Maricopa Unified School District Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVE kids!
HQ Paraprofessional II (Current Employee) –  Maricopa, AZMarch 1, 2018
You have to be very patient with this job, but that's okay. There's nothing more rewarding than seeing a student grow because of the help you've given them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substitute Teacher
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Maricopa, AZFebruary 8, 2018
Okay place to work as a substitute teacher. Lots of work available. Prefer working with the elementary school children and certain special education classes.
Pros
Make my own schedule
Cons
Made more as a sub in CA and PA
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Public School
Special Education Teacher (ED) (Former Employee) –  Maricopa, AZDecember 2, 2017
Mericopa School District is an established public school. It has one High School, two Middle Schools, and more than five Elementary schools. It is a C rated school.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Polotics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Potluck was the best, great home cooked meals.
7th and 8th Grade Math Instructor (Current Employee) –  Maricopa, AZNovember 17, 2017
I loved working with my team teachers, and the potluck dinners we would have for conference night and other occasions. The most enjoyable part of my job is that I can enjoy and appreciate my students varied personalities styles.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Special Education Teacher (Former Employee) –  Maricopa, AZNovember 7, 2017
Maricopa is a good place to work. I loved working with the students. The staff is very helpful. The students are well mannered, The support staff is amazing.
Cons
expensive area and not alot of available housing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Environment
Special Education EDP Teacher (Current Employee) –  Maricopa, AZOctober 6, 2017
MUSD is a good place to work. There has been great improvements district wide. Salaries still need to be adjusted, but improvements have been made. Great staff and community.
Pros
Friendly
Cons
Pay schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
HVAC Technician (Current Employee) –  Maricopa, AZSeptember 26, 2017
I still work here and its awesome. My pay is super low and way lower than I can have right now which is why ill have to leave in a year or so. I would recommend this place to anyone though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love my job love working with Children
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Maricopa, AZJuly 14, 2017
working with Children is my passion . Im a people person always trying to empower others to do better Ive been there since 2008 we are like a family there. Plus I get to transport my daughters to school.
Pros
my job is 4 mins from where I live
Cons
theres no room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical school problems...no money
BEHAVIOR TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Maricopa, AZJune 12, 2017
I worked at the school district as a proud and energetic employee. I was used for many duties. I had many great memories there. I met some great staff and students.
Pros
helping others
Cons
no pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first school bus driving job
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Maricopa, AZJune 1, 2017
This is where I learned to operate a school bus. It can be an easy job as long as you can handle the kids. That's the hard part and all the time off for the holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very overwhemling Place of Work
TEACHER (Former Employee) –  Maricopa, AZSeptember 22, 2016
Heavy IEP caseload
No support given to new teachers in the district
Students are very respectful and nice. Some staff members are very nice and welcoming.
Overall more cons than pros
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mhs
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Maricopa, AZApril 12, 2016
This district falls short in compensating its teachers and staff. The lack of diversity is also an issue. However, there are great students at this school.
Pros
free breakfasr
Cons
administrations lack of diversity
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a Job
Behavioral Coach/BHT (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 5, 2016
The MUSD is a good place to work. As long as you understand what and why you are doing it. The leadership has a path in which they would like to take the district and have a good way of relaying that vision to its staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Maricopa, AZApril 4, 2016
Maricopa Unified School District 20 is a good place to work, especially if you live in the area. The teachers are great, however, turnover rate is high due to the fact that most workers are not local, so they get tired of commuting. Overall, cool place to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Special Education Teacher (Current Employee) –  Maricopa, AZFebruary 15, 2016
This district was good to work with. A little bumpy in the beginning, but it got easier and easier.
The people and environment were inviting and there was support if you needed it.
I would recommend this district.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative opportunities
Assistant Principal (Former Employee) –  Maricopa, AZJanuary 18, 2016
The comradery of staff makes going to work everyday feel like coming home. Although teaching makes for a busy life, at the end of the day it is reassuring when your dedication to student success is noticed.
Pros
Opportunities to improve craft and student experiences
Cons
Work-life balance is hard to achieve
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Program for Native American students at MUSD
NAPAC Chair (Former Employee) –  Maricopa, AZMay 14, 2015
A good way to stay in touch with children's school. A great opportunity for Native American students. I enjoyed it very much. My children benefitted from this program. Thank you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult school district
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Maricopa, AZFebruary 22, 2015
An up & coming school district that has grown like a puppy...it's legs shot out very quickly, but the body is having a hard time catching up. Schools were built very quickly during the housing boom years ago, but since the economy dropped so has the quality of education. Administrators are from the "old school" and it's definitely a good ol' boys club. People are promoted based on who you know, not what you've done or can do. It's a school district that accepts the dregs, the bottom of the educational barrel that cannot get jobs at larger school districts who have higher standards. This is not the case for a majority of classroom teachers, but mainly for administrators.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here!
Aide (Former Employee) –  Maricopa, AZJanuary 19, 2015
This clinic is a great place to work. I had the best team of people in my department, we all worked hard to get the job done everyday.
The company as a whole encouraged employes to grow and learn within the company.
Would definitely work for this clinic again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Speech-Language Therapist (Current Employee) –  Maricopa, AZMarch 12, 2013
MUSD is a student-oriented school district with great team players and a supportive staff!
Pros
fantastic team of slps
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Maricopa Unified School District. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 24 reviews
55
48
39
22
10

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Maricopa Unified School District Reviews by Location