Marriott International, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, involved, great way to meet new ppl
Restaurant Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, NYMay 16, 2018
Busy and involved.
Great way to acquaint and befriend others.
Learn different cultures and appreciate all those that come into town and the reasons to y?
Pros
hours, pay, discounts
Cons
long, demanding hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It will really depend he General Manager and your dept. manager.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Ritz-Carlton Club AspenMay 15, 2018
I liked Marriott but the Ritz-Carlton Club Aspen has poor management and is not a place I would recommend. It was the worst experience I have ever had.
Pros
beautiful property
Cons
Upper managment is horrible and there is alot of turnover at the Ritz-Carlton Club Aspen.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for
Director of Sales (Former Employee) –  McLean, VAMay 15, 2018
The Ritz-Carlton was an excellent company to work for and with. Amazing leaders in may cases and loss of culture for Ritz-Carlton, which was the greatest con.
Pros
excellent benefits
Cons
competitive advancement now available
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
REN Meeting Expert (Former Employee) –  Hapeville, GAMay 15, 2018
Awesome. Great company to work for. Supportive management. great pay. Marriott Renaissance is a good brand.
Culture is good. Flexible everything. Great location.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love what I do and do what I love.
Director of Sales, Travel Industry (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZMay 15, 2018
Review corporate & leisure production on a regular basis. Nurtured account relationships to capture sales, market share and to achieve top revenue. Establishing these relationships built top of mind recognition that lead to repeat business over of compset.
Pros
A great working environment.
Cons
Training took away for premimum sales time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Front Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Key West, FLMay 15, 2018
On a high level - The company is great - but temper your expectations to the guidelines of the Franchisee if applicable. This is a very important thing to consider.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place was probably okay but management was unreliable
Property Accountant, HR Manager (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNMay 15, 2018
I started here with the hopes of being there long term. I unfortunately was not given a fair chance to learn my job. Then when I did not meet the expectations, I was fired.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
General Manger (Current Employee) –  Hillsboro, ORMay 15, 2018
Enjoy my position and the company. Each day is a new day with different challenges and rewards, it is fun to see the team come together to make each and every guests stay an experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked at Starwood Hotels
Director of Sales and Marketing (Former Employee) –  Rosemont, ILMay 14, 2018
Starwood was a wonderful company. If Marriott continues the same culture, it to will be a great company to work for. Because of the large amount of properties, there is a tremendous opportunity for advancement.
Pros
great opportuniy for advancement
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun high volume fast paced five star
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 14, 2018
I would recco.end anyone who loves working alone and getting things done with peace and quite.

Very particular and five star on cleaning
If you fail three inspections
Automatic fire
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Bethesda, MDMay 12, 2018
Excellent work environment also they have wonderful trainers to train very detailed will recommend anyone to work especially if they are looking for high paced environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with my coworkers
Office Assistant/Bellman (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCMay 11, 2018
I enjoyed the people I worked with. But I had 5 different managers within a few months and I wasnt treated fair when I asked to be paid more even though more responsibility had been placed upon me.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
I had 5 different mangers the turn over rate was to much
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, busy yet rewarding.
Loss Prevention Officer (Former Employee) –  Naples, FLMay 11, 2018
Worked full-time for the Marriott brand and it was an amazing job with rewarding days each and everyday. Found a job elsewhere and they let me stay on-call, which was great! Decided to pick up a shift one month and was told I no longer work there. Disappointing to say the least since no one communicated this with me. Tried to reach out to my former Director, nothing. Tried to speak and reach out to HR, nothing. I went from being someone to being nothing to them.

Great job with poor management who make poor decisions on who they hire.
Pros
Free lunches, meeting new people, rewarding atmosphere, great Ladies & Gentlemen
Cons
No paid lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Sales Associate/Reservations (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas Valley, NVMay 11, 2018
lots of perks. fun envirnment good hours and good people. Good money, Nice break room and fun games. Good bonuses and respectful envirorment. Would recommend for others
Pros
bonuses
Cons
no opportunity for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 11, 2018
Good compensation and benefits applicable only if you are full time. Flexibility with schedule. Fast paced. The hardest part of the job is to be able to manage your stress on a very busy day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and learning each day with the team and coworkers
Accountant/ Income Auditor (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 10, 2018
Income journal preparation and post
Night audit review
AP assist
AR assist
Inventories
Bank Recon
EOM entries
GL reconciliations

Was a great experience because on my position I have the opportunity to look numbers and see the whole operation with
the chance to look and reoslve the problems that usually was
training issue.
Pros
Opportunities to grow
Cons
work on every 1st of the month for Inventories. but is fun
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Night Auditor (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMay 10, 2018
Management was hired by the franchise that ran the hotel. He is horrible which is why I left after employment of 10 years! The most enjoyable part of the job was all the repore I had with the guests. The hardest part of the job was conflicting with management- I learned I do not have to subjected to harassment, name calling, and being threatened as an employee if management did not like you or your looks you would be terminated.
Pros
overtime was paid with no grief
Cons
harassment, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the team
Vendor Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Bethesda, MDMay 10, 2018
I liked my job however I didn't see any growth potential. I liked my manager, however the hierarchy was not good in my opinion. I don't see many opportunities to promote.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place with high work volume
Kitchen Steward (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 10, 2018
high energy high impact fast-paced semi stressful but fulfilling needs however, management needs to do a better job at respecting the employees and appreciating them.Otherwise it is a nice place to work i enjoy when we work as a team. A typical workday starts at 6am and ends at 2:30pm
Pros
great location
Cons
mangement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pace work place
Auditor (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, GAMay 10, 2018
A typical day at The Ritz would start with a meeting, next I would count down my register, then I would complete bucket check, greet guests, check guest in, check out guests.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
You have to to wait a long time for health benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marriott International, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 15,804 reviews
57.3K
44.7K
32.5K
2720
1612

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

3.8Fairygodboss Score

83%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

92%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.