Marianjoy Rehabilitation Hospital Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Associates are great
Creative Services and Branding (Former Employee) –  Wheaton, ILFebruary 1, 2018
This was a great place to work and it makes me sad that they laid me off after it was purchased by Northwestern. The associates are great and very dedicated. Everyone works collaboratively for the best outcome of each patient. It was very rewarding to work there, and hope it stays that way now that it is Northwestern Medicine.
Pros
Beautiful campus
Cons
understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faith based Rehabilitation
Rehabilitation Technician (Former Employee) –  Wheaton, ILJanuary 23, 2018
I covered on call hours for rehabilitation technician as well as unit coordinator.
I traveled to a couple locations and filled in as needed to relieve staffing lows.
Pros
Direct patient care
Cons
On call hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Wheaton, ILJanuary 23, 2018
I have been lucky to get to work with a team that is willing to help each other. Makes the work a little easier knowing you have the resource that you need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Helped out the Physical Therapist (Former Employee) –  Glen Ellyn, ILJanuary 6, 2018
Used this opportunity as a volunteer to help patients and work with the PT. This volunteer work was related to wanting to become a PTA and was needed to get into the program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice facility to work at!
Health Record Analyst/Coder (Former Employee) –  Wheaton, ILAugust 1, 2017
Assign ICD-9 codes to patients diagnoses and procedures.
Enter codes into the Meditech system.
Completed ADR, Transfer & Procedure Spreadsheets as required.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing program with high standards and lots of opportunities for professional growth
Senior Speech-Language Pathologist (Current Employee) –  Wheaton, ILJune 29, 2017
After more than twelve years at this Hospital I am an exceptionally well trained clinician as they offer plentiful opportunities for growth. Recent acquisition by Northwestern Medicine may eventually help them to improve work/life balance as current growth in outpatient census has not been equally met by consistent adequate staffing. Director of adult outpatient therapy on the main campus has been a pleasure to work with and co-workers are exemplary in providing multidisciplinary care.
Pros
Great people and opportunities with state of the art facilities and equipment.
Cons
Salary not consistent with hourly requirements to complete professional documentation, frequent unpaid hours of service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work - employee satisfaction 98% year after year
Supervisor, Medical Transcription (Current Employee) –  Wheaton, ILJune 18, 2017
During my 5 years at Marianjoy, I was responsible for the day-to-day operations of the Medical Transcription Department, including scheduling, hiring, firing, corrective action, annual performance evaluations. I was also involved in many technology upgrades including implementation of speech recognition technology and electronic signature technology, partial dictation implementation for both clinic reports and psychology reports and implementation of new dictation system. Through team building and performance improvement initiatives, I was able to decrease costs by 50% over a period of about 2 years. I feel fortunate to have worked for such a great company who truly set the standard for how to treat employees and recognized that happy employees = happy patients.
Pros
Culture of caring
Cons
Merged with a large healthcare system in 2016
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start out if your new as a CNA or RN
CNA (Current Employee) –  Wheaton, ILJune 8, 2017
Typical work day
Remember you're working at a Rehab Hospital and patients are there to get better

Learned: It is a teaching hospital

Management: constantly changes

workplace culture: all depends what floor you're working on
time management adjustments
hardest part: Patients have to use the restroom and

Enjoyable: going home after a hard days work and coming back because you know you have a job.

GOOD LUCK!!
Pros
Overtime and great patients/coworkers
Cons
Can easily be replaced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and welcoming
Speech Therapy Intern (Former Employee) –  Wheaton, ILMay 9, 2017
- Saw swallow videos
- learned how to treat clients with swallowing and speech conditions
- workplace culture is welcoming in pain and unable to help themselves.
- hardest part of the job is seeing clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Wheaton, ILApril 29, 2017
I greatly enjoyed working there. Management was great at communication and valued their employees. Benefits were good and pay was conservative. I learned a lot there and only left to advance my career.
Pros
Great management and benefits
Cons
not much room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Marianjoy Rehabilitation Hospital?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Case Management Department - Secretary (Former Employee) –  Wheaton, ILApril 1, 2017
This is a wonderful facility that really performs miracles. It has a friendly environment and is a great place to work. It has a very friendly environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Transportation Driver (Former Employee) –  Oakbrook Terrace, ILMarch 23, 2017
positive work environment, good culture, team oriented, care about safety, promotes within, Open door policy, well known company, great benefits, good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work and grow as a therapist of any sort
Occupational Therapist OTR/L (Current Employee) –  Palos Heights, ILOctober 17, 2016
Great team environment
Encourage growth and provides support to do so
Comparable pay and benefits
Awareness of work life balance
Management down to support staff all share mission, vision, and values of the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great managers
Administrative Tech (Current Employee) –  Wheaton, ILAugust 8, 2016
There is room for growth here and most managers will help you succeed. I absolutely LOVE my job and will hate to leave when I move out of state. The therapist and Dr's are great and very attentive.
Pros
Great managers, friendley staff, compotent Dr's, nurses and therapist
Cons
Insurance is not the best
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marionjoy
Food Service Worker I (Former Employee) –  Wheaton, ILJune 22, 2016
Marionjoy was a beautiful place to work at everyone was very helpful good attitude team players the upper management went above and beyond to give me the tools to be successful at work
Pros
discount on lunch
Cons
very short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very uneasy workplace
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Wheaton, ILDecember 26, 2015
It was uneasy because I had never seen anything like it. It put me out of my place. There were a lot of sad moments as well as happy moments. It was the most emotional place I had ever worked at.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Wheaton, ILJanuary 31, 2015
Management and coworkers extremely helpful. Training and work environment was encouraging and provided a very nurturing arena for both new and experienced nurses.
Pros
Was able to help rehabilitate many patients with successful outcomes
Cons
NOC shift can make it difficult to attend required meetings
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Transport Van Driver (Current Employee) –  Oakbrook Terrace, ILJanuary 4, 2015
I enjoy meeting new people.It's very interesting meeting a melting pot of races and cultures which make you a better understanding of people. The hardest part of the job is to make sure each patients needs are met. The most rewarding part of the job is to see patients progress thru their journey.
Pros
Vacation time calculated by accumative hours/health benefits
Cons
Dealing with weather elements
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to learn acute, stroke, brain injury, and neuromuscular patient care
RCA (Current Employee) –  Wheaton illinoisDecember 10, 2014
As a novice RCA working at MJ, I learn so much from the staff and the required learning modules and monthly classes. Emphasis is always on safety and patient satisfaction. Good health care insurance provided to all employees who are .6 and higher. Everyday I'm learning more and my confidence has driven me to excel in school in the healthcare field. Great place to work and grow!!!!
Pros
PT health insurance offered and monthly education courses
Cons
Shift can be cancelled based off of patient census
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn about healthcare
RCA I (Current Employee) –  Wheaton, ILOctober 22, 2014
Marianjoy is an excellent place to learn the basics of acute healthcare.
Pros
Acute care experience
Cons
Call offs and job stability
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marianjoy Rehabilitation Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 33 reviews
518
410
34
20
11

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.3Culture

Marianjoy Rehabilitation Hospital Reviews by Location