Makino, Inc Employee Reviews

Found 22 reviews matching the search See all 24 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Makino, Inc
WAITER (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNJune 25, 2018
I was a part time waiter there, I learned a few kinds of beer and familiar with the food. I practice and improve customer communication skills. It was fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Makino
Field Service Engineer (Former Employee) –  Mason, OHMay 16, 2018
Extensive travel, long hours, extremely physical labor.
Constant communication with support and management is required.
Fast paced work culture with a limited amount of resources to provide assistance with troubleshooting any discrepancies.
Excellent pay and benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviornment
Applications Engineer (Former Employee) –  Mason, OHApril 19, 2018
The work environment allows for easy transition and communication to work together. Very helpful if you are stuck on a project. There is always a new project.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run by the seat of their pants
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Mason, OHFebruary 6, 2018
Poor planning, no communication between the sales team and the organization, some of the people were nice, but the environment makes you a robot after a while. They have a nice cafeteria if that helps.
Pros
You have a job while economy is good
Cons
Management, environment, attitudes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Mason OHDecember 13, 2017
Very defined lines between contractor and full time employees. Nice building and cafe. Lots of rampant gossip with some backstabbing. Inability to foster change in areas it is greatly needed. Lame managers
Pros
Nice environment
Cons
Minimal guidance and training - seek and find
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor environment for women and minorities
Technical area (Current Employee) –  Mason, OHJune 28, 2017
Very low diversity and the limited amount of diverse employees and scrutinized and not treated of worth.
Terrible environment for women, especially technical savvy women are deemed as a threat to the good old boys club.
Pay was decent, yet favoritism showed with work and life balancing.
Pros
Cafeteria was nice some employees were pleasant
Cons
Middle managers, sexism
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect job for the hungry young professional
Installation Site Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Mason, OHJune 13, 2017
If you want a job that has unlimited overtime with decent pay Makino is for you. Once you go above and beyond it will be required every time. Travel is 100% unless you live by the company headquarters. Lots of money, but your work/home life balance will never be the same.
Pros
plentiful overtime
Cons
work/life balance sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, poor leadership
Technical Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Auburn Hills, MIApril 23, 2017
This company is a great place to be a field service engineer that loves to work overtime. However, if you're looking for solid leadership and the potential to grow, you may want to look elsewhere.
Pros
Plenty of overtime, Stong customer service atmoshere
Cons
Poor leadership and organization, No unit cohesion
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
CNC Field Service Engineer (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMarch 19, 2017
Company is a good employer. They accept life experience in place of degrees for many positions. They also promote from within more often than not, as long as you're flexible with where you're willing to live and work out of. Benefit packages are much better than many employers that I've had and compared them with.
Pros
healthcare
Cons
excessive travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place, not for me though
Software Engineer Co-Op (Former Employee) –  Mason, OHMay 11, 2016
I had the experience of working there as a co-op, not a full time hire. As someone with a few years of experience, I don't think I was given ample opportunity to display my skills. I worked on meaningless tasks that I felt had no impact on the company. I had no choice in what I worked on.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
no benefits, cant use gym
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good communication
Project Specialist (Former Employee) –  Mason, OHApril 12, 2016
Management was not very social.
Co-workers were good teachers.
Dealing with customers and engineers was most enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Makino is a great company and very family oriented.
Field Service Engineer (Current Employee) –  Fountain Valley, CAMarch 11, 2016
Working for Makino has greatly increased my skills and abilities. The diversity of equipment and opporitunities provided has produced a very exciting work environment. The Makino team is just that, a team. We help each other and build off of each others skills.
Pros
Everyday is a new and exciting job.
Cons
A lot of travel and time away from home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for with vast learning oppurtunities
Installation Project Specialist (Current Employee) –  Mason, OHOctober 14, 2015
A typical day at work consists of new challenges everyday. There is so much to learn at Makino. The people at Makino are great and very helpful in learning your role. Everyday provides new learning experiences. Overall Makino is a great company in the Machine tool world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a very clean place to work
housekeeper (Former Employee) –  mason ohSeptember 17, 2015
this job was nice for the most part. I had good pay and benefits after being there for a while. the bad part of cleaning up at this place was the fact that some of the male employees thought it was cute and funny to put fecies on the wall that I would have to clean up.
Pros
i was my own boss
Cons
un thoughtful people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to Work
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Mason, OhioSeptember 15, 2015
I enjoyed working at Makino. The assignments were challenging but I was given the support I need to accomplish the tasks on time. While there was plenty of travel involved the company had guidelines in place to make it as painless as possible
Pros
Well supported
Cons
Contract only
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pay with long hours and lots of travel
Field Service Engineer (Former Employee) –  nationwideFebruary 16, 2015
Makino is a great company if you want to make money fast and are single. I was never home for the first year and a half, and was always a long plane ride away from home. Field Service Engineers always end up fixing everybody's mistakes, whether its the client or the main office.
Pros
Hardly any supervision
Cons
long hours, travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Culture - Team Oriented Company
Human Resources (Current Employee) –  Mason, OHFebruary 3, 2014
I've been at Makino for a year, and I love it. Everyone is willing to coach you to make sure you understand the process so you can complete tasks on your own. The company is focused on continuous improvement and invests in ongoing training and personal performance plans. My favorite thing about Makino is the involvement in giving back to the community through their volunteer program. All in all a great company to work for!
Pros
community involvement, on-site gym, on-site cafeteria, team oriented, friendly co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 9Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Makino
Field Service Engineer (Current Employee) –  Mason, OHJune 18, 2013
A great experiance in the world of Field Engineering. A lot of information is supplied to you at once at a high pace business setting.
Pros
a wide variety of experiance in diffrent industrial settings
Cons
Never Home
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that pays well and invests in their employees
Staff Accountant (Current Employee) –  Mason, OHJune 6, 2013
I learned many facets of accounting at this job. There were always new things to learn and improve upon. The structure is very hierarchial. The most difficult part was dealing with constantly shifting job responsibilities. The most enjoyable part of this job was the team based atmosphere.
Pros
Birthday lunches and socials
Cons
Overly competitive atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Management been there over 25 years and are stagnate- in fighting between them all the time; Only Type "A" personality will survive
Management (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati OHMarch 2, 2013
Not a good place if you have an alternative. There were some good Managers but the top Tier or Vice Presidents were ego maniacs driven to fight each other instead of working together. Nothing gets accomplished.
Pros
cafeteria onsite; suburban
Cons
horrible work culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Makino, Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 24 reviews
55
46
39
23
11

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.3Culture