Marcus & Millichap Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Investment Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYMay 17, 2018
Poor support, zero security. Nice office. Decent training program. Hardest part was nothing guaranteed a lot based off real estate market. Not much control over future compensation.
Pros
Nice office
Cons
Terrible security, zero benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for aggressive personalities
Associate - National Hospitality Group (Former Employee) –  Bethesda, MDMay 11, 2018
Lots of upside; you eat what you kill; what you get out of it is directly correlated to what you put in;

Would recommend a bit of a nest egg put away due to slow sale cycle of hospitality investments.

Other product types tend to move quicker but are much more competitive.

First class offices/equipment and resources at your disposal

Solid brand name for investment sales
Pros
Uncapped earning potential
Cons
100% commission; no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Competitive and Stressful
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 3, 2018
This is a cut throat environment! High money rewards but no balance in your life! Very,very competitive. Cn be unhealthy for people but also very rewarding when money goals are accomplhished,
Pros
Money
Cons
Stressful environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn CRE Sales business
Commercial Real Estate Salesperson (Current Employee) –  Saddle Brook, NJMarch 27, 2018
Good place to learn CRE Sales business. Tough to make money first coupl eof years under the structure for new agents. Great training and good place to start CRE Sales career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Vice president investments (Former Employee) –  ft lauderdaleMarch 26, 2018
great company i do not wish to discuss further. we just had a different view and I was in a different place. they have great trainig for new hires and lots of perks as you move up the ladder
Pros
great name recognition
Cons
straight commision
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely poor management
Junior Art Director / Graphic Designer (Current Employee) –  Calabasas, CAMarch 14, 2018
I really enjoyed my opportunity with M&M when i started but over the course of the years I have worked there, it has been increasingly prominent that the company does not care about the satisfaction of their employees. They only care about the money they save and it shows in the managers they hire. The management, all the way to the top are terrible communicators and only look to squeeze the most out of the least. They cut who they hire and increase work load. I loved my team and had a very close relationship with them but the management is TERRIBLE
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
real estate salesperson (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 9, 2018
Working environment is great. Working for brokers, not so great. Base salaries are very low, with little to no increase in pay through the years. Healthcare plans poor.
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Working Environment
Commercial Real Estate Investment Salesperson (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 8, 2018
Good place to grind your gears.
Be prepared to work very hard for long hours.
Not much work and personal life.
If you get a good mentor then you will last.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick Review
Corporate Facilities Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Calabasas, CAMarch 8, 2018
Totally depends on what department you're in, and your position of whether you're a revenue generating employee or not one. My review is related to being a corporate employee in a "underrated department".

Great learning experience but it capped off quickly. My recruiter left the company and my original proposed job description was not related to what I actually do by a long shot.
Pros
Learning
Cons
Overworked with no consideration to well being from management or HR
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top real estate brokerage
Marketing & Research Analyst (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CAFebruary 20, 2018
At MM you have access to a multitude of different research and technology tools that are necessary to be competitive. I learned what it takes to work in a professional environment with high net-worth clients. Sometimes it could be an intimidating workplace because there are so many successful brokers there requiring a high level of support.
Pros
Reputable name
Cons
Intimidating culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cuthroat job with lack of local knowledge in management
Broker (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 6, 2018
-worked 8-6pm daily
-learned skills to broker a deal from start to finish
-management turnover led me to pursue other opportunities
-emphasized collabrative culture, however found to be untrue
-getting exclusive listings was hardest part of job
-learning something new each day was most enjoyable part of job
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Save your money
Real Estate Agent (Current Employee) –  United StatesJanuary 27, 2018
Although top agents can make millions of dollars a year, the first year you should not expect to make any money at all. If you do it's a bonus however the majority of deals take months to close and months to obtain. Marcus & Millichap provide good training to prepare for a successful career however be prepared for the initial struggles.
Pros
No limit to the amount of money you can make
Cons
Difficult to break into a saturated industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Phenomenal Company
COMMERCIAL REAL ESTATE INVESTMENT BROKER (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJanuary 26, 2018
Marcus & Millichap provides you with any and all tools to grow your business. You must be self-driven in order to succeed. Not everyone gets a trophy. Gotta have focus and commitment because this is not a salary position. You only get out what you put in, but can be very rewarding once your business takes off!
Pros
Provided with the most advanced tools and software in the real estate business
Cons
You don't get paid for showing up
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressfull environmnet
Commercial Real Estate Agent (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJanuary 17, 2018
There was no pay and no support, I worked over 50 hours a day and build a full data base for apartment buildings in Orange County with no pay. Very condescending management.
Pros
Learning experience
Cons
No pay and horrible managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Intern (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 11, 2018
good company to work for the benefit were good as welll. have to put in alot of hours to see results because it is all comission based. overal a great company
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self employed position
Investment Brokerage Consultant (Former Employee) –  Oakbrook Terrace, ILJanuary 8, 2018
As a broker, I was self employed and didn't get paid unless I sold something.

If you follow their plan you will be successful. Just make sure to pick the right asset class and office buildings are not the right asset class. A great spot for highly motivated people. If you don't want to make 250 phone calls per week, you should pass on this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cut throat
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 20, 2017
cut throat boiler room environment. Tons of cold calls and a lack of purpose. Good skill set development but not a place to stay long term. Better to get your sales skills here and then relocate to a different firm.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic company
Real Estate Agent (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 13, 2017
Great support from management unfortunately family was hit by hurricane Rita and had to leave the state. By far, best company I ever worked for with solid leadership
Pros
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 30, 2017
Marcus & Millichap is not for the faint of heart. Expect to make no money the first 18 months, but also expect to make more than any of your friends in 3 - 5 years. I recommend intering in commercial real estate before just going for it. It is normal not to get paid in commercial real estate. So first figure out that you like it. Once you realize that this is the field you want to be in, aim for one of the top five large firms. I chose M&M because of their training programs. You will have 10-12 hours a week for about six months to a year of training. It will teach you everything from building a database, cold calling, setting first meetings, and getting a listing. The environments is definitely for type A personalities. You will have a lot of fun with your office, you will meet individuals who have extra millions of dollars floating around looking to invest. Overall a great place to work. But keep in mind they do not pay you, it is a 100% commissions job, but after those first 18 months of making 250 cold calls for 6 months straight, you will be in route to making 150+ by your third year in.
Pros
Training
Cons
You do not get paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun team outings and office atmosphere
Staff Intern (Former Employee) –  Encino, CAOctober 5, 2017
Very young climate in the office, little putting games along with desk basketball, frequent team lunches, kept everyone motivated. i really enjoyed my time here
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marcus & Millichap. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 125 reviews
540
435
321
214
115

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.4

2.6Personal Development

2.0Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight