Marriott International, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 13,516 reviews matching the search See all 17,846 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co workers
Manager of Office Systems (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NENovember 12, 2018
Good security, great co workers, good compensation Good location to commute to. Management was supportive of employees. Fun work, stayed busy, good work life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was one of my best and favorite jobs.
Banquet Server (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VANovember 12, 2018
Just keep up, join in and help others, and be on time and you'll have a great time while working. Be respectful and mindful of guests and Co workers and you'll receive the same in return.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for the company for many many years.
Banquet and Concierge Cook (Current Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJNovember 11, 2018
Been forking for the company for many years. over 10 years. love the company and its culture. they take care of their employees. Training is in continues motion, none stop.
Pros
one of the best companies I ever worked for.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice hotel but horrible management and management company.
Food & Beverage Manager (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNNovember 11, 2018
There is no direction and the guest do not come first. This company has a reputation for guest satisfaction. Remington is not the company for this. The service scores are horrible and the staff is not given the proper tools or support to remedy this problem.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNNovember 11, 2018
Always busy, not much time to take a break. Good work environment, people were team focused. The food was good, nice clean hotel peple were friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good Place to work
Senior Engineer - Technician 3 (Current Employee) –  Santa Clara, CANovember 11, 2018
A good place to work and friendly environment. Poor Management, decision making and lack of communication on managing staff to co-department managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant General Manager
Assistant General Manager (Current Employee) –  Langhorne, PANovember 11, 2018
Hello :)
My working schedule is 24/7
I am hard working,responsible,good leader and know how to fixed a problems
I am on charge ob breakfast,laundry,housekeeping department,front desk and know how to fixed guest issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD place to work
Assistant Human Resources Director (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 10, 2018
Hours were long ypu had to work10 fours per day.
Good pay and benefits.
If you like to work long hours and weekends.
Not a good work/life balance.
Assist in advancing your career.

Learn various aspects of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Hosts of Things to Learn
Events/Sales Coordinator, Use (Current Employee) –  Weston, FLNovember 10, 2018
Working at Marriott International will definitely increase your knowledge of more than a few things, whether you are seeking that knowledge or not. I do however, find that intriguing and very useful in the long run. Management encourages moving around the company to find your niche. The opportunity to learn new things in various departments is the norm in the Marriott culture. The hardest part I would say is when you are just not interested in learning the task set before you because that is not what you applied for. The most enjoyable part is and always has been for me with any job/career is serving people. The appreciation, gratitude and pure happiness you can bring a person is priceless.
Pros
A wealth of knowledge is there for you if you want to learn it.
Cons
Not everything is for everyone, some are overworked and underpaid. This sometimes reflects on customer service, which I believe is a definite NO-NO.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Austin Marriott South is dwendling
Group Rooms Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 10, 2018
I worked here for a few years and this is a great training grounds for anyone wanting to get into the hotel industry. This hotel though does stand on the side of the highway and is seen as a hotel that does just that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement Options
Loss Prevention Officer (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WANovember 10, 2018
Easy job with a high turnaround. The options for advancement are there but they don't pay very much. Overall I would recommend this place of business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Houseman (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCNovember 10, 2018
I worked in a fast pace environment that allowed me to be responsible for more than other peers. I was able to accomplish a lot during my time but there was a lack of advancement.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
High employee turnover
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company to work for.
Concierge (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 10, 2018
Working at the Marriott marquis was one of the biggest pleasures of my life. Sad that I ever left. Such a wonderful company to work for and the staff at the marquis is one of the best I’ve ever worked with.
Pros
Free lunch, benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced Event Environment
Conference Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Grapevine, TXNovember 9, 2018
50/hour work week with overtime pay and good benefits. Constant events ranging from 5-7,000 attendees - great entry level position but you burn out after a year with the amount of work on the floor you handle. Gaylord culture is very unique and true to the brand.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved it
Installer (Current Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLNovember 9, 2018
It was one of the best paying jobs I ever had and it was a great fit for me I fit in with the company quicker then I thought fair hours and great pay for the great work I do for them
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for Advancement/ Work you to death
Banquet Manager (Current Employee) –  Warrensville Heights, OHNovember 9, 2018
No structure in management
Little help in departments from upper management
Crazy hours
No time off for personal health and appointment, even with advance notice
Pros
Hotel Discount
Cons
Stressful and overworked
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced and long hard hours
Server Personnel (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCNovember 9, 2018
This is a job for those who like to work in the restaurant industry. The management is very micromanaging however so you would have to be open to different styles
Pros
Free Lunch/Dinner
Cons
Not many breaks, work most weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great
FRONT DESK/NIGHT AUDITOR (Former Employee) –  Eden Prairie, MNNovember 9, 2018
I enjoyed working for Marriott. The pay was alright, could have been a bit more for working overnights. However, I was only part time and it was my first job like that so it was fair.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
housekeeping
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MNNovember 9, 2018
vacuum, change linen, according to facility requirements, stock carts according to room volume, met room requirements for schedule special guest adding the required request
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job of 29 years
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NENovember 9, 2018
I love my job and the people I work with, it just doesn't pay well. I've been there for 29 years and the people are wonderful. I love all the bosses and they treat me with respect and admiration.
Pros
Great benefits and people
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marriott International, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 17,848 reviews
58.2K
45.3K
32.8K
2789
1697

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Women's ratings

3.8Fairygodboss Score

83%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

92%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss