Marin Software Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Company Isn't doing well
Customer Success Manager (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 16, 2017
The performance of the company is reflected in the stock. The goal is to return to growth, but this hasn't happened for a while. The pay is decent, and the stock snacks are inconsistent, but good when they are here.

Job stability is alarming, there have been multiple rounds of layoffs in the few years I have been here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is less focused on employees, more on stock price
Customer Success (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CANovember 14, 2017
Stock price drives all business decisions, has management reacting to earning calls and less focused on employees.

Some really smart people still at the company, but very little opportunity to grow.
Pros
Unlimited PTO
Cons
Too many inexperienced middle-managers, no career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is manageable but far from home
SR COMMISSIONS ANALYST (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAAugust 22, 2017
The hardest part of the job is its monthly cycle (some incentive plans are quarterly - they have a monthly payout plan). The workplace culture is relaxed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sinking ship
Enterprise Software Business Development (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 7, 2016
I think this was a really great place to be pre-IPO. Product cant keep up with competition, constant re-orgs now and budget cuts, including significant comp structure, incentive and cuts. Look elsewhere.
Pros
free la croix water
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Smart Company and People
NATIONAL DIRECTOR - SOCIAL PLATFORM (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 24, 2016
I enjoyed my time at Marin. I found the environment and corporate culture fun and challenging. You will work with some very smart people in a competitive environment.
Pros
Compensation is very good, benefits are good, daily snacks/drinks
Cons
Business Units are silo'ed seem to have their own goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small firm with family oriented workers
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 23, 2016
I imagined this would of been an all family run business because the accounts were all the same year in year out. I enjoyed being involved with projects that required us to stay longer during the day.
Pros
small business and close relationships with coworkers
Cons
not much management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot and worked with a great team
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 5, 2016
I worked with a great team and even better manager. Learned a lot about an industry I knew very little about. However, due to cut backs and lay-offs I was let go being the low man on the totem pole.
Pros
Great team
Cons
No Marketing budget so leads to work with - low compensation as well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Account Manager
Account Manager/Ad Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 9, 2015
I learned a lot at Marin Software. It is a great place to advance your career. From Account Management to Ad Operations I wore many hats at this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsible for managing relationships with strategic network agency partners which total over $8M in annual revenue.
Agency Relationship Director (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 15, 2015
Direct contact for agency team leads, senior managers and executives. Vertical expertise in automotive; supporting three of the top global brands. Act as the agency steward and point of escalation while enforcing cross-collaboration between other partners, internal teams and customers. Negotiate contract renewals, service level agreements, and upsell services to current customers. Seek new business opportunities and partner closely with sales. Plan and lead meetings; including office hours, training seminars, business reviews, sales meetings, and relationship-building events.
Pros
Entrepreneurial type of role, travel to great cities, strong name recognition in the industry
Cons
Challenging environment with high turnover of peers and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Start-up feel, yet a growing company.
Business Development Consultant (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 12, 2015
The managers at this company care for your success.

Working in sales, we had the best tools to feel like you weren't cold calling potential clients.

There isn't a quota on how many people you call, but a quota you have to meet at the end of the month. This quota is based on opportunities that are created by you and increased to 10% after a discovery call.

Aside from work, we get free food consisting of sandwiches, soda, sparkling water, chips, beef jerky, cereal, salad, etc... There's also an espresso machine in the kitchen.

Being in the 816 Congress building, we have access to the 8th floor if you need a smoke break, and the 15th floor terrace in which you can enjoy the view of the capital while you eat your lunch. There is also wifi.
Pros
Free food
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace in a great location
Undisclosed (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMay 4, 2015
Everyone is professional and polite. Lots of knowledge and industry expertise across the board from the engineering to the marketing team. Strong teamwork ethic. Goals and performance measurement is more subjective and undefined without a clear communication of company direction as it pertains to specific roles.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Pains
Strategic Engagement Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 23, 2015
Needs greater direction. Wish they didn't change direction and management so much. Seem to make decisions quickly and reactionary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work culture, technical work.
Software Development In Test Engineer (Current Employee) –  san franciscoJanuary 14, 2015
1. Good work culture,
2. good technical work.
3. Work and family life balance
4. good agile process
5. company is growing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraging environment
Sales Development Support (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 10, 2014
Easy going environment with an open office.
Active and helpful management.
Co-workers were the most enjoyable part of the job with everyone being so friendly and approachable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great environment to work at
Data Researcher (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 10, 2014
A great environment to work in with professional people.

Co workers are friendly and fun, but still professional.

I enjoyed the work culture here and learned a lot.
Pros
Snacks, Lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day at Marin is different!
Technical Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMarch 8, 2014
Cases come in on a queue and we pick them up. Each ticket is a individual case where we troubleshoot a clients issue. I have learned to use the tools we have available, combined with my knowledge of the application, to resolve any problem that a customer may have. Some issues require escalation.

Co-workers make for a unique and fun work place but management strength can vary drastically between teams.

The hardest part of my job is keeping up with the consistent improvements and migrations that different publishers (Google, Bing, FB) implement on their SEM products and services.

The best part of my job is the same as the hardest part of my job. Because the technology is consistently changing, I am constantly learning new tools and processes. This keeps the job exciting and interesting.
Pros
Good company culture, consistent learning programs
Cons
Inexperienced management, growth oportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Genarally a good place to work
Commissions Analyst - Contract (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJanuary 13, 2014
I did not stay long enough to be able to give accurate assessment of the company. But, the environments are really nice, the people are good and they also provide all the things you need to keep you satisfied.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place and innovative company to work at.
Data Researcher (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CASeptember 7, 2013
I've worked at Marin software for 3 summers as an intern and the employees there were really friendly and professional. I learned so much about the digital advertising space as well as invaluable experience in strengthening my communication skills with other professionals working there. The management is very professional and they understand that we are human and we make mistakes, so they are very patient and emphasizes that everyone is part of a team.The culture there is great and when you work there you get a sense of feeling like you're a part of something great because the business is so versatile because it reaches out and helps out so many customers. Overall, I would recommend this job to anyone who's looking for a challenge career and a great atmosphere to be in.
Pros
free food at company, great wages, mobility to other positions within the company, friendly employees, prime location in downtown San Francisco near the embacadero
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

See more Marin Software reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marin Software. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 23 reviews
55
48
38
22
10

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture

Diversity score

Powered by Comparably

56out of 100

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Marin Software.

Marin Software Reviews by Location