Marriott Vacations Worldwide Employee Reviews for Guest Service Agent

Found 197 reviews matching the search See all 4,525 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is work
Guest Relations Agent (Current Employee) –  Doral, FLMarch 2, 2019
Marriott is a nice place to work. They pay you when you work. You can opt into insurance. They have an onsite restaurant you eat at. Very welcoming staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and lack of balance
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLSeptember 28, 2018
Every day that I'm scheduled, it's usually at odd times of the day. It could be as early as 6am and as late as 6pm. I learned that you have to have tough skin when dealing with irate guests, especially when they just arrive, and when you get their requests wrong. It almost feels like slavery, and I would have to request for time off months in advance. Although they do offer benefits, requesting enough time off to recover from medical procedures and issues is nearly impossible, and I would have to overcome the possibility of getting sick. The only thing I enjoy is having fun the guests that I built relationships with. The hardest part is holding my emotions when a guest requests for a lot of things. I was overworked, underpaid, and underappreciated.
Pros
Relationships with enthusiastic guests and associates
Cons
Low pay, no appreciation nor recognition
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Guest Service Representative (Current Employee) –  IndianaAugust 20, 2018
Great company to work for with the right management. A typical day depends on the occupancy and the guests. Some days are very smooth with very nice travelers while other days you have very cranky or rude guests where it is almost impossible to please them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relaxing enviorment
Guest Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CAAugust 19, 2018
Great people, meeting people around the country and learning new things. You get to know a lot of new things and new people, you get real connections with people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to explain
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Fredericksburg, VAAugust 16, 2018
Difficult to rate a company if you don't work directly for them but I can say that most Marriott's are worth working for and are just as compatible as other star four brands
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a decent job
GUEST SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Saugus, MAAugust 2, 2018
working for the marriott was not bad. there are days you get good guests and there are days you get bad guests. we do the best we can to ensure everyone is happy. the good guests is what makes the day great.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
some mandatory work holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Carolina, PRAugust 2, 2018
Employees are viewed as a family and are treated respectfully. Working with Marriott hotels allows one to develop interpersonal skills and improve communication with others.
Pros
Fun fast paced work environment
Cons
Occasional odd hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay work environment
Guest service representative (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 27, 2018
it's okay to work here , cool benefits. great opportunity to meet people from different cultures and background. alot of standing and management tends to have favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work while a student.
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Idaho Falls, IDJuly 26, 2018
This company is a great place to work while a student and if you can crack through to management. They offer discounted rates and their numerous hotel locations.
Pros
Great place to work while a student.
Cons
No advancement unless you can breakthrough to management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do it.
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 25, 2018
If you ever have the chance to work for a Marriott, 10/10 would recommend. The benefits are amazing, cell phone discounts, travel perks, great health care, tuition reimbursement, competitive pay, flexible schedules. The list could go on. The only downside, most hotels don't offer set schedules and you may find yourself working nights and definitely working weekends and holidays. If that's okay with you DO IT. You won't be sorry.
Pros
Free lunches, access to on property gym, Travel benefits
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Corona, CAJuly 19, 2018
fun company
care about employees
typical day is easy
weekends get busy with teams coming through
Work culture is great
easy and fun job if you want easy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and fun
Guest Services (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJuly 15, 2018
Busy and also easy going. Guest Services and the operations of the hotel business. Management is good. Culture is very diverse. The hardest part of the job is when we were short staffed. Meeting new people everyday was enjoyable.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Sometimes no breaks or very late in the day before you will get one.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and strong culture
Guest Service Associate (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaJuly 9, 2018
This is a great place to work. The management team is very supportive and visible, workplace culture is great, and many employee-appreciative events go on every month. The environment nurtures challenge and growth, but provides little opportunity for advancement.
The hardest part of this job is the stressful clientele and inconsistent work hours. However if a flexible schedule is what you prefer, this would be a great place for you.
Pros
Free lunches, great company benefits, strong workplace culture and fun work environment
Cons
Stressful, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
GUEST SERVICES REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAJune 13, 2018
I love the job just dont have set hours. also work every weekend the most enjoyable thing this taking care of guest and the job is more like FAMILY ...
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Lawton, OKJune 11, 2018
I feel that this has been one the best jobs that I have had in my adult life.I would encourage anyone that has an oppurtunity to work for this organization to do so. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
GUEST SERVICE SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 9, 2018
I cant complain. Everything was and still is. I would certainly work here and send other people as well. The pay is decent. I do wished that they offered benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Guest Service Agent (Current Employee) –  Uniondale, NYJune 1, 2018
Fast pace

principals of hospitality. Go above and beyond for guest.

exceed guest expectation

none

putting people first

not having a set schedule

Guest satisfaction
Pros
overtime
Cons
not having a set schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Guest Relations Agent/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 20, 2018
this was a good job and its not stressful. I would have stayed and retired from here but I had a situation that called for my resignation, The management was good the job was fun and it was a joy to go to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group mentality
Guest Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Hilton Head Island, SCMay 20, 2018
I loved all the employees at the Marriott. I had a great time and they were very understanding. I only left the Marriott to further my career in my major but if I could have moved to their finance department I would have definitely stayed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall great experience
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Covington, KYMay 8, 2018
overall great experiences daily challenges that come with working in customer service with general public, otherwise awesome experience. I would work of rMarriott again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marriott Vacations Worldwide. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 4,525 reviews
52.3K
41.3K
3652
2165
1168

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

3.1Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Marriott Vacations Worldwide Reviews by Location