Marriott International, Inc. Pay & Benefits reviews: Front Desk Manager

Found 80 reviews matching the search See all 19,147 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Team Members to work with
Front Desk Supervisor & Weekend Manager (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CASeptember 29, 2019
Working with Marriott was a great experience. It was like working with family not only with the employees but also with the guest. We had large corporate groups and sport groups that came in weekly and we new each and everyone of them like family.
Pros
Yearly Bonus and Free Lunch Meetings
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE, FUN PLACE TO WORK WITH GREAT STAFF.Wonderful environment. Great managers. Marvelous health benefit package. Outstanding retirement pack
FRONT OFFICE (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 4, 2019
Wonderful environment. Great managers. Marvelous health benefit package. Outstanding retirement package. Concerned coworkers. Human Resources easy to talk to.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Front Desk Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Largo, MDApril 23, 2019
I liked working here. It's the pay that I didn't like. Corporate Marriott pays much more then the franchised locations. Also, promotions were gpod too!
Pros
Discounted rooms.
Cons
Pay and schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of the job
Front Desk Manager (Current Employee) –  Hollywood, CAApril 18, 2019
The most enjoyable part of my job is the staff. i really love my team and i'm so proud to have been apart of such an amazing group of people.
The hardest part is there's not enough work life balance. i work too many hours to get paid such a low salary. i recently discovered i'm the lowest paid manager in the department and I've been at the property longer than half the team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marriott corporate
Front Desk Manager (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAMarch 23, 2019
Great company, great benefits, great weekly pay. Depending on your location always try to work for corporate. Everything about this company has been great thus far.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, hotel discounts, oppurtunity to travel, poor management
Front Desk/AYS/Bellman/Convention Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 18, 2019
Marriott overall is a good company to work for. The benefits and perks are good and it is easy to relocate and find a job. You can certainly have a good career as a Marriott employee. I feel like most properties I've been to or worked at are poorly managed and often disorganized, but there are many oppurtunities for growth because anyone can become a manager.
Pros
Benefits, Perks, Travel
Cons
Poor management, often too corporate and rigid, hours not flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life of Marriott after buying out Starwood
Front Office Agent/Back Office Agent (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJanuary 30, 2019
I was working for the Starwood before Marriott bought out the brand. Under the Starwood brand work was more comfortable. Your managers tended to care, rooms were ready, we had enough facilities to call ourselves a luxury property. After the messy merger with Marriott we lost a lot of departments and prices from rooms to restaurants raised to ridiculous amounts. It became embarrassing to offer a guest a standard room that had a view of a brick wall for around 300-400 a night. Transitioning over to a new computer system was lack lust and very confusing when your own Management team has no idea on what works and how to use it. Before Marriott working for the Starwood brand was amazing we treat our guest like family instead of a number
Pros
pay, union, Pto, benefits
Cons
under staffed, work hours, management, Pricing, work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Front Desk Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 3, 2018
It is a good first time job to get you through college but they do not pay well enough to make a living. Not too many opportunities to move up within the company.
Pros
Hotel discounts
Cons
Healthcare, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Front Desk Mgr. Reservation Manager (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MI,August 22, 2018
Great Benefits, good culture, customer service is top. Empowerment is highly welcome. Marriott is well respected through out the World. And rightly so.
Pros
Benifits were good
Cons
pay was low
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company culture
Manager on Duty/ Front Office Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Miami Beach, FLAugust 6, 2018
Good company culture. Made their employees feel valued. Great hotel discount benefits and health care benefits. Long hiring processes, very strategic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marriott International, Inc Is a Good Place to Work
Front Desk Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CAJuly 24, 2018
I would recommend Marriott International, Inc to someone looking for a new job. Working at the front desk made it difficult to find life-work balance, but the pay is fair and competitive and there are great benefits that come with the job.
Pros
benefits, fair pay
Cons
schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All Work and No Advancement
Lead-Front Office (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXJuly 12, 2018
You work hard and there is the lack of pay and there is no incentives and forget about being promoted. They promoted people with no experience and that haven't been with the company that long
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Front desk Manager (Former Employee) –  Meridian, MSJune 18, 2018
The company itself is great to work for. You can advance with the company great employee rate that can be used pretty much anywhere and the hours are flexible(non management).
Pros
Discount and pay rate
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Front Desk Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 11, 2018
Liked the job. Like any CS job, you'll have guests that make it hard, but overall a good place. Hours usually change depending on business needs so you have to be flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Westin
Front Desk Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAMarch 27, 2018
Spent years with Westin in several cities. Love the brand, and the pros outweighed the cons for me. Hotel discounts are huge benefit for my family and I. I enjoyed the pace most of the time, huge turnover with hotels and its hard to retain people.
Pros
Hot Lunch;
Cons
Short Lunch; hard to take breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Front Office Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Denver, COFebruary 22, 2018
Management was all over the place, work life balance was difficult when requesting time off. Benifits takes forever to get, always had to cover other shifts.
Pros
Discount rates
Cons
Mirco managed too much
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front Desk
Front Office Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLFebruary 12, 2018
I worked the 3pm-11pm shift
Handled a majority of the hotel check in
Great work atmosphere
Staff is extremely friendly and fun to work alongside with
Pros
Job atmosphere, benefits
Cons
Hourly wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi property single staff hotel complex
FRONT DESK MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLFebruary 1, 2018
I was not with this hotel long enough to really give a fair assessment.
It was a new concept hotel with regards to operations, so that made it interesting.
If you like the hotel culture then you will like working at this hotel.
Marriott is a great company to work for.
Pros
benefits
Cons
no real schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Front Office Supervisor (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CAJanuary 25, 2018
Great place to work at if you live in San Mateo. The benefits are great, PTO/Heath/Sick time. They are currently going through a remodel so the new look will be epic
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy environment, standing long hours,
Front Desk Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCJanuary 2, 2018
Place for comfort, employer support, great benefits, you meet different cultures. Busy environment, place for growth, flexible with schedules, warm inviting, always greet people with a smile.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marriott International, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 19,147 reviews
58.8K
45.6K
33K
2844
1846

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP25%
In the Top 25% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Marriott International, Inc..

Powered by Comparably

Marriott International, Inc. Reviews by Location