Marden's Surplus & Salvage Employee Reviews

Showing all 28 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a fun and great place to work
Red team -Associate (Current Employee) –  Brewer, MEApril 8, 2019
I just want to say I came from a big box store ,ok the #1 retail store in the World. were you are just a number and the management treats you bad, I mean bad. it's Different working for a smaller company like Marden's that's a family owned business . They really do care about the employees . It helps that Marden's is just in Maine and I really hope they stay that small. I have worked in retail over ten years and Marden's is by far the best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to works
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Brewer, MEFebruary 12, 2019
I enjoy working here but would like more time at customer service as I like solving issues. I like the management support and the people I work with. I enjoy meeting new people all the time and dealing with the regular customers as well.
Pros
I like the discounts employees get
Cons
Would like more money
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice coworkers
General Associate (Former Employee) –  Ellsworth, MEOctober 26, 2018
Mardens is a great place for discounts, which as an employee you get 20% off on most items. The coworkers were amazing, and some of the management were lovely people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with good staff
Cashier and Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ellsworth, MEOctober 3, 2018
Mardens is a productive workplace with (usually) kind staff. They give 20% discount on most items to their employees, and are usually flexible with scheduling.
Pros
Christmas bonus, discount, good deals, two 15 minute breaks and a halfhour lunch per every 8 hour shift
Cons
The stress of retail and customer service with the possibility of rude customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If i could go back i would
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MESeptember 24, 2018
Mardens has a great team who is focused on getting what's needs to be done by the end of the day. Everyone comes together to get this done. I love the group meetings!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work for a while
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brewer, MEAugust 23, 2018
going to work was easy. good place to work for the most part. too much gossip and interpersonal opinions ruin the atmosphere at times. the job was enjoyable but management questionable
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job
Clothing Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sanford, MEAugust 22, 2018
My first ever job, had it when I was 14, I don't remember much of it to be honest. Being that young I was more worried about other things, some co-workers weren't that tolerant of personal preference.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marden's Surplus & Salvage
Fabric Department Clerk (Current Employee) –  Waterville, MEJuly 9, 2018
A perfect place to work for the year that I needed part time work, and because of the limited income I was allowed during that year. My schedule is always different every week. I have to work every other weekend. The company treats employees to BBQs and hot day ice creams. Very friendly.
Pros
Nice people to work with.
Cons
A lot of heavy lifting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Rumford, MEJune 15, 2018
Loved working with the customers and problem solving. Was assistant manager of the front end. Had hip surgery and my hours were cut back. Fellow employees are always helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Apparel/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houlton, MEJanuary 25, 2018
It's boring and easy. People are mainstream and the majority of the customers were Canadian leeches. If you ever work at Mardens, put on a facade and be happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse work
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, MENovember 29, 2017
Typical warehouse work.
Packing merchandise, unpacking items
unloading trucks
inspecting merchandise
pricing items
moving heavy boxes
good people
some drama sometimes
Pros
1 Hour lunch break, good hours
Cons
Communication problems
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service Desk
Service Desk Supervisor (part time) (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, MEJuly 10, 2017
Fast paced a fun place to work, management easy to work with, great staff, job security, high traffic, sometimes noisy. great customer base and fun to work with.
Pros
many perks great discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good place
CDL Class A Driver (Former Employee) –  MaineJuly 2, 2017
It's retail you won't get rich but the owners will but that about all that's bad .the work is usually dirty but fun, you deal with the public ,witch is good and bad,
Pros
Good people
Cons
Retail pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
somewhat OK place to work for
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, MEApril 24, 2017
Marden s supposed to be family oriented and has lost sight of this over time.
I ran machine to roll up fabric and drove forklift to load and unload trailer s
Pros
Free lunch cook outs liquids to stay hydraded
Cons
make and change there rules as they go along
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working there
customer service desk asst (Former Employee) –  Calais, MEFebruary 19, 2017
I really enjoyed my employment at mardens ........I moved to tn and this store is only in maine ......evryoneelse was great to work for ....I loved my benefits and employee discount t
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales Associate / Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Presque Isle, MEDecember 2, 2016
Very good work environment. management is very efficient. you are always busy and have plenty of work to do. Coworkers were good team members. Store manager was an asset to store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working there?
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Waterville, MEOctober 27, 2016
I loved my job, but when I came down sick they fired me with a doctors note. Loved meeting new people and working with the public
Pros
disc
Cons
got fired due to being sick with Doctors note
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hardest part of the job
Loss Prevention Manager/Safety Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, MESeptember 6, 2016
The hardest part of the job was when a teenager stole.

Catching employees steel.

And the possible dangers that came with the position, as in violent potential.
Pros
Chance for advancement
Cons
Not paid enough
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management needs training
sale's associate. (Former Employee) –  brewerSeptember 24, 2015
It's an ok place to work depending on the location you're at. Always busy. Time goes by fast and you can work in many different departments. Used to be understanding and family oriented.
Pros
benefits. did have some flexibility with family issues.
Cons
management needs training. You don't get promoted unless you kiss a**.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring compassionate place to work.
sales manager/representative (Current Employee) –  rumford maineJuly 29, 2015
I enjoy my time their bu the company does not offer much room for advancement and doesn't have the greatest systems in the world to track their products.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marden's Surplus & Salvage. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 28 reviews
57
410
37
23
11

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture