Marriott International, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, always something to do.
Housekeeper, Lobby Attendant (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, NYMay 25, 2018
You can find employees always giving a helping hand in the summer time when it is the busiest in all departments with each other in so many ways. There is posit-ivy and respect towards everybody in the building including the guests.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing else like it
Assist Gold & Platinum (Former Employee) –  Annapolis, MDMay 25, 2018
There is nothing like working at a hotel. People from all walks of life work there and stay there. Very interesting, challenging and fun. Certainly glad I had that experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large company with room to grow
Director of Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Truckee, CAMay 25, 2018
There are many career paths you can take with Marriott. The hotel business can offer you a wide variety of opportunities in operations or administrative positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher salary needed
SERVER, SEA LEVEL RESTAURANT (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLMay 24, 2018
Wide-ranging benefits and tools if employees seek them out. Management promotes through personal preferences more so than performance or previous experience.
Pros
room discounts
Cons
salary, job advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, Poorly managed
Team Lead - Pool Operations (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 24, 2018
As i started my career with this company i cannot knock it completely, but there are many ways they could improve how they handle valued employees. I realized shortly after starting that the bottom line is the only goal in mind for some managers.
Pros
decent benefits, great experience and exposure to high end service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the culture
Operator (Former Employee) –  Dorado Municipio, PRMay 23, 2018
My first job with the company was at a Ritz Carlton and i felled in love instantly with the brand. then I move to a Courtyard and even though their culture is some how not the same, they share the same wonderful values.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Lead Server (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 23, 2018
Excellent company to growth within. Excellent pay, good benefits, employee meals, vacation paid, sick days, holidays, excellent training program. Friendly employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ambiente agradable
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 23, 2018
Trabajo con esfuerzo y tenacidad y mucha exigencia
Pros
ambiente agradable
Cons
trabajo fuerte
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
housekeeping
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  TexasMay 23, 2018
the management was great they were always good at fixing thing in the room. i learned how to clean thing really good made sure all the hair was up. the typical day at work was busy because u have people traveling every day and working to travel. work place culture was really lay back. you would have the time to go back and get what wa missed to get some extra hours
Pros
good food
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Maintenance Associate (Former Employee) –  Princeville, HIMay 23, 2018
A typical work day consisted of building repairs, keeping common areas clean and tending guests needs and requests.
I learned that being part of a team was very important and that i could depend on any of my coworkers to help me out with anything.
The management was very helpful, accommodating and personable.
The hardest part about my job was the shift rotations. The part I enjoyed the most about the job was the people worked with.
Pros
unbelievable coworkers
Cons
shift rotation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet diverse types of people
Front Desk Clerk (Current Employee) –  Gulfport, MSMay 23, 2018
Hardest part of my job is working overnight, typical because of the slow pace, extremely quiet environment.
The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting a wide range of people from babies to the elderly of all cultures.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s Okay
Delighted To Serve Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAMay 22, 2018
It depends on the management company that operates the hotel. They control everything. You follow Marriott guidelines but within the management company’s parameters.
Pros
Plenty of OT
Cons
Okay pay, okay health insurance, Favoritism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse company that cares about it's employees.
Guest Relations and Communications Agent (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 22, 2018
It is a high paced environment and can get stressful but the people there really care about you as a person and an employee. It also offers great benefits which include room discounts, vision, health and 401k.
Pros
Free lunches, free parking at select locations.
Cons
Can be high paced and stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Accounting Intern (Former Employee) –  St Thomas, VIMay 22, 2018
Loved Working there as an intern. Learned so much from the fiance team. The environment is welcoming and friend. Anyone should consider a career with Marriott. They put their employees first
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with people from all over the world
Loss Prevention Officer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 22, 2018
Great place to work, Just want more money to pay bills for my son college, Very busy with packages rooms service. Some of the people their do not care for their job.
Pros
free food Discount on rooms
Cons
Safety is not pushed to host
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide you with skills to move forward
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Ridgeland, MSMay 22, 2018
On any typical day, arriving to work early and interacting with the early guest that just want that early morning cup of coffee. Having a conservation about how work will be getting started. I learned that everyone has a story to tell. Management you have to care for your employees to make a good workplace and culture. The hardest part of starting into a new position was getting the respect for your employees, working with different personalities and learning them. Once you get to know know your staff all the joy you have in becoming one and working as a team.
Pros
Learning new ways and how to do things
Cons
Can be stressful at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No business; terrible management
Server (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAMay 22, 2018
Not busy, no hours, favoritism from bosses causing unfair situations, not a good work environment, poor management. Rude managers under 13 hrs a week if lucky
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Marriott
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 21, 2018
Working in the hospitality industry can be relaxed at times when dealing with customers who can be pleased. At times there are customers that aren't satisfied, but taking care of them and meeting their needs is a rewarding feeling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Frederick, MDMay 21, 2018
Working there was fun, I was second shift so i worked 6:30/7am to 3pm. I could say over all this was my favorite job i've ever had, i was upset that i had to leave there but if i had better transportation i would definitely still be there. Management was magnificent, the best, so nice, laid back but still firm to make sure we got the job done. It was a very easy job to do. I enjoyed the Wedding seasons, and when all the different military, sports, and other groups would come in for a weekend.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEMay 21, 2018
It was a good place to work very fast passed, would take around 100 phone calls a day making reservation for guest. would help out with program that I know about.
Pros
lots of perks
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marriott International, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 15,805 reviews
57.3K
44.7K
32.5K
2720
1612

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

3.8Fairygodboss Score

83%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

92%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.