Marine Spill Response Corporation Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High skilled.
Senior Master Responder (Current Employee) –  Ingleside, TXAugust 2, 2018
Great place to be employed,great people, very good at what we do for our customers . Team building and mentoring new employees to the way we present ourselves on training evolutions and oil spills. Troubleshooting engines on skimming boats,pumps and hydraulic power units as a team is always the way to move forward and productively. We have an extensively "SAFETY ABOVE ALL ELSE" program implanted everyday by the whole company.
Pros
Off at 1530 everyday and weekends.
Cons
Equipment failure.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going job and great people to work with, low stress
Deckhand/Relief Mate (Former Employee) –  Perth Amboy, NJJanuary 17, 2018
I enjoyed working at MSRC. It was a great place for me to start my career in the maritime industry. I enjoyed working with all the vessel crew and onshore management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Able Seaman (Former Employee) –  Ingleside, TXSeptember 28, 2017
MSRC was a good company to work for. Their benefits were good ,and the culture of safety was good. Possibility for advancement was limited,partly due to limited seatime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Temporary Deckhad (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 27, 2017
My experience with MSRC was very good, all the people I worked with were all very professional and knowledgeable. The vessels for this company are some of the best vessels that I have ever worked on.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company . looks after there employees , great captains. overall a great work experience
deckhand (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TX, lake charles louisianaJune 12, 2017
it was my side job when i was off from my normal job. great job to have . all day work . not a job to have to learn to drive because it was mainly maintence .
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A relaxed place to work
Chief Engineer (Current Employee) –  Richmond, CADecember 3, 2016
Pay is below industry standards. Pay is based on oil spill. It is like working at the office. 0630-1500 monday through friday. On call 24/7 and you can be out of the 2 hour reporting time. If so you have to take a vacation day.
Pros
No pressure
Cons
Pay and 24/7 on call
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different but Relaxed
Relief Mate (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXAugust 10, 2016
Great company to work. Cares about their employees but has difficulty retaining qualified individuals due to pay. Enjoy working relief and augments.
Pros
Relaxing
Cons
Little Sea Time
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work for
Chief Engineer (Current Employee) –  Richmond, CAJune 26, 2016
Great place of employment. Learned all the systems in a fun and relaxed environment. I wish they would pay enough to be able to afford an apartment or home. Very difficult for a family.
Pros
Health Care, relaxed enviroment
Cons
Very expensive to live here
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting work
Master Responder Operation (Current Employee) –  San Juan, PRAugust 10, 2015
A typical day at MSRC is always interesting to do something different as:
Health and security
Light mechanics, paint, equipment maintenance
Boat handling and tractor trailer
Call customers, contractors and government agencies
Very interesting real emergencies you work on land or on boats.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Employer
Human Resources Generalist (contract) (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 1, 2015
Overall, the company is a decent place. There is room for improvement in the Houston office and its management there. Policies not consistently applied.
Pros
New Orleans and surrounding offices employees are sincere and down to earth
Cons
Houston-based management
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great retirement job
Able Bodied Seaman (Current Employee) –  Astoria, ORDecember 2, 2014
A typical AB job on the oregon responder consist of multiple duties on a day to day basis. On monday's we have our Rib boat checks. On tuesdays its either more preventive maintenance or whats on the job list. Wednesday's are a little bit slow. Thursday's are underway days. Friday's are sanitation days.

I have learn life balance, the oil spill industry of the maritime industr

the hardest part of the job would be keep life and work seperate.

everything else i enjoy.
Pros
reimbursements
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 9Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slavery with no work!
Able seaman (Former Employee) –  MississippiOctober 25, 2014
The vessel stays at the dock and there is nothing important to do but clean like it's a cruise ship or something!
Pros
None
Cons
A bunch of wanna be seaman!
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 14Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career Oriented with a Safe Working Environment
Sr. T&IS Technician (Current Employee) –  Lake Charles, La.July 14, 2014
I am the Lead Technician covering from Brownsville, Tx to San Juan. On steady state we PM all Emergency Response gear and user support for the company employees. Maintain all communications gear and Cisco Network Gear. Once there is a spill or disaster we recon to the effected area and set up communications for the client. Once info structure is in place we maintain equipment and provide user support for duration.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Able Bodied Seaman (Current Employee) –  Pascagoula, MSSeptember 12, 2012
Paint all day long,captain and mate do not know what they are doing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 22Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Able Bodied Seaman (Current Employee) –  Fourchon,LaSeptember 6, 2012
Paint all day long,captain and mate do not know what they are doing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 20Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and safe working environment
Response Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 30, 2012
Each day we would perform pm's and cm's on spill response equipment. We would conduct monthly and quarterly trainings on this equipment and safety drills on the ship. I enjoyed the scheduale and the easy going working environment. Keeping my numbers in the budget and writing the guys evals was the hardest part.
Pros
great pay and benefits
Cons
it was like working with kids at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization
Payroll Accountant (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VAApril 10, 2012
Typical day is 8-5
Great employees
Demanding but great management
Excellent benefits
Pros
free food every friday
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 12Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull work place
Payroll Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VaDecember 20, 2011
Senior Management is out of touch with the employee population
Pros
salary is decent
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 11Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marine Spill Response Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 19 reviews
57
45
33
21
13

See reviews about

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture

Marine Spill Response Corporation Reviews by Location