Marriott International, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 12,114 reviews matching the search See all 15,951 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting hospitality career.
Assistant Manager of Outlets (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJune 20, 2018
The Sheraton Birmingham is a tough place to work, but will teach you more than you will need in the Food and Beverage hospitality career. There aren't very many places like it in Alabama.
Pros
Great Benefits.
Cons
Stressful work days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with
HOUSEKEEPING SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Princeville, HIJune 20, 2018
Its been an amazing years working with Marriott Company. I must say I learned about the culture. Management are very hard working. The employees are very happy to be with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One Of The Best Places To Work
Bell Captain (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJune 20, 2018
What a well run corporation
They do it right from start to finish.
Their training made me who I am today.
I will always be indebted to them for such great education, training and opportunity..
You got to love Marriott International!!!!
Pros
Everything they teach you.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance
Creative Event Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Lahaina, HIJune 19, 2018
Direct leader in my department respected our work/life balance.
The steps of service and gold standards are a great outline to guide employees. Having a "Line-Up" that is company wide is important and I feel it gets all teams on the same page, countrywide.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All good
Director of Food & Beverage (Former Employee) –  Seattle, ChicagoJune 19, 2018
Overall a good experience working with W Hotels. Very cookie cutter with no ability to think outside the box. Everything is instruction based with a manufactured experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible company
RESERVATION SPECIALIST/TRIP ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJune 19, 2018
With performance a team member can quickly advance. Great training program, very thorough. Great discounts to experience the products. Fun workplace with a lot of opportunities to participate in special projects in the community.
Pros
Fun environment
Cons
Late hours for some shifts, up to 2 am
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is good job
Fairfield inn suit (Current Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJune 19, 2018
This hotel is very clean the manager an the team work is good person.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hotel with amenities
ASSISTANT DIRECTOR OF ENGINEERING (Current Employee) –  Coraopolis, PA 15108June 19, 2018
I enjoyed my position and the people I worked with but the manager made it very hard to do the job to the best of my abilities. I was on call 24/7 and was not reimbursed for all the time that I commited to the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYJune 18, 2018
They couldn't keep a general manager. The turnover rate for workers was unreal and people would call in all the time. The assistant manager is an awesome woman.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Server (Current Employee) –  Palm Desert, CAJune 18, 2018
I have never worked in a place where everyone gets along. Where everyone helps each other. A place that mangers care about there employees. Until I stared here, This is a place here you ask about moving up the latter and your helped every step of the way.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Galesburg, ILJune 18, 2018
I really enjoyed working for this company. The hotel is nice and clean. The employees were great to work with.. chstomer service was great with every employee. Also they offer breakfast to the quests and is also a non smoking hotel which I liked a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Front desk Manager (Former Employee) –  Meridian, MSJune 18, 2018
The company itself is great to work for. You can advance with the company great employee rate that can be used pretty much anywhere and the hours are flexible(non management).
Pros
Discount and pay rate
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being run into the ground
Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Medina, OHJune 17, 2018
This place is horribly managed. Its only 2 years old and is already being run into the ground. If you want to be respected as an employee dont work here. If you want to be treates poorly and taken advantage of then definitely go there. Most under qualifoes managment ever. I would rather be job less and homeless than continue to work there.
Cons
Poorly managed, disrespectful and drama filled work place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They say they love employees
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEJune 16, 2018
They say they love employees but so many policy changes let you know their priority is not people. They only care about money and more money. They are greedy and want you to do more and more. They do not equip you to handle the bigger work load. You are on your own. Used to be great company. Now, not so much
Pros
healthcare, 401k, pto
Cons
weird work schedules, new programs, no training, no management help
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
marriott international
Front Desk Lead Pm (Current Employee) –  TexasJune 16, 2018
Great place to work but don't count on moving up any time soon or changing shifts either. I have been stuck on Night audit for almost 7 months and they keep hiring outsiders instead of promoting. hard to promote up. They have stopped raises for some employees saying they have reach top pay and yet hire outside employees starting at higher. Constant turn around of employees because no one is really happy.
Pros
high starting pay, great benefits and time off
Cons
turn around of managers, time gets cut when rooms are not selling
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place and very productive
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Marina del Rey, CAJune 16, 2018
It’s an excellent place to work at! Has the best job opportunity and can help you grow with its company to become better.
They also give you a lot good benefits! 100% recommended
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
free lunch Healthcare
Resturant General Manager (Former Employee) –  New JerseyJune 15, 2018
Marriott was a great place to work. They had a generous pay scale including benefits...also, a 401k, every possible Healthcare plan...good vacation package. My biggest problem was working 12 or more hours a day.
Pros
Free lunch...Healthcare...advancements
Cons
To many hours after all that time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good company to work for until you got on the bad side of Culinary management team.
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZJune 15, 2018
A typical was started by completinr the prep list made. Then, completing service. Afterwards, we have to make a list of things that neede to be orderd from the main Kitchen. If you were one of better employees you would then be sent to another outlet for evening duties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive
Host/Cook (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 15, 2018
I recommend working for a bigger location. That way there is more opportunities for growth. The standards are very high and every year we get a raise.
Pros
Discounts on hotels
Cons
Not much opportunity to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did not work here, I worked for the Sheraton
Engineer/Security (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKJune 14, 2018
I worked for the Sheraton, not the Marriot. The Sheraton was not very flexible with hours, but did not hesitate to offer them. Management was decent when they needed to be, but had a lack of value in leadership. The co-workers were great and the work environment was good. Great way to expand on customer service skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marriott International, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 15,954 reviews
57.4K
44.8K
32.5K
2725
1617

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight