Martin Marietta Materials Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 278 reviews
Ratings breakdown
593
488
359
218
120
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 276 reviews matching the search See all 278 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is very big on production and saftey.
Operator/Laborer (Current Employee) –  VirginiaOctober 17, 2018
Alot of responsibility comes with your job. You have to comply with all federal and state mining regulations. Management is constantly at your side pushing for more. I feel that there is a discrimination between the two different crews we have.
Pros
Great benifits, raise every year and saftey insintives.
Cons
Always pushing for more. Nothing is ever good enough. Management is brain washed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nope
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Brighton, COOctober 15, 2018
Just had a bad experience and wasnt a good fit for me. I didnt do the best of work due to stress and inexperience but overall it is what you make of it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Loader Operator (Current Employee) –  Sparks, NVOctober 8, 2018
Martin Marietta provides a stressful work environment if your goal is to perform 100% as other employees are there just to get by and management is poor.
Pros
Great safety mentality, lots of co. parties. Decent equipment
Cons
Poor management. Too many hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great place to work
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCOctober 7, 2018
The recent shift in management has taken the company in a different direction. This company used to be more family friendly. Technology here is still far behind other companies. However, the company continues to grow in size causing a lot of manual work. A lot of improvement is needed in the technology area.
Pros
Workers are friendly
Cons
Upper manangement has shifted their focus
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid, nobody will care about you
Driver (Former Employee) –  Denver, COOctober 6, 2018
There is a reason they are ALWAYS hiring because people are quitting faster then they can train them. The worst management I have ever dealt with. Good luck trying to get a manager to listen to you and if they were to listen they just blow off your concern. If something were to happen, you will be blamed for it. They preach safety as a number one concern, but it better not cost them any money. If you were to get hurt, they will fire you so they can keep their accident free record. Saturdays, plan on working 10-12 hours while the management is out skiing and golfing.

The biggest ready mix site in Denver doesn't even have working bathrooms because the company is to cheap to fix the sewer line. Nothing like having to use porta potties when there are bathrooms on site. The only working sink is bolted to the ground outside with only cold water. Winter is coming and the management doesn't care since they have new office buildings with a janitorial staff and fancy coffee.

They are using a new dispatch software program that will send you to every corner of the city. You will be expected to know every jobsite in the metro area. Their newest excuse is the software said to do "that." They use internet based radios that work half of the time.

The CEO keeps going on money shows to talk about how much they are making but they will screw you on your raise to save a dime. My pay raises never happened on time and I had to fight to get them. I would personally avoid working for this company.
Pros
More overtime then you will want
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
equipment operator and weigh master job
EQUIPMENT OPERATOR-DISPATCHER-MATERIAL UNLOADER (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 1, 2018
It was a job that had very little pay compensation. I had to travel throughout the city to the many different job locations. I did enjoy the experiance but I needed to find a more beneficial job for me.
Pros
working with heavy equipment
Cons
poor pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dusty, dirty, filthy place to work
Utility (Former Employee) –  Manistee, MISeptember 30, 2018
Trust NO ONE and watch your back the place is crawling with backstabbers that suck up to management union brotherhood does not exist at this place....
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Good bye personal life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment
Cement Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Greenville, TXSeptember 27, 2018
Great team work environment, collaborative, supportive management team, able to work a lot of overtime, but have a lot of early mornings and late nights.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
commute to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place if you are motivated
Driver (Current Employee) –  Denver, COSeptember 25, 2018
If you are the type to put yourself out there and go above and beyond skip martin. The "good ol boy network" is king here. Expect to do your job and and at least half of someone else's if you are an operator. Its better as a driver because its impossible to get fired. Hit a car? Drug test and get back to work. Hit a truck with the loader? Drug test and get back to work. Hit two trucks in a month and get a three day vacation. Just don't get hurt. Slip on the ice in front of the office? No one will ever see you again. Hurt your back because of a defective truck seat? Adios. It's how they keep their perfect safety record. Deny the claim and hope you don't sue.

If your dad, grandpa or uncle works here, come aboard. No one will mess with you. But the only reward for hard work at Martin Marietta is more work. And expect to get beaten down in your review to keep your wages low.

You call in between seven and eight PM to get your next days schedule. Be prepared to be in at midnight one day and eight the next.

And don't worry about the review about cleaning the bathrooms. The largest facility, practically downtown, hasn't had working toilets in six months. So enjoy sharing porta potties with 60 or so disgusting people.

And they are nice enough to send you news links with the CEO bragging about making so much money, but good luck getting a tire fixed.
Pros
Paid ppe, benefits start right away
Cons
Expect to fight every healthcare claim. Getting hurt means getting fired
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Equipment Operator
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Mico, TXSeptember 21, 2018
Good company to work for, hours are good, management is good, overtime is good, not much of personal time off and work many hours when work is there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Operations Associate (Former Employee) –  Conklin, NYSeptember 18, 2018
Great place to work. Responsible for production of military contracts. Got to pick your own hours. Work culture was great. Team environment with lots of training.
Pros
Great company
Cons
Plant closed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning and growing company
Sr Production Worker in Test Rework (Former Employee) –  Silver Springs Shores, FLSeptember 14, 2018
Being able to work at Martin Marietta was an honor. Being apart of building military weaponary to help aide and protect our country and other countries.
Pros
Benefits and Overtime
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Technical Services Representative (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXSeptember 5, 2018
Probably the best company i have ever worked for. I love the people, the company really cares about the safety of their employees. There are safety lunches frequently and annual trips to Six Flags Fiesta Texas as well as multiple get togethers throughout the year. There is always a Thanksgiving and Christmas bonus. I love this company and if I were staying in the area I don't imagine I would ever leave.
Pros
many lunches and other various company functions
Cons
long hours in the summer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Minor (Current Employee) –  Calera, ALSeptember 4, 2018
Great people to work for and are very family friendly . They make sure that you and your family are taken care of. Hard working place to make sure orders are out on time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work but previously spent 15 yrs. with the Boeing Co. until loss of government contract.
Secretary (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAAugust 21, 2018
I enjoyed working at Martin Marietta; however, I had previously spent 15 years with the Boeing Co. as secretary to the General Manager.
Left only to stay home and participate more in my fraternity, The Order of the Eastern Star.
Company is a wonderful place to work.
Pros
Wonderful place to work Wonderful people and staff
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for MM was a fun experience in the SF Bay area. A great experience working in Silicon Valley.
App Progr /Associate Engineer/ Senior Engineer (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAAugust 19, 2018
MM was a premier US defense company working on some of the most advanced technologies currently employed. Supporting the warfighter was one of the highlights of my career.
Pros
Working in the Bay area of SF
Cons
No Cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the work
Senior Electronic Technician (Former Employee) –  Vandenberg AFB, CAAugust 18, 2018
As an electronic technician, I supported the development of the launch facility, launch vehicle, and the collection and processing of telemetry.
Fellow employees were very supportive with an excellent teamwork attitude.
My immediate management was lacking in technical knowledge, but educated technicians and quality control kept the missions on track.
No aspects of the job were hard.
The best part of the job was the day of the launch.
Pros
Excellent teamwork
Cons
compensation should be based on performance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very alternating schedule good work environment
Batch Plant Operator (Current Employee) –  Killeen, TXJuly 30, 2018
Martin marietta is a good safety oriented company that cares about the employees and pays competitively and they work very well with scheduled appointments and time off
Pros
Good place to work
Cons
Low hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced always busy
MAINTAINANCE WELDER (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 25, 2018
very good benefits very good pay always busy fast paced good bosses good safety record good training long hours but makes night go by faster was sorry to be laid off
Pros
good bosses good pay
Cons
had to adjust to working nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
martin marietta
Equipment operator/ Utility person (Current Employee) –  Ames, IAJuly 22, 2018
While employed here i went through many different instances that no one should have to experience in their working career. Management was poor, I never felt comfortable coming to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Martin Marietta Materials. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

1.9InHerSight Score

1.7Personal Development

2.2Career Opportunities

1.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight