while, i loved that place at first but it just got to be a wreck, it’s still a great place to work but there are lots of things there that just weren’t good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great advancement opportunities.
Manager (Current Employee) –  Springfield, VASeptember 4, 2019
Started as a bartender and was quickly promoted to management. Upper management is great and rewards hard work. Hours can be long but the job can be rewarding.
Pros
Pay and benefits
Cons
Hours can be long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turnover
FOH (Former Employee) –  ConnecticutJuly 9, 2019
Been years since I worked here, but it looks like the turnover rate is super high for FOH crew. Management was extremely political with lots of drama. This has probably changed since I've been there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just awful hr and management
Server (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYJune 24, 2019
Dont waste your time.

Will fire you for absolutely no reason and then make up an excuse that does not check out after you research the reason given
Cons
Human resources, management, not caring about their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and lighthearted work environment
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Manchester, CTJune 6, 2019
-very dynamic work environment
-easy to talk to managment
-overall not a complicated job
-everyone is willing to help each other
-hardest part of job was the hours ( we close at 2am)
Pros
50% off meals
Cons
no sick time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not applicable
TRAINER, SERVER, BARTENDER (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, CTApril 23, 2019
Not applicable. This is not pertinent information. The management team that I was employed under is no longer there. Things may have changed since my departure,
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Went downhill
Server (Former Employee) –  Glastonbury, CTApril 4, 2019
They used to have a very low turn over rate and people who had been there for years. Now everyone is new and poorly trained, leading to just more turn over. If you become inconvenient to them in any way they'll make up a bogus reason to fire you. Pretty much like everywhere else, only care about the $.
Pros
Decent money
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goof work atmosphere
Restaurant Hostess (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, CTMarch 27, 2019
I enjoyed working at Maggie McFly's because it allowed me to interact with several different consumers while understanding their specific wants and needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great money poor management
Server (Former Employee) –  Middlebury, CTJanuary 22, 2019
Great place to make an income but to tolerate the lack of management is almost not worth it. A typical day at work is very fast paced which is great -
Pros
half off food
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Manchester, CTNovember 12, 2018
Busy
I learned milti tasking
Talking to people
Hardest part is dealing with rude people
Dysfusutstidyfufhfsrsdhgjfhdtsgfhfhfhfgzgdydhdgxgxgcgxgxgxgxgxgc
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Bartender (Current Employee) –  Glastonbury, CTNovember 6, 2018
The days typically involve serving customers in a timely fashion. time management skills are truly put to the test at this location. the hours involved are demanding at times. at times a shift will be from 11am-4pm and some shifts have been from 10:30am-2am
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s better for full time
Host/Busser (Former Employee) –  Manchester, CTOctober 14, 2018
staff or expected to do too many jobs at once for example if I was a hostess and there was only one Buser I would be expected to help buss but if A waitress needs help on food run they would also expect me to help them while still doing my job as a hostess . if you were working part time you only got four hours ( if least i did ) I’m assuming it’s because they have so many stuff I’m not really sure I didn’t really mind because it was a summer job but not to mention most managers made cuts early on a morning shift . there are no breaks for part-time workers you get half off meals but you’re only allowed to eat after your shift or before you clock in . my location wasn’t really busy that often but when it was The management was poor it just seemed really unprofessional and messy . that’s just the cons I personally didn’t enjoy it I didn’t think the work that I had to do was worth the pay I was getting in the hours were just inconvenient for me . But on a positive note the managers got along with everyone the environment was great the people were cool. I’ve heard great reviews from full-time employees and people who work there for a longer period of time and have created strong relationships with other coworkers but in the short time I worked there this is just a few things that stood out to me
Pros
half off meals, free drinks
Cons
no breaks if part time, low hours, poor management when busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job, Great Pay (for servers)
Server (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAOctober 10, 2018
The people are amazing and you’ll love your coworkers, but it is very fast-paced and can be stressful at times, but overall it is a great experience. Go for the money, stay for the coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved Maggies!
server (Former Employee) –  Glastonbury, CTOctober 1, 2018
I have been a long time employee with maggie mcflys. I had to leave recently because moving. The managers was nice and i would stay if they were down south.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Manager (Former Employee) –  Manchester, CT.September 2, 2018
Was not enough room to grow and showcase my true potential. Sporadic work hours made it very inconvenient and difficult to work. Not enough incentives and up training to help advance my career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Staff
Server (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VA 23452August 17, 2018
Working with the staff at Maggie's was an amazing time. The staff is willing to help you cover anything you need covered and willing to prolong your stay there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate? More like mom and pop rented an office space with a few phone lines
Manager (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAJune 26, 2018
Maggie’s thrives in its epicenter of CT where your options for dining are bleak. Maggie’s is recognized. Unfortunately the structure to expand is missing and the ability to accept feedback and criticism is non-existent.
Pros
Free-food, acceptable pay, great guests
Cons
Insane work day with long hours, poor management, corporate office filled with swamped staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love my co workers and wished things were handled better
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Glastonbury, CTJune 24, 2018
my co workers are the best part, the kitchen screwing up and getting overwhelmed all the time is the worst. management has suffered in the past, but the recent manager has helped improve the restaurant. the lack of management has caused people to have a lazy attitude about being late, doing their job correctly.
Pros
co workers, incentive programs managers do
Cons
items not being there when we need them, kitchen messing up all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much bad to to say, just a lot of great things about this place
Hostess and Barista (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAJune 14, 2018
Awesome coworkers
Very acceptable workplace
Coworkers are willing to help if need
Great managers
Can have fun in stressful environment
The foods is delicous
Pros
50% discount as long you eat there at resturant
Cons
There are not enough hours/ pay, one of managers get stress out very easily and it is noticeable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The music and atmosphere made this job very rewarding
Server & Bartender (Former Employee) –  Middlebury, CTFebruary 28, 2018
Lots of side work so time would go by very fast very; high turn over and lots of interesting cliente, working with over 20 people at once was unique, having to micro mange myself not only made me a better server but helped provide the restaurant with overall better efficacy, quality and cleanliness
Pros
Awesome job
Cons
Very short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Maggie McFly's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 36 reviews
58
47
39
24
18

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.0Culture